×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Crimson Heart
     

Crimson Heart

4.4 17
by Heather McCollum
 

See All Formats & Editions

Elena has spent her entire life hiding her family name while walking the thin line between lady and servant in a Protestant household. Keeping the secret of her lineage has been a success for years, but now, with a new, fiercely Catholic queen on the throne, Elena's Protestant caretaker is being targeted. And when Bloody Mary discovers Elena's true identity, she

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Crimson Heart (A Highlands Heart Novel) 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 17 reviews.
LoriH-6 More than 1 year ago
It was a delight getting to read this book. It was also refreshing to read a book that didn't have random profanity added throughout the book as well as page by page exploits of the bedroom scenes. However it still had some steamy parts along with magic and mystery. It was a well written historical story with a tortured hero who also happens to be a highlander and a strong heroine with a big heart to help heal and win the love of our highlander hero. I am looking forward to reading other books by this author. I highly recommend this book. I was given this book for my honest review without compensation. I hope everyone will enjoy it as much as I did :)
Sami_Creech More than 1 year ago
Elena has led her entire life based on a lie. Always hiding her true identity lest she be used by others for political purposes. Searc has led a great life in the Highlands but he too bears a secret, a secret which he fears once revealed will make him an outcast. One fateful day him and his father are ambushed and he is forced to use his magic to save his father. From that day forward everyone looks at him just as he feared they would with worry and fear. He decides to leave his home and journey on his own. While on his travels he comes across a woman who is being corralled by a bunch of looters and steps in to save her. Once again he uses his gift to save another’s life. Elena is shocked not only by the size of the man who has come to her rescue but by his power as well. While she fears him at first she soon learns that he has a wonderful heart. They reach their destination and are immediate thrust into a quandary as many young women have been found dead with ritualistic markings. Searc will not leave Elena unprotected and wants to wed her as added protection as well as bring this killer to justice. This is a great tale of how what many see as evil is just the ignorance of the unknown; for nothing is truly good or evil it is the person who uses it that makes it so. Not a shabby love story either definitely recommend this book.
Lynn53 More than 1 year ago
Another Winner for Heather McCollum Rating: 4 1/2 stars I received a copy of this book from the Entangled Publishing and the author in exchange for an honest review. I was not compensated in any way. This is not a story that you will want to skip around on. The author includes a mystery and if you skip around you may miss something and you will want to know what happens between Searc and Elena. There are scenes that may have you laughing and the author has an ending that will have you smiling. Highland Hearts has been a great series and this is one more book that makes it so. Heather knows what works to keep her readers coming back for more. Each book of the series could be read as a stand-alone but I feel it is a series that you will want to make sure and read them all. I’m also looking forward to seeing if she will continue the Highland Hearts series with another book.
Anonymous 16 days ago
I just didn't think the series could get any better but it did. Once again this book had everything,intrigue mystery , romance, politics,secrets,and lessons to teach. I hope there will be other books as I would certainly buy them.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was a very entertaining book. I loved all the books in the series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Written kind of simple and odd at times
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
MyBookAddictionandMore More than 1 year ago
CRIMSON HEART by Heather McCollum is a intriguing Historical Romance set in 1554 Scotland. #3 in "A Highland Hearts" series, but can be read as a stand alone. However, I would suggest reading the others in this amazing series. CRIMSON HEART is the final book in this series. See,"Highland Heart"(Novella),"Captured Heart","Tangled Hearts", and "Untamed Hearts" (Novella). This is, Searc Munro, a Highland warrior with a dark,lethal secret and Elena, who is running from her linage and her powerful sister. Filled with danger, passion, magic, secrets, betrayal and the power of true love. Fast paced and with Highland magic and romance. If you enjoy Highland warriors, and strong lasses than, you will want to read CRIMSON HEART. Ms. McCollum is a wonderful storyteller, who brings the Scottish Highlands to life. An awesome read! This is the finale, and what a great finale. An enjoyable read from beginning to the very last page. Received for an honest review from the publisher. RATING: 4.5 HEAT RATING: MILD REVIEWED BY: AprilR, courtesy of My Book Addiction and More
Historical_Romance_Lover More than 1 year ago
This is book 3 in the Highland Hearts series. Searc Munro comes from a family of healers and when his killing magic is revealed he leaves his family in disgrace. While making his way to Edinburgh, he encounters a lady being robbed by thieves. After rescuing her, he offers to escort her to Edinburgh and her cousin. With no family to speak of, Elena has nowhere else to go but to her "cousin" in Edinburgh. But upon meeting her "cousin", Searc thinks he is up to no good and stays on as Elena's protector. One thing leads to another and Elena and Searc must act like they are married. Their growing attraction to each other makes it hard to not consumate the relationship, making it a marriage in truth.  Searc know that Elena is keeping secrets from him, but since he has some of his own he doesn't press her for answers. What will happen when they finally learn the secrets the other has been holding back? Again, McCollum has hit it out of the ballpark with her story. She writes with just the right amount of intrigue, humor, and romance to satisfy any readers tastes. Having "known" Searc since he was a young child, it was hard to see that he thought his magic was evil. Elena was the perfect match to get Searc to see his magic for what it truly was, a gift and not a curse. I really hope that McCollum is not done with this series as I am definitely not ready to stop reading about these families! Thanks go to Entangled Publishing via NetGalley for a copy of the book in exchange of an honest review.
CharleneCF More than 1 year ago
A wonderful tale in Scotland, with lots of Highlanders, an Englishwoman, and the French!  Our Highland hero believes he is not fit to lead his clan as he cannot control his special power.  Our heroine, a British royal wants to escape from her family.  Our heros meet in the forest and decide to proceed together.  They meet with Queen Mary's regent, who takes a liking to both of them.  They stay with her and fall in love.  The regent arranges a wedding ceremony for them.  They overcome their problems and live happily ever after.
WorldsCollide More than 1 year ago
With magic, secrets, and a lovely romance, Crimson Heart was a fantastic historical romance. I really liked this book. It was a wonderful addition to the series and I really enjoyed reading it. Elena was lovely. She was strong and determined to live her life away for all the political battles that her parentage could have gotten her caught up in. She was clever, tough, and a likable character. I thought she was great. Searc was so wonderful. Because of his killing magic, he thought he was evil. But, it was clear right away that he was just the opposite. He was a truly good, noble man, one who was very sweet. I loved how he was so protective, not only of his loved ones, but of all creatures who couldn't defend themselves. He was simply adorable. The romance was lovely. Elena and Searc were so sweet together. They accepted each other so fully, even with the secrets each was hiding. There was some heat between them, but it wasn't really the focus of their relationship. I thought they were a perfect couple. The plot was fast paced and I was hooked the entire way through. There were some twists, and a constant sense of danger that had me on the edge of my seat. I really enjoyed the story and the ending was perfect. Crimson Heart was a delight of a read. From the lovely romance, to the secrets, and the touch of magic, this book was wonderful. Romance lovers, this is a book you'll want to check out. *I received a complimentary copy from the publisher in exchange for an honest review
grandmareads102 More than 1 year ago
Searc leaves his clan. He sees the fear in their eyes when they see his deadly magic. Along his journey he rescues Elena. She has fled England to save her life. Searc becomes her protector. Now the real danger begins. Both have secrets that can kill them. They are a powerful pair who will fight to stay together. Their attraction is powerful but will they trust each other enough to reveal their secrets? Crimson Heart is a suspense story filled with romance, magic and treachery. Searc and Elena are wonderful characters that capture you from the first page, She is a feisty and intelligent woman and Searc is a true Highlander who loves deeply and protects those he cares for. I enjoyed the maneuvering of Marie of Guise, the queen regent for her daughter Mary Stewart. The political treachery and plotting added to the suspense as does a murderer lurking in the shadows. I loved the romance between Searc and Elena. It was tender and passionate. I wanted these lovers to have a HEA. I loved Crimson Heart. I was sad when it ended.
mysticrosetiger More than 1 year ago
This book is a great read. Elena and Searc story  is sometimes love finds you even when your not looking.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Nothing.