×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Crossing to Safety
     

Crossing to Safety

4.0 70
by Wallace Stegner, T. H. Watkins (Afterword), Terry Tempest Williams (Introduction)
 

See All Formats & Editions

Introduction by Terry Tempest Williams
Afterword by T. H. Watkins
 
Called a “magnificently crafted story . . . brimming with wisdom” by Howard Frank Mosher in The Washington Post Book World, Crossing to Safety has, since its publication in 1987, established itself as one of the greatest and most

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Crossing to Safety 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 70 reviews.
bookwormiest More than 1 year ago
I love all of Stegner's work, and while I can't say objectively, that it's his best, it's certainly my favorite. I love the intimacy of it. Even though it's told from one character's perspective, you feel close to the others as well, for better and for worse. I'd probably strangle Charity if I knew her in real life, and yet . . . what an incredible friend she is. I love how the good, bad and mundane are woven into the story and yet, how the focus remains on these four friends. It's a book I like to read every few years when I need my heart warmed and my mind opened.
Guest More than 1 year ago
If only there were more books like this in the world, ones that look at ordinary people who are forced into extraordinary situations. I think it is beautifully written, as well as a touching and deeply moving story. I read this book years ago and I still think about the characters.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Stegner is so good and such an honest and thoughful writer that I was compelled to keep reading this engaging novel, although I much preferred his 'Angle of Repose,' with its more strongly developed characters and more interesting story. The characters in 'Crossing to Safety' seem to me to be much less sympathetic (with the possible exception of Sid Lang) and often terribly self- absorbed or just plain annoying -- or, as in the case of Sally Morgan, too opaque. Part I is marvelous, though, and I couldn't put it down; Part II is good but starts to become uneven; and Part III was, for me, close to interminable toward the end -- it just went on and on. Despite the interminable ending, the second half of the novel seemed to rush through a story for which I wanted more details. Also, the book read too much like thinly veiled autobiography at times. Novels narrated by characters who are writers can be tough to pull off without becoming self-indulgent and/or self-absorbed, and this book is, I think, susceptible to that problem. Nonetheless, it's worth reading for Stegner's prose and his story-telling ability, but again, it paled in comparison with the superior 'Angle of Repose.' I've not yet read his others.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Probably I missed the point, if there was one, but the prose is lovely, evocative of an era or two. Don't put it down if you value your comfort time. WARNING:This is not a credible tale, but heartwarming. Great book club fodder.
Guest More than 1 year ago
A book for those who love the language, filled with sentences of surprise, beauty, poignancy. A description of relationships between husbands and wives and their friends. A truthful book, capturing the emotion of discovery of new friends, kindred spirits and the journey of life with friends and lovers. One of the best books I've read, I highly reocmmend this book to any mature reader--perhaps it takes some years to really grasp what Stegner is talking about. Maybe not. The reader will have to see for him or herself. Enjoy!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Wonderful wallace stegner novel regarding friendship and lfe. Vivid descriptiond made me yearn to be part of these people's lives, family and time period.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is a bit slow at times but the author does an excellent job of portraying the emotions and attitudes of others. There are some excellent portions of the book and there are some areas I wish he would have expounded more on.
Guest More than 1 year ago
There is nothing to dispute or debate in this book because no one can walk in another's shoes. This is the story of four people told through the eyes of one of the male characters. They did things their way, made their choices, soared when things went well, and suffered when things went wrong, as we all do. The unique experience of the book is that they shared so much of it together, until by necessity and choice they had a time apart. As the book progresses we wonder what we would have done in their circumstances, or what we may yet do. Even to the end and their eventual reunion, their essential characters and personalities remain the same, and we watch them deal with the challenges that lay ahead for each of them.
Anonymous 2 days ago
If u want to know text 469-999-8322 and send nudes to get results
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read all the reviews (even the ones that had NOTHING to do with the book).  Maybe it's me, but I found this to be one of the most boring books I ever opened.  An as far as Charity,  did the word Bitch ever enter this man's vocabulary? I think not.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Name: Jackie Brewer.<p> Age: 16<p> Se<_>x:&female<p> Description:dark brown hair, cute face, glossy brown eyes, glossy pink lips, full lips, full, firm brea<_>sts, DD cup, curvac<_>eous, nice slightly fat, juicy as<_>s, slightly jiggly thighs. <p> Crush:Kevin.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
17 years old 6"6 250 lbs. Solid muscle. I have broad shoulders, pecs and washboard abs. I have blonde hair that flips up naturally with Carribean blue eyes. Im eleven inches hard with a wide head thats 3 inches. I play varsity football swimming and laccrosse.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Light brown hair. 5'5 and 114lbs.. Bra size 32C. Emerald eyes. Long legs.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Iam amber i have brown hair and brown eyes and i am sexy
Jules45MN More than 1 year ago
I see all the fabulous reviews, but I just don't get it. I couldn't get but 1/4 of the way through it and was already skipping huge passages, It was not riveting, did not keep my interest, my thoughts would start wandering. I realized I just didn't care about these folks. Nothing about the writing grabbed you. Even though it came highly recommended by a friend and was chosen as a book for our book club, I decided it wasn't worth my time to keep reading. I guess it's great for some but not me.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Outstanding! What a treat to read such a well-written story. You know the characters by the end of book. I wish there had been a sequel.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago