×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Crystal Gardens
     

Crystal Gardens

4.2 127
by Amanda Quick
 

See All Formats & Editions

New York Times bestselling author Amanda Quick delivers “a promising start to a new Victorian-era series” (The Seattle Times) with the Ladies of Lantern Street…

Evangeline Ames has rented a country cottage far from the London streets where she was recently attacked. Fascinated by the paranormal energy of nearby Crystal

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Crystal Gardens 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 127 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great book, but the nook version is missing lines at the bottom of a lot of pages. This is very aggravating!! I would have given it a higher rating if not for that.
SharonRedfern More than 1 year ago
Evangeline Ames wakes up to the certainty that someone is breaking into her house and it quickly becomes apparent that it is not just a random burglary and she is in danger. Evangeline is forced to leave the cottage she is renting and try to get help from her landlord who lives in the estate next door, Crystal Gardens. Once on the property she is startled to find him and his manservant out on the property. The estate is an eerie setting suffused with paranormal energy and the burglar soon meets an unfortunate end in the strange maze situated in Crystal Gardens. Lucas Sebastian is the owner of the Gardens, having inherited from his uncle Chester. Lucas believes his uncle was murdered and has come to the estate to investigate. He and Evangeline make an instant connection on many levels. Evangeline has come to the village to recuperate after being attacked by a male acquaintance. Lucas recognizes that she has paranormal abilities as he does and they both work to help victims of criminal activities. This first night begins a story of attempted murder, treasure hunting and an unusual romance. Add three investigating women, curious siblings, a garden full of dangerous, possibly man eating plants, and you have a page turner in this book. I have to mention that the mysterious pools on the estate are HOT in more ways than one! Having read all of the Arcane Society series and subsequent books, I enjoy the fact that this new trilogy continues the paranormal theme. Lucas and Evangeline have abilities that they can’t categorize but know are real. Lucas has despaired of ever finding a woman who would be able to live with his abilities. Evangeline has been betrayed by love before and keeps men at a distance. Their abilities are a common bond that helps cement the relationship. Ms. Quick does a great job incorporating elements from earlier books that have been discovered and investigated by Arcane and others and placing them in this story as new and unexplainable. An example is a paranormal infused lantern and crystals that are a mystery to Lucas and Evangeline. She has also made the Crystal Gardens themselves a character in the story with a life of its own. The characters from the next two books make an appearance and whet the reader’s appetite for the next story. I for one can’t wait.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If you were missing lines, it is because you do not have it set on Publisher' s Default Settings. When you have the font on your personal preference setting, it cuts off lines sometimes. Don't know why, but wanted everyone to know how to fix it. GREAT BOOK! BUY IT!
lanlynk More than 1 year ago
Paranormal suspense romance. Great read. The interaction between the male and female leads is good. Just enough humor to keep the story on the light side, but plenty of adventure and mystery too. The plot was well-constructed, the story and relationships detailed. Yes, there's a measure of predictability, but I read this author because I can rely on her style and characterization. I'm looking forward to the sequels. In repsonse to another review here: My Nook copy did not have any issues; there were no lines missing at all.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
After reading all of the Arcane and Harmony novels, this one seemed to try to do too much. The characters' paranormal abilities were a compilation of so many previous characters and why no mention of the Jones' or Arcane Society? If I had no previous knowledge of the other books, this would have been more enjoyable.
lovetoreadAR More than 1 year ago
Really liked this, what I'm assuming is another installment of the Arcane Society series, the Lantern Lane ladies. The characters were very emotionally and developmentally rich as always. And I did love the introduction of a sort of J&J organization back in the day with a twist. Evie and her friends were so interesting, and I liked the idea of female agents and undercover work, with that touch of psy talent. And Lucas, the ever charming darkly powerful figure. Troubled, strong, loyal and loving. The clash of wills was fun, I love reading as they bandy wills back and forth, but of course each knowing they're done for. They supply each other a much needed peace and solve mysteries that have preyed on them both. And we visit again the other talents and find out more of how things in the future series play out. Plant energy and even water energy, what dull crystals really mean power wise and what they seem to be able to do, and why does glass seem to dampen it? The science, the romance, the adventure, everything is there rolled into a very exciting and enjoyable package. I was particularly touched by what Lucas did for his stepmother and how Evie just knew. They aren't just connected, it's as if they can read each other's thoughts and hearts. Another great book by the author to add to my collection of favorites.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Really great book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is not the best book ive read by this author. It seemed like so much of it was rushed or assumed. The possession of talents just seemed ho hum. Everyone has them. No big deal. It also seemed like these talents were a lot more omnipotent than in her other books. The characters seemed to be able to do whatever they wanted with no ill effects. Overall the book was entertaining. I love this authors use of the paranormal and romance. I just wanted more time spent developing the story. It was a very busy book.
Phyllis_L More than 1 year ago
It was a good read, for the most part. It felt like it could have been smoothed out some and the bits of backstory woven in more effectively along with the various clues and themes and so on. Not the best Quick I've read, but fun and engrossing nonetheless.
LelRaven More than 1 year ago
Good book but not my favorite of Quick's. The lack of connection to Arcane when placed in seemingly the same era and world is slightly annoying but can be overlooked. I would be interested in more books covering the women of the agency Evangeline works for, especially if a connection to Arcane is developed. My Nook book had nothing missing.
kimba88 More than 1 year ago
Crystal Gardens is the first in a new trilogy by Amanda Quick called the Ladies of Lantern Street. It’s a historical romance laced with paranormal elements. Quick delivers an action packed novel with characters that I quickly came to love. Filled with suspense, mystery, paranormal ability and a swoon worthy hero I was quickly swept up in the story. The tale begins with protagonist Evangeline Ames. She is writer and ladies companion who has taken time off to explore the paranormal energy surrounding Crystal Gardens after she was attacked in London. When someone breaks into the cottage at night she instinctively runs to the Crystal Gardens estate and runs smack dab into swoon-worthy Lucas Sebastian. His uncle has recently passed and he believes foul play was involved. He and his trusted employee Stone are now residing in the home. The gardens are a dangerous place and Lucas has his hands full with his uncle’s botanical experiments. The tale that unfolds was typical Quick and while familiar it captivated me none the less. Lucas Sebastian is a dark man who makes people uncomfortable. He has a strong psychical talent that he must constantly keep in check. While people fear him, Evangeline sees the hero under the wolf’s clothing. While he can behave like a boar, Evangeline begins to soften him. I found Evangeline to be delightful, witty and intelligent. She is a fictional romance writer, with absolutely no romantic experience beyond a kiss or too, so you can imagine the fun in that. We meet her best friends and the other ladies of Lantern Street when they come to visit. The three of them conversing had me giggling. We learn there is much more to these ladies. There were other characters that rounded out the cast and made the plot interesting. The plot contains mystery, suspense, romance and a healthy dose of paranormal. While it isn’t original fans of Quick are sure to enjoy it. We have the mysterious death of Lucas’s uncle and someone is trying to murder Evangeline. Putting all the pieces of the puzzle together was fun and I enjoyed the ride. Throw in a lost treasure, some colorful characters and a well paced story-line and I was highly entertained. The romance between Lucas and Evangeline was hot. From the moment they encountered each other the tension and electrical current running between them was obvious even to an outsider. Evangeline decided to base her hero in her novel on Lucas and considers a romantic tryst with Lucas to conduct research. She sees herself outside of his social circle and cannot imagine anything beyond that. She may lose her heart but she will have the memories. Lucas has other plans.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Not her best, but still an entertaining read. I enjoyed this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I enjoy all her books. I read all her books!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved The book when is the next one coming out
Masquerader888 More than 1 year ago
Another Thrilling Ride by Amanda Quick When I am looking for a good read, and a story that will delight, entertain and is guaranteed to have a happy ending I know I can never go wrong with Amanda Quick (AKA Jayne Ann Krentz). Crystal Gardens introduces us to the Ladies of Lantern Street trilogy; expertly blending romance, mystery and the paranormal into a thrilling and heartwarming tale of love, murder and wits against a gothic background. This book was a fun read that introduced strong characters, incorporated an intriguing plot, and set the scene for the next two books with brilliant ease. I loved getting to know the two main characters in this book. Connected from the first chapter, I enjoyed seeing their relationship grow and bloom throughout their adventure. Lucas, a dark and mysterious character, was a great and stalwart hero and I enjoyed seeing both his intelligence and his honor woven through this work. Evangeline showed both spunk and determination, I found her a fascinating female…blending and balancing her chosen vocation with her gifts, she was fun to watch though out this tale. The setting on this book, incorporating both botany and the paranormal, imbued it with an ambiance that was truly unique. Adding more dimension to a tried-and-true romance plot, it expanded the scope of the story, taking on a life of its own. All in all it was another wonderful book by Ms. Quick to which I give a very happy four stars.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Fast moving, interesting plot with a few surprize twists.
BeachRead245 More than 1 year ago
Thank you to Lydia Hirt and Amanda Quick for the privilege to review this great book. This book will start off the International Chick Lit Month for 2012. Synopsis: Evangeline Ames came to Little Dixby for rest and relaxation so she could focus on her writing career. She is taking a break from her regular job as a paid companion working for the Lantern Street Agency. Little did she know that her life would be in danger from a previous case. Lucas Sebastian has also come to Little Dixby on a different matter to investigate the death of his uncle Chester. They become involved in an investigation in a case of murder and attempted murder. Will Lucas accept the help of Ms. Ames and her associates? There is also this garden that has supernatural energy that hides many secrets. Can Lucas untangle the secrets of the garden? My Thoughts: I am not usually a fan of the paranormal genre. I felt this book was well written. The novel was easy to read. The plot was great! I felt it had a lot of good twists and turns. This story did not have the typical period restrictions that are often focused on women. The only problem with this novel is the slow part in the beginning of the story. The setting of this novel is Victorian England era. I thought this setting was an interesting choice. In this time period, if you did not get a husband then you were considered a spinster. Then there was also less no opportunities for employment other than as a governess or paid companion. The fact that the paid companion was often in the background lends itself to the plot of a woman being an able investigator. I feel that it is quite possible for a woman to also be an investigator. I wonder where this series will go? The Crystal Gardens is the first novel in this series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great read
samsontinker More than 1 year ago
Fun story, quick paced, and wonderfully told
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great read!!!
goldieinaz More than 1 year ago
As usual, Amanda Quick proves to be a great author. Loved the story line and the characters. Highly recommend this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago