×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Cure (Jack Stapleton Series #10)
     

Cure (Jack Stapleton Series #10)

3.3 119
by Robin Cook
 

See All Formats & Editions

With her son's illness in complete remission, New York City medical examiner Laurie Montgomery returns to work-and finds her first case back to be a dangerous puzzle of the highest order, involving organized crime and two start- up biotech companies caught in a zero-sum game...

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Cure 3.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 119 reviews.
harstan More than 1 year ago
Medical examiners Laurie Montgomery and Jack Stapleton are euphoric with the birth of their first offspring. Following medical leave, Laurie returns to work and her boss assigns to her a routine inquiry in which the preliminary indication is death by natural causes. However, something feels off kilter to Laurie and she is positive it is not caused by postpartum blues. She digs a bit deeper and soon realizes the victim has been poisoned. Her investigation leads to the Mafia and Japanese gangsters competing with money laundering investments in a crooked stem-cell research firm. When the felons kidnap her son Laurie goes lioness berserker in pursuit. Cure in an exciting medical thriller due to the diligence of the lead protagonist whose investigation leads to a convergence of the biotechnical and mob industries aimed at her and her loved ones. The story line is fast-paced from the moment Laurie begins her autopsy and never slows down. Although resolutions are incredibly too obvious, easy and abrupt, fans will enjoy the latest Montgomery-Stapleton tale (see Foreign Body) as the enemy goes after them by targeting their Achilles' Heel. Harriet Klausner
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I've been a fan of Cook's Jack Stapleton/Laurie Montgomery characters for many years, but this book was terrible. The personalities that made previous books enjoyable are missing completly from Cure. Dialogue is choppy, not believable, and impersonal (ex. two infants in the story, referred to almost every time by parents and others as 'the child'...rarely by name, or 'my son', or 'little boy', etc.) In previous books, the forensic pathology generates questions and investigations; this time it seems to be included more as an obligation than part of the story. What little mystery there is seems forced, farfetched, and fed to us. I struggled to finish the book, and finally did so more out of perseverance than interest. If you're new to Robin Cook's writing, start with one of his earlier books. This one was a major letdown.
jane tudgee-sullivan More than 1 year ago
Cook has writen great stories with laurie and jack, but this was not one of them. Too much on the organized crime and not enough on the forensics.
constantreader46 More than 1 year ago
This book is dreary and much too technical to be an enjoyable read. Robin Cook's last two books were not the greatest. I think I'm finished.
Lynie More than 1 year ago
Part medical mystery, part police mystery and part lecture on America's health care industry, CURE may be the last Robin Cook book that I purchase. The main character is NYC Medical Examiner Laurie Montgomery, just returning to work from maternity leave. Determined that her first case back is not going to be a "natural" death, she twists herself into a pretzel trying to find another cause. Her reactions and responses are silly and over the top; mostly she's just annoying. CURE has weak characters, a far fetched winding plot about Japanese gangs, the most bungling Mafia I've ever seen in print and the biomedical industry. The "cure" for this one is to save your money and buy something better to read. Lynn Kimmerle
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very disappointed in my first Robin Cook book. One dimensional main character, Laurie Stapleton, who is so all-knowing I expected her to commence 'walking on water' at any moment.....or at least find a "cure" for cancer. Cook must churn these out following a cookie cutter formula.
Deveraux More than 1 year ago
While Cook offers a quick writing style and good technical information, this book is limited. Parts are very hard to believe, with the characters being very weak in this tale. While Cook's endings do not always reveal all the details, here it is very difficult to accept some of the nuances that occur. The plot is extremely weak and its outsome is far from acceptable. But, it ia quick read to pass the time on an off day.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
cowgirlup More than 1 year ago
This is not, in my opinion one of his best books. I have not read any of his books for a long time, and must say I was a little disappointed in this one.
John3145 More than 1 year ago
The Jack Staplton series by Robin Cook is a great series. Each book makes the time frame a year or two apart. The on going adventures of Jack, Laurie Montgomery, with Lou Soldano ( a mojor character but off to the side, and of coarse the mob. I read them in hardbacks as they came out, and re-read them on my Nook years later. Sort of reminds me of the ols television show "Quincy"
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
(Great job!!! Like i always say, love love LOVE that detail! Great descriptive words! Could be a little longer, but it's still great story!) ~Musik
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
shawnainva More than 1 year ago
I listened to this book on audiobook and all I can tell you is that this had something to do with Japanese organized crime? I didn't follow the story much at all and I still don't understand where the title relates to the book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The last 3 of Robin Cook's books tanked! This one is just horrible. Unless you are fluent in japanese, save your money!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Not very good. To full of scientific details
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago