×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Daily Coyote: A Story of Love, Survival, and Trust in the Wilds of Wyoming
     

The Daily Coyote: A Story of Love, Survival, and Trust in the Wilds of Wyoming

4.5 38
by Shreve Stockton
 

See All Formats & Editions

• A fascinating true tale: When city girl Shreve Stockton set out to ride her Vespa from San Francisco to New York, she never imagined she’d end up staying in Wyoming, falling in love with a trapper, and working as a ranch hand. Nor could she have forseen meeting Charlie, the orphaned coyote pup who made Stockton’s log cabin his home. In a world

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 37 reviews.
LizLE More than 1 year ago
This is truly the worst book I have read in years. I bought the book based on the premise and the engaging photos, which are very good, but that is really all the book has to offer.

The writing is shallow and self-indulgent. The author shares way too many details of her intimate relationship which sound more like romance novel drivel and seem grossly out of place here. Additionally, she appears to be devoid of any convictions of her own. She blows into Wyoming, falls in love with a hunky but sullen and sulky cowboy who slaughters coyotes for a living, and adopts his values regarding the justification for this "work". If she had happened to find a gorgeous environmental activist we would be reading that book instead. The only reason she has the coyote in the first place is because he snuffed out the pup's entire family and, on an unexplained impulse, grabs this pup out of the den, taking it to be raised in an unnatural manner. The book gives the feeling of being written out of some compelling need to convince the rest of us that this sort of systematic extermination is really OK. Reading the lame justifications given for the daily slaughter of wild animals will be hard for anyone who truly loves animals.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Beautiful!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book made me "Happier than a coyote in a corn pile". Entertaining, funny, insightful, thought provoking, and inspiring. It was a fast read, which is good for me but it was not one of those 'fast reads' that you get through, like, but donate to the book sale. This one is a keeper and a great re-read. Shreve (what a cool name) is adventurous, and a risk taker. She decides that Wyoming is where she would like to call home (at least for a little while). She moves there to a rental house, sight unseen and things just start happening for her. I don't want to give away the book but she gets the chance to raise a baby coyote. That's when it gets really interesting. I love reading about the daily activities and how she handled Charlie as well as living in a very rustic cabin for a time. She not only lets us in on her daily life with Charlie, the coyote, but she digs a little deeper. She does not get too liberal for me in her observations about life which was nice but it did give me things to think about in some places. She has a recurring situation throughout the book in dealing with Charlie's pack mentality and she goes into detail on how she set about developing and maintaining a schedule for his care and well-being. He was never her "pet", which she makes clear. And she places great emphasis on her relationship with his and the responsibilities placed on her to provide and care for him. Great book, great read!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I found this book at my local Barnes and Noble store. It caught my attention due to the beautiful pictures. It looked like a nice animal story so I got it. If you like animal stories this is a great little book. The author which is a photographer has taken great pictures and she tells the story of Charlie in such a beautiful way. From the time she got him as a orphaned little pup you can follow him growing up, trying to make friends with the cat and his daily adventures. She has a blog where you can see the more recent pictures. Highly recommended for animal lovers.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a wonderful book but you will need a box of tissues when you read it. In addition to the content, there are many beautiful pictures of Wyoming which will help you to 'see' the story. I enjoyed the book so much that I gave it as a 'cabin warming' present to my brother and sister-in-law who recently bought a place in Wyoming close to where the author lives.
elcajon More than 1 year ago
Story is beautifully written. Having grown up & lived and worked on farms and now living in a major city suburb, I clearly understand the conflicts between urban and rural realities of people as occur in this book. I highly recommend this book for high school or above.
Cisley More than 1 year ago
I just finished reading this book. I purchased it when it was new but since I have so many books to read, well, it was my choice yesterday and today I finished it. I live off a country road in a development of homes, each on 1/2 acre. Last year, after living here for over 15 years, we suddenly had Coyotes in our neighborhood. My husband and I saw one in the neighbor's backyard one Sunday at 12:00 noon. It was the first time I had ever seen one and so much bigger than I thought one would be. This book certainly gave me an insight to Coyotes! The photography is absolutely stunning. The book is well written and very interesting. As an animal lover, I thoroughly recommend it. It was one of the best memoirs, not to mention most unusual I have read in a long time.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
CMCain More than 1 year ago
This book is both heartwarming and uplifting. Shreve Stockton's retelling of how she settled in a small town of 300 in Wyoming from New York City while pursuing her fierce flag of extreme independence will surprise and delight. In agreeing to adopt a days old coyote named Charlie, she realizes she has traded that independence in an instant. Her candid photos of Charlie are amazing, sometimes frightening, more often melting. Along the way she falls in love with a cowboy who is yet to deal with the death of his 12 year old daughter two years before on his ranch as a result of a four-wheel accident. Cast this in the light of living in a cabin with no running water, no heat and no inside plumbing! A real true life adventure.
TazWolf More than 1 year ago
It is a great book. Shreve Stockton gives a great account of what it is like to live with a wild animal in a small town in Wyoming. For someone from Wyoming I can relate to her experiences living in Wyoming. It is a great read for anyone of any age. It is great book to read by the cozy fireplace.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I just loved this book. I have never been to Wyoming but somehow fell in love with the state. Prior to reading this book, I knew nothing about coyotes but have come to appreciate this wonderful wild creature. A wonderful book for all animal lovers!