×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Damned
     

Damned

3.8 136
by Chuck Palahniuk
 

See All Formats & Editions

From the author of Fight Club, comes a dark, irreverent, hilarious, and brilliant satire about adolescence, Hell, and the Devil.
 
Madison is the thirteen-year-old daughter of a narcissistic film star and a billionaire. Abandoned at her Swiss boarding school over Christmas, she dies over the holiday, presumably of a marijuana overdose. The last

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Damned 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 136 reviews.
LostAnvil More than 1 year ago
I was seriously looking forward to reading this novel and it did not disappoint one bit. Palahniuk's dense sentences always grab me and I love his structure and his style, always have and likely always will. It gives a great glimpse of the world of Palahniuk without the difficulty of, let's say, his book "Rant" (one of my favorites). A must read if you are a fan of any of his works, but also a great place to start for those who have never read anything of his.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Started kinda slow.....but then! The climax! Very good book! Entertaining! Funny! Well written.
J3v0n More than 1 year ago
Hella Funny Damned is about 13 yr old Madison winding up in Hell when she dies and as soon as she realizes this the dark, twisted humor starts from beginning to end. Leaving behind the hell that was her pre-adolescent, abnormal life for Hell, Madison and her friends embark on a journey to obtain an audience with Satan. Like I said, the humor is present from beginning to end. Whether its performing cunnilingus on she-demon, tele-marketing Hell as THE afterlife retirement, or beating the crap out of Hitler and other maniacs that had a cult following throughout history, you'll be laughing your a$$ off. Also Madison's back story is told through flashbacks that are equally funny like Madison's celebrity parents' inadvertent determination to mess up her life, Madison's incestuous feelings to her adopted brother, or her awkward social interactions at an all girl boarding school. The ending of this book has an amazing twist to it but I won't ruin it for you. If you can look beyond the Satanic and disgusting imagery, you'll actually find a very funny story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is the newest book of Palanhiuk's series I've read most recently and really enjoyed it compared to Pgymy or Snuff. It was hard for me to put it down. Would recommend to those who dig Chuck.
Yurusumaji More than 1 year ago
This is my first Palahniuk book and I didn't walk away disappointed. This book has moments where I got a little irritated with the redundancy, though no sooner had I felt that way the redundancy finally ended. The Psezpolnica scene had me rolling. There really isn't a major plot going on here, but it does manage to keep you wanting to figure out what's going to happen next. I was pretty underwhelmed by the end of this novel, though. We get a big reveal, but then the book refuses to deal with that big reveal and we're left hanging there.
Anonymous 6 months ago
Descriptive to the point of gagging in between chuckles. A new kind of hero
Drewano More than 1 year ago
This book really left me wanting for what could have been. One the good side the writing and descriptions are great allowing you to see his vision of hell. Likewise, some of the physical features of hell and how they got there are funny as…well hell. Additionally, the way that he ties in the currency used in hell and the one day they can walk the earth is great, and for the rules of why someone would end up in hell…let’s say we’re all damned. Unfortunately, that’s where the good ends. I didn’t find the characters that interesting or relatable but that could have been overlooked if there was a plot. For most of the time the characters aren’t really doing anything and when they were, I didn’t really see why they were doing it. Even I finished I was left asking “what was the point?” In the end I just felt underwhelmed.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed his take on hell. It was something unexpected, but with his style of writing it just clicked. Madison is funny and I enjoyed reading through the lense of a slighty misguided, 13 year old girl.
rjdrennen More than 1 year ago
My first Palahniuk novel This was a fast, engaging, hilarious read.  The characters were believable, the descriptions of Hell were great, and all of the ways to get yourself a ticket to Hell had me doubled over with laughter.  I would definitely recommend this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was a disappointment. The first few chapters were mildly entertaining I will admit, but the further I read the more it felt like this is meant for someone in high school, or written by one with unimaginative low class humor and repetition. At 246 pages, I'm at 202 and struggling to continue with the language taking a sudden turn from readable, to some kind of bad old english. I even put it down and read an entirely new book to take a break, it became more obnoxious the further I read, anxious to get to the end. The story went from intro to end with no middle. Suffice it to say I will not be reading the sequel, I can't believe there is one.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This story is about a 13 year old who goes to hell and it's her life and he'll story. Matched up with a breakfast club type of cast, it puts some comedy into it It has very dry spills but stick to it. The ending is mind blowing but I'd rather of wanted a different ending. Good all together, recommend it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Tara_H More than 1 year ago
A little too strange, hard to follow even. Sounded interesting because I like si-fy type books but this one was not amazing.
MorrisMorgan More than 1 year ago
To be upfront, I am not typically a fan of Chuck Palahniuk’s writing, but this one’s description caught my eye so I decided to give it a try.  I’m glad I did, because I generally loved it. The main character, 13-year-old Madison, evolves throughout the story from a rather clueless girl to one who gradually becomes more self-aware.  The writing style is meant to mimic how a girl her age may write, and for the most part it played out nicely.  However, after a while some of the repetition began to grate on my nerves like one of the demons in the book.  We got the point, Mr. Palahnuik. It really marred what was otherwise a pleasant read and is the sole reason I gave it three stars instead of four. The other characters were excellent.  All surprising and well-rounded, they did a great job of making the novel thought-provoking as opposed to one-dimensional. Archer and Goren were particular were favorites of mine. The list of ways to get you a one way ticket to eternal damnation had me laughing every time one came up.  I challenge anyone not to wonder if you are gambling with their soul the next time they commit one of the atrocities. As is so common in a Palahniuk novel that I don’t think it bears even a thought of a spoiler warning, it all comes down to the ultimate existential crisis.  This one is the best I have ever read, not only from the author, but from possibly any author. It definitely left me wanting more in spite of the previously mentioned repetition. Lucky for me, there is a sequel, “Doomed”.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The thought of Hell is a daunting concept, full of mystery and endless possibilities. Chuck Palahnuik presents his hell head on with dark humor and unfailing satire. His descriptions of Hell are nothing less than hysterical yet will most likely leave you feeling uneasy.  Unless you are unaffected by 'seas of steaming sperm' and giant titillated demons. Palahniuk creates a world where hell doesn't seem so awful as long as you avoid getting eaten by demons and die with the appropriate walking shoes on. Damned is ridiculous and outrageous and will leave you wanting to read the sequel.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Joe-Kur More than 1 year ago
A mixture of Dante's Inferno and Breakfast Club. Palahniuk does a great job in detailing Hell that stays with you. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago