×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Dancing at the Rascal Fair (McCaskill Trilogy Series #2)
     

Dancing at the Rascal Fair (McCaskill Trilogy Series #2)

4.0 11
by Ivan Doig
 

See All Formats & Editions

The central volume in Ivan Doig's acclaimed Montana trilogy, Dancing at the Rascal Fair is an authentic saga of the American experience at the turn of this century and a passionate, portrayal of the immigrants who dared to try new lives in the imposing Rocky Mountains.
Ivan Doig's supple tale of landseekers unfolds into a fateful contest of the heart

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Dancing at the Rascal Fair: McCaskill Trilogy, Book 2 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 11 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I first read this book probably 18-20 years ago, and wnt on then to read three of Doig's other books. His writing about characters and place manages to be both lyrical and humorous. I am now rereading this one (rather rare for me to do this), and its richness amazes me. I cannot recommend it enough.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have read this book several times and recommended it to many of my friends. Everyone that has read the book thinks very highly of it and goes on to recommend it to others.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is one of the two best books I've ever read...and I read a whole lot. Mr. Doig is my hero.
Guest More than 1 year ago
this started out slow, but when I got used to his style of writing, I couldn't put it down. It has many plots and many twists too. Very good read
Guest More than 1 year ago
The title of this book does not give the reader a hint of the story within. So, a mystery begins and draws the reader gently along. But soon the story grabs you less gently, and you cannot wait to find out what will happen to the 2 young men leaving their homes in Scotland, immigrating to the new America...across thousands of miles to Montana and the wild west as it truly was...difficult and dangerous.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The book was recommended to me by a good friend of my sister. I enjoyed it so much that I have read the sequel "English Creek", and will start shortly on the third one of this series of Ivan Doig, "Ride With Me, Mariah Montana" . He is such a descriptive author and knows and seems to love the area of Montana in which the story takes place. I also have two of his other books, not of this series.
Maertel More than 1 year ago
This is the best pitch (fork) perfect book I've ever read! The only thing holding it back from a 5 STAR rating is lackluster Adair talking about herself in the third person. This was awful, eye-rolling, and cringe-inducing. Hard to believe that schoolmaster Angus would not find it a deal breaker.
pageturnerMB More than 1 year ago
This is my kind of story. Love that setting .Try to read this author often.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Wow. Great adventure story. Wonderful,colorful characters. I fell in love with Montana and found myself reading with a Scottish brogue.