×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Dancing on the Edge of the Roof
     

Dancing on the Edge of the Roof

4.7 22
by Sheila Williams
 

See All Formats & Editions

At forty-one, Juanita Lewis is running away from home, courtesy of a one-way ticket to Montana, a place that seems about as far away from the violence and poverty of the Columbus, Ohio, projects as the moon. She wants adventure and excitement–if such things exist for a pre-menopausal African American woman with three grown, deadbeat

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Dancing on the Edge of the Roof 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 22 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I read this book in 6 hours!! Started on the subway home from work and finished in time for bed. I was transported into Juanita's world. It's a great story for those of us needing a push to do something different.
SeaBrzFL More than 1 year ago
I downloaded this e-book weeks ago to my Nook, but I am so glad that I waited until this past weekend to actually read it. A dark, rainy Sunday afternoon curled up in pillows and quilts was the ideal way to enjoy this short, fun book (167 pages). Don't choose this book if you're looking for something profound from the best sellers' lists, but this book is definitely above the norm of the mass market paperback market. Regardless of your race, middle age women (and maybe men) can all relate here.
OOSABookClub More than 1 year ago
Juanita, a mother and grandmother, has worked hard providing for her family, while neglecting to have a life of her own. Everyday she does the same old thing. When Mrs. Berman, a patient at the hospital where Juanita works, passes away. While helping her daughter pack her things, Juanita comes across some books. Instead of throwing the books out, she takes the books home and begins reading them. All of a sudden, Juanita has a new attitude. Juanita leaves her job, her grown spoiled children, takes the few pennies she had and decided to travel. She winds up in Paper Moon, Montana, a small town with people who seemingly welcome her right in. Jesse Gardiner, the owner of the diner, is the most helpful in Juanita's journey of self discovery. I picked up "Dancing on the Edge of the Roof" and was able to finish it in one sitting. It's an inspiring read that challenges you to try something different. I highly recommend it!!!!!! Reviewed by: Carmen
Guest More than 1 year ago
Juanita was a quirky single mother who was tired of her life and decided to run away. She ran away to Paper Moon, Montana. Of all places in the country...world even...to go. We got to see barely literate Juanita develop into an exquisite writer while she managed to fall in love. Her falling in love was just a surprise to her and a lucky surprise to me as well. She has difficulty finding the right words to describe her bland gray surroundings of Ohio, but her descriptions broaden as she adventures to Montana. This book was an excellent read! I couldn't put it down. Juanita reminded me of my mother, grandmothers, aunts, cousins....all of us surreal Black women...justa livin'. I appreciate Sheila weaving a light hearted tale with other interesting supporting characters. The writing was superb! Thank you! I'm recommending this book to my English Professor at Miles College, in Alabama. Thank you again and I can't wait for your next book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was my second time reading this book. I have read all four of her books and love them all. This is a feel good and relax in bed type book. Makes me want to go on my own adventure.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is written in such a way as to make you want to read and learn more bout all of the characters. Very good book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is a book I read in three days sharp. The story of Juanita and her journey for self discovery and different scenery is a story any person who feels trap can relate to. Sheila Williams wrote a compelling novel and created a character that is as memorable as any other person I have read in previous books.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Nice story , light enough to read quickly. Not too deep, not too dramatic and surface enough to believe the majority of it. Don't take it too seriously and you might even enjoy it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this book. I completely understood her and, in some ways, wish I could be her. It was awesome how she decided to pack up and find herself. I was not ready for it to end as I wanted to know how far she'd take her adventure.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Enjoyed it
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I needed a good book. Good books are hard to find. Glad i found this one.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
My life is far from Juanita's but I loved this book. The characters, word images, and honest style spoke to my heart. Don't pass up this opportunity to laugh out loud and rejoice in new beginnings.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
One of the best I've read this year.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
harstan More than 1 year ago
In Columbus, Ohio forty-two years old African-American Juanita Lewis is disappointed with her two sons and daughter. Rashawn is a drug dealer; Randy is doing time; and Bertie does the clubs ignoring her baby. To flee from her belief that she failed at parenting 101, Juanita escapes into romance novels where she fantasizes of a different life for her and her family, and when she is honest with herself, just her.--- Unable to cope with the latest disenchantment and encouraged by her novels, Juanita quits her nurses aide job and takes a bus to escape from her dismal home life. The name sounds romantic and her bus companion mentioned it, so she gets off in Paper Moon, Montana. At the local diner Juanita defeats owner Jess Gardiner in a cook off by providing a simple menu rather than his upper crust bill of fare for the patrons. Soon everyone wants to eat at the diner. Juanita enjoys rustication even conversing with her landlady¿s cats. Jess begins courting her and they fall in love.--- DANCING ON THE EDGE OF THE ROOF is a fantastic contemporary romance with an insightful family drama that actually comes alive though the perceptions of the heroine. Though the metamorphosis of Juanita from nurturing care-taker to strong ¿I am woman¿ seems impossible yet Sheila Williams makes it believable as if Juanita ¿snapped¿ in a positive way as she realizes that there is got to be more to life than this and decides to find it. The story line is amusing with its serious message to respect yourself while the J duet fuss, fight, and fall in love within this fine second chance at life.--- Harriet Klausner
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
What was the name of the first book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Im all alone in this world and i dont have a bf to hug in tough moments like this
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Lmao wyd?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Awe
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Goodmorning*hugs both...sowwy gtg bbl ttyl
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
At geavanna. All res. Its gonna be awesome. Just use your imagination and add whatever you want to my party. ;)