×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Dangerous Highlander (Dark Sword Series #1)
     

Dangerous Highlander (Dark Sword Series #1)

4.0 248
by Donna Grant
 

See All Formats & Editions

Dangerous Highlander is the first novel of Dark Sword—a breathtaking historical and paranormal romance series from Donna Grant. The bold and passionate Lucan MacLeod—one of three brothers cursed by dark magic for eternity—is driven by desire for the one woman he dare not let himself possess…

He is magnificently strong—and

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Dangerous Highlander (Dark Sword Series #1) 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 248 reviews.
harstan More than 1 year ago
The Roman legions overwhelm Britannia including the Highlands. The Celtic tribes turn to the Druids for help. The Drough Druids use the dark magic of human sacrifice enabling them to free ancient evil gods from hell who repels the Romans. Afterward the Druids are unable to send the gods back to hell so they trap them inside of Warriors who are unaware what has become part of their heritage from generation to generation. Three centuries ago the powerful MacLeod clan is destroyed in a single night. No one claimed credit for the massacre. However, three brothers who were away, Quinn, Lucan and Fallon searched for the source. Instead they became prisoners of the culprit, Deirdre the Drough, who thirsts for power to dominate the earth through the release of the evil gods, but eventually they escaped. In 1603, Cara the orphan picks mushrooms near Castle MacLeod when her mother's heirloom falls off her neck and she falls off a cliff during a nasty storm. Lucan who, with his siblings, resides in the castle saves her life. When Deidre sends her wyrren and Warriors to capture Cara and the heirloom called Demon's Kiss, the MacLeod siblings save her from the monsters who killed everyone else in the village. As Lucan and Cara fall in love, Deirdre continues to send her beasts after them as she needs the woman, the heirloom, and the brothers to complete her quest. This is a super historical romantic fantasy that grips readers from the onset and never slows down yet introduces the underlying premise, a strong support cast (the good, the bad and the monsters) and a terrific lead couple inside of vividly described realm. Fans will appreciate Donna Grant's great opening Dark Sword while looking forward to the adventures in love and supernatural war starring the drunken widower Fallen the Laird of no clan and raging Quinn whose anger remains stratospheric. Harriet Klausner
ErinORiordan More than 1 year ago
I don't usually give five stars to romance novels, but by chapter three I was completely hooked on this series. The three MacLeod brothers--eldest Fallon, middle brother Lucan, and youngest Quinn--are simply irresistible. It's not just that they're gorgeous Scottish Highlanders, either. Thanks to the workings of ancient Druid magic, originally used to fend off the Romans, the three brothers share an ancient god trapped inside them. A madwoman seeks to capture them because of this, and because of their secret, their clan was slaughtered. For three hundred years, the immortal brothers lived alone in the ruins of their castle with only their vengeful god for company. When an innocent young nun-in-training, Cara, ventures near their forbidden hold, she senses there's something magical about the place, but she never expects to fall in love with one of the brothers. This book was the perfect blend of romance and sword and sorcery, with moments of action but also a great heart, great chemistry, and an unforgettable band of brothers.
Raonaid More than 1 year ago
Dangerous Highlander is Donna Grant’s introduction novel in her Dark Sword series. The premise about druids being in the book/story was the ultimate decision for me picking up this book and reading it. Highlanders close second. For a person who has been fascinating and obsessed with druids (fifteen years) I was lured to the story, curious to see Donna’s take on them. And I will admit the twist she took with the druids met with approval (from me). She’s also melded beautifully paranormal elements with historical, something I have not seen too often in books. It is either historical or paranormal, not the two genres blended together as one. Donna also created the most unforgettable villain – one that makes a reader despise her, rooting for the good guys to vanquish her. She sets the pace for the Dark Sword books, explaining the roles the druid played, the reason they did what they did to selected few before introducing the waif Cara – who holds unbeknownst to her a valuable secret and Lucan – one of the three Macleod brothers. Neither expected to fall in love, nor did Cara expect there was more to her that met the eye.
scouty54 More than 1 year ago
Donna Grant's Dark Sword Series started out with an A+ Bang with this book. It was different, but then again, the paranormal Scotland Highlander Warrior was new to me. Basically I read this book because I love romance stories set in Scotland. Lucan is a great character, and a great hero, and the heroine Cara, is a strong female character. Thank goodness she isn't another weepy, help me Big Guy-type of girl. There were lots of action scenes as I guess paranormal genre seem to have, but they were easy to read and quite exciting. Lucan and his 2 brothers were not hidden monsters as I thought from the title, just have powers they can call upon. I highly recommend this book, and I have started reading the second book in the series, Forbidden Highlander, that already seems to be better than the first one, and the Dangerous Highlander was a great book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I just stumbled on this book and it turned out to be a really good book. I am looking forward to the next in the series to see how it turns out. It drew me in from the very beginning and kept me going till the end. It is a very good read and an interesting twist on Druidhs and Historical romance/paranormal fiction. You will not be dissapointed in it!
kayq More than 1 year ago
The plot was exciting as well as the characters. This was a fast read as it captured the attention with the thrills and excitement provided. I would completely recommend this to anyone that enjoys the paranormal. The imagination in this read is really great.
Rhoduh55 More than 1 year ago
Love this historical romantic fantasy. The sex scene are a little too much and too often but the overall storyline is very compelling. I bought the next 2 books in the series and read them both the same day!
robinky More than 1 year ago
If you love highlanders you will love this book. A highlander who has been cursed who finds the love of a lifetime. This is a great book, a great series wrote by a wonderful author.
JA_Bal More than 1 year ago
I'll admit that this story is a little original and unusual in it's supernatural nature. But that doesn't make it any less interesting. Instead of vampires or werewolves, Grant employs a god-like spirit from ancient times - brought into existence by the druids. Of course once these powerful spirits are brought here, they cannot be sent back. What seemed like a way to hide them deep inside warriors is only a temporary solution when the secret ends up in the wrong hangs. The Macleods will be the first to deal with it, but not the last. It wasn't just the hot romance that brought me into this one. I find myself having to know what is going to happen to each of the brothers - or to the friends they find. They have a unique problem and immortality to deal with. I recommend this to anyone who enjoys historic/paranormal romances.
jeannietone More than 1 year ago
When starting a new series i like to start from #1 so i decided to try this series. Haven't read a highlander series in a while. I totally loved the characters and the historical aspects of this book loved the twist on the druids. I am going to get the book copy... Yep definate buy. Jeanette Platt
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I didnt know what this was about when i bought this story. Its just not my interest. If you like sci-fi, occult, monsters.....this is well written
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good story line
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
BookwormBridgetteBlogger More than 1 year ago
*******WARNING CONTAINS SPOILERS******* This was the 9th Donna Grant book I had begun reading with high hopes as the others had me in a spell the entire time I was reading, I just couldn't put it down!! I loved learning about the MacLeods and seeing Lucan so protective was this awesome feeling, however, throughout this story I could not help but be drawn more to Fallon. The sad lonely heart that was him made me feel like he would be an awesome story... Don't get me wrong, Lucan's story did not disappoint me in any way... I was on my toes when ~*~SPOILER~*~[Cara fell from the cliff, and then again when she was running away, I am so glad Galen was a good guy. I cried when I thought she was going to leave him and disappear... So happy Lucan found her!! I was even more in shock to learn that she was a druid! I figured something was up when the necklace heated and moved, but to find out her mother was a drough... makes me wonder if maybe the drough were not all horrible, but just used different types of magic... idk, ] either way... this story was a great one, beginning to end so romantic and each part well thought and written so that the words just flowed from the page into my head!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Denise23b More than 1 year ago
A great start to a book series. Did not want to put it down. As soon as I finished, I picked up book two, Forbidden Highlander. I did not know what kind of genre I liked until I picked up a Donna Grant book about six months ago.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago