×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Dangerous Mercy: A Novel
     

Dangerous Mercy: A Novel

4.7 8
by Kathy Herman
 

See All Formats & Editions

This intense psychological thriller is the second book in the Secrets of Roux River Bayou series from best-selling author Kathy Herman. 

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Dangerous Mercy 4.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 8 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I've found a new favorite author! Love, love this series!
janesquires More than 1 year ago
This is one of the best books I have read. It keeps you turning the pages. I read half of it on the first night. Underground slave tunnels, murders, mercy, and more. It takes you a long way through the book before you even speculate who the Bathtub Killer is. A peaceful town turned upside down by 5 murders. Sheriff trying to fit together the pieces of the puzzle. He finally has to call in FBI profiler. Adele is so trusting and full of mercy. Her faith in God is put to the test. I fund it helpful to read through the Cajun French glossary before starting. Then I did not have to refer back to it. The Author writes in her note at end "Mercy is for the needy - not the worthy." We all are in need of mercy. I highly recommend!
coramdeo540 More than 1 year ago
Dangerous Mercy Kathy Herman Book Summary: Blessed are the merciful, for they will be shown mercy. --Matthew 5:7 When eighty-five-year-old Adele Woodmore moves to Les Barbes to be near the Broussards--and her namesake, their daughter--she wants nothing more than a comfortable, quiet life. Employing men from Father Vince's halfway house for the homeless to do odd jobs and landscaping, she delights in the casual conversation she has with them, the fledgling friendships, and the idea that she is helping them get back on their feet. A series of murders in Les Barbes has cast a pall over the town and, in fact, one of Adele's handymen becomes a person of interest to the police. But Adele cares for these young men, she "knows" them, and continues to show them kindness in spite of her friends' concern. And then one day a murderer walks through Adele's defenses, sits down at her kitchen table ... and they begin to talk ... Review: There are many good qualities in this book. They mystery was ongoing and not surprising overall with the resolution. I enjoyed reading about all the previous characters. That made so much of it worthwhile. I did find it slower to get into. Once it took off it was a quick read and I wanted to know how it was going to be resolved and that Adele was going to be OK. I thought the wrestling match Adele had with herself and others about forming relationships with the men from Haven House. That was a great part of the book and something very real when you are doing ministry. The only thing that was sad and true about ministry is that doing ministry alone is unfortunate because many times the people of God forget that we are to be partners in ministry privately and corporately. Overall it was a good read and was very realistic. The ending was remarkable and worth the wait. I would like to thank Net Galley and David C. Cook for allowing me to read and review this book in return for a free copy and I was never asked to write a favorable review by anyone.
gingervc More than 1 year ago
Just started reading Kathy Herman books. I really enjoy this series and will buy lots more by this author.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this book (just finished it) and it had suspense, kindness, showing how Christian love can turn a person around, showed how not to give up on a person. I would recommend it to all. I am getting ready to get the sequel (#3).
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
-Melanie- More than 1 year ago
I've read many books by Kathy Herman (including 'False Pretenses') and I was pretty sure, before I even started 'Dangerous Mercy', that I would enjoy it! Thankfully, I was right and 'Dangerous Mercy' was very enjoyable, held my attention, and was overall just a great mystery/suspense! When I read the first book in this series ('False Pretenses'), Adele Woodmore was one of my favorite characters - mainly because she was so friendly, merciful, and forgiving. In 'Dangerous Mercy', though, that mercy may put her life in danger. I was so excited to read more about the Broussard's - and learn what's been happening since 'False Pretenses' with them, the Langleys, and other characters we met in the first book. I liked pretty much all of the characters in 'Dangerous Mercy'. Some of my favorites were Adele (as mentioned above), Zoe, Vanessa, Noah, and the guys from the restaurant - I loved how they interacted with Grace. There was so much suspense and mystery in 'Dangerous Mercy' that I found it easy to read and now I'm patiently looking forward to reading 'Relentless Pursuit' when it releases. I most definitely recommend 'Dangerous Mercy' if you enjoy mysteries, but I would suggest you read 'False Pretenses' first. *I received a complimentary copy from the publisher for my review. I was not required to give a positive review, only my honest opinion - which I have done.*
harstan More than 1 year ago
Octogenarian Adele Woodmore left her large mansion to move to Les Barbes to be near her friends, the Broussard clan. She especially enjoys her time watching two years old Grace. Adele hires homeless patrons from Father Vince's halfway house to do handy work for her. She is satisfied with Noah who does her lawn and Murray who is renovating the inside of her new home. Only Flynn makes her uneasy but she knows God would want her to give him a second chance. The serene Saint Catherine parish hamlet is shook when someone murders banker Darveau by drugging him before drowning him in his tub with him unable to move but alert to what was happening. He was # 1. Soon afterward CEO Gautier became the number 2 victim of The Bathtub Killer. Sheriff Prejean struggles with the case that lacks any concrete evidence but implies more homicides will follow; his assumption is the killer is on a vendetta connected to the recent economic downturn. The Broussard and other townsfolk suspect one of Father Vince's homeless is the killer with Noah being a person of interest. Fearing for her safety, her friends begs Adele to stop hiring Father Vince's homeless, but she refuses as she believes God wants her to help these men find their way to the Lord. The second Secrets of Roux River Bayou (see False Pretenses) is an exciting serial killer thriller with the townsfolk in a panic, the sheriff and Police Chief Norman frantic, and Adele calmly doing the Lord's mission. Her warm tenderness in the midst of a raging deadly storm makes for a strong inspirational whodunit. Once again readers will appreciate visiting the Bayou with Ms. Herman as our guide. Harriet Klausner