×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Dangerously Funny: The Uncensored Story of
  • Alternative view 1 of Dangerously Funny: The Uncensored Story of
  • Alternative view 2 of Dangerously Funny: The Uncensored Story of
     

Dangerously Funny: The Uncensored Story of "The Smothers Brothers Comedy Hour"

4.0 25
by David Bianculli
 

See All Formats & Editions

Now in paperback, a rollicking history of the rise and fall of The Smothers Brothers Comedy Hour —“A stunningly alive portrait of the 1960s and of two very different men who ‘refused to shut up’ and thereby made TV history” (People).

A dramatic behind-the-scenes look at the rise and fall of The Smothers Brothers Comedy

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Dangerously Funny: The Uncensored Story of "The Smothers Brothers Comedy Hour" 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 25 reviews.
dmglaeser More than 1 year ago
The Smothers Brothers were history makers in the field of television and entertainment. They broke a lot of ground and yet offended nobody . They were true brothers and entertainers . A must read for historians of the entertainment world.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Perfectly Wonderful . . . and Wonderfully *almost* Perfect book. However, Dion *did not* compost "Abraham, Martin, and John" as credited in the book. The song was written by my friend 'Dick Holler' who is somewhere on Planet Earth still spending royalties. The Smothers Brothers Comedy Hour got me through the Army [being on of those draftees in '67] Laugh-In, also. Sanity through Insanity - Wonderful . . ! Read the Book - then do it again - then buy it for an equally-drafted buddy.
vickx1 More than 1 year ago
Don't know if I would recommend the book to people who don't know the Smothers Brothers. The Author does cover the era which I think fans would already know. I think he also exaggerates the importance of the brothers' show. Still, I learned quite a bit of things about the brothers by reading the book.
harstan More than 1 year ago
Although the biography primarily focuses on the famous TV show that nuked the then boundaries of television, there is more to this solid look at this groundbreaking show. David Bianculli opens with a section on the childhood and early steps of the brothers entering the entertainment world until their key appearance on the Jack Paar show. However, it is the deep look into each show and the battles with CBS and with other members of the show over what can be said or used on the air that makes this a fascinating biography. Finally the ultimate tribute to Tom and Dick Smothers besides bios like this one is how far they opened TV with current satire that tore into the establishment. The show was killed in its third season in 1969, but Mr. Bianculli makes a strong case that its influence remains stratospheric today in Stewart, Colbert and Maher. Harriet Klausner
anonymousHH More than 1 year ago
I like the Smothers Brothers and have always wished for a biography on them and here it is. I have been reading hard stuff lately and needed a break from that and this was a fun book to read. The author does give us some childhood background and also some very honest interspection coming from the brothers themselves which revealed some surprises which I will let you find out for yourselves. I already own seasons 2 and 3 and enjoyed reading about the back stage stuff that goes along with them. Have fun!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
What does it meen in the title when it says "uncesored"? ':- |
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Bianculli does an excellent job detailing the history of the comedy duo who blazed a trail for live televised comedy as we know it today.
billLH More than 1 year ago
I bought this book quite some time ago, but i can;t get to download to my pandigital reader for some reason, I also tried with cp, but still it won;t come in,
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
One word:LAME