×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Daniel Isn't Talking
  • Alternative view 1 of Daniel Isn't Talking
  • Alternative view 2 of Daniel Isn't Talking
     

Daniel Isn't Talking

3.8 18
by Marti Leimbach
 

See All Formats & Editions

Melanie Marsh is an American living in London with her British husband, Stephen, and their two young children. The Marshes’ orderly home life is shattered when their son Daniel is given a devastating diagnosis. Resourceful and determined not to acceptt what others, including her husband, say is inevitable, Melanie finds an ally in the idealistic Andy, whose

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Daniel Isn't Talking 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 18 reviews.
sdskier More than 1 year ago
The author obviously researched autism. The descriptions of the child with autism were accurate and believable. The emotions the parents expressed were also realistic.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Was a great inside look into a family with a Autistic child.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is an okay story. I just I wish I had known it was fiction. There are so many inspiring true stories, why bother with fiction?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
joyryan More than 1 year ago
I am the mother of an autistic son and was feeling very alone and isolated. When I read "Daniel Isn't Talking" I felt like I was reading my own life story. It is so beautifully written and tells such a true and realistic story of a family who is dealing with the reality of raising a child with autism. It was real and heartwarming. I would STRONGLY recommend it to any mother who is struggling with her feelings of having a child on the autistic spectrum. It will help you to realize that you are not alone in this and your feelings are real and valid. I have also given this book as a gift to anyone in my life who I wanted to understand me, my son and my situation a little bit better. I have also given it to all of my son's wonderful teachers so that they are able to see the situation from the mother's perspective.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
Daniel isn¿t talking , Melanie and Stephen have two children Emily who is fore years old and Daniel who is three years old who likes to play and is full of joy. Daniel on the other hand cries uncontrolled and is not cooperative. Living off biscuits and sweets. By the age of three he still hasn¿t spoken. Melanie very nervous and scared about Daniels behavior. Her husband Stephan believes that Melanie protects and is over reacting about Daniel. Melanie believes Daniel has a serious problem, and Daniels doctor diagnoses him with autism, Melanie is crushed. She thought by the age of three there would have been more warning signs and that he would have been diagnosed at birth .He husband wants to send Daniel to a special school with other children like him. Melanie believes that he is better off at home. and Melanie Stephan become distant and argue a lot. Melanie has to accept the fact that Daniel will never be the same as children his age, unable to do things like feeding and dressing himself. As you read ¿Daniel isn¿t talking¿ you will think to your self what would I do in Melanie position? I would recommend reading Daniel isn¿t talking if you have or know a child with autism, also if you are interested in family life.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I am getting my degree in special education and after reading this book and the one by Jenny McCarthy I know I picked the right field. Parents like these who are willing to do and try anything to save there children have a space waiting for them in heaven.
Guest More than 1 year ago
If you love children or are a parent, you will be touched by this book. I cried at the struggles and pains Melanie faced. My children aren't autistic, but this book touched me. I think any mother of an autistic child will especially be touched too.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I read this book in one day. I could not put it down and found myself reading it while eating, loading the dishwasher, and yes, vacuuming! It is written with tenderness and compassion, humor and great sensitivity. I am not the mother of an autistic child, but I share the author's wonderful insights to motherhood. She put into words what I have felt. A beautiful book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
THIS NOVEL IS SIMPLY TOUCHING!WHEN YOU FINISH READING THIS NOVEL YOU WILL LOVE DANIEL&HIS HIS CARING FAMILY!THIS IS A NOVEL THAT WILL STAY IN YOUR HEART LONG AFTER YOU FINISH READING IT!
Guest More than 1 year ago
A wonderful novel full of hope, laughter and love. You cannot put the book down and you cannot stop yourself from becoming thoroughly involved in its cast of unusual and totally real characters. It is intimate, imaginative, incredibly sad in places but overwhelmingly positive in its message about the power of love over even the most chilling of situations. I particularly liked Melanie's lover (though her husband was awful) and her best friend, Veena, who probably deserves her own novel, too! A thoroughly engrossing, powerful novel -- I recommend it very highly!