×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Dark Enquiry
     

The Dark Enquiry

4.3 52
by Deanna Raybourn
 

See All Formats & Editions

Recapture the Victorian mystery and magic of Lady Julia Gray with book 5 in Deanna Raybourn's fan-favorite series

Partners now in marriage and in trade, Lady Julia and Nicholas Brisbane have finally returned from abroad to set up housekeeping in London. But merging their respective collections of gadgets, pets and servants leaves

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Dark Enquiry (Lady Julia Grey Series #5) 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 51 reviews.
LadyHester More than 1 year ago
Julia and Brisbane are a mesmerizing and unusual couple. This series stays fresh and unique with every book.
Patito02 More than 1 year ago
The plot is not as complex as other Lady Julia books and the ending seemed rushed as though the author got to a pre- determined number of words/pages and ended the book. The end of the book came out of left field and made me wonder if I had somehow skipped a chapter or two. However it was a nice summer read and a visit with "old friends" is always pleasant. Hopefully the next book in this series will resume the complex plots and the character development that I have come to appreciate.
curlsz More than 1 year ago
#5 in Raybourn's series did not disappoint! Though in my opinion the mystery itself was a bit less enthralling than some of the other books, that did not take away from my enjoyment one bit. In fact, in this one the personal story of Brisbane is much stronger than some of the others and of course the growth and trials of their relationship are fantastic. And as always the eccentric March family and Julia's pets always add to the fun.
csingh More than 1 year ago
Lady Julia Brisbane and her husband Nicholas Brisbane are at it again! Brisbane is working on a new case and it involves the oldest March sibling, Lord Bellmont. He's gotten himself into some trouble and has come to Brisbane to demand his help. Julia is unaware until she spots them together and Brisbane tries to pack her off to the country. She disguises herself as a man and follows him to the Spiritual Club where she watches the medium at the seance die. Blackmail, more murder, and espionage are added to the mix to make it a very suspenseful and enjoyable read. It's the fifth book in the Lady Julia Grey series and it does not disappoint. You would think that the series would become slightly repetitive and stale, yet Ms. Raybourn has done a great job at keeping it fresh. There are some fantastic twists in this book. You never see them coming! Plus I feel there is more humor in this book. I found myself chuckling out loud at times. And the chemistry between Brisbane and Lady Julia is still quite explosive. Besides laughing, I also found my self getting slightly emotional. Plus by the way the book ended, there is surely a sixth Lady Julia book in the making. I am looking forward to finding out what new adventures and cases the two will face next!
LASR_Reviews More than 1 year ago
A spunky, irrepressible heroine and a Sherlock Holmes-ian hero make this Victorian mystery delightful. Julia Grey Brisbane wants nothing more than to be a full partner in her husband's life and that means full partner in his private enquiry business. To achieve that goal she studies emerging technologies-like flash gun powder and photography-and takes risks that seem very foolish and unnecessary at times. Past experiences have proven that she is not invincible but have not dimmed her enthusiasm. I am uncertain if she doesn't realize the extent of the risks she takes or if she relies too heavily on her luck, position in society, and very talented husband to get her out of the scrapes she gets into. There are moments I wanted to shake some sense into her-a sentiment shared by her husband Nicholas Brisbane. Still, she's quite amusing at times. Brisbane is what Sherlock Holmes might have been if he'd had a few more social skills and time for women. To quote Winston Churchill out of context, Brisband "is a riddle, wrapped in a mystery, inside an enigma..." In a word: fascinating. I'd read this story just to find out more about him. I don't blame Julia a bit for falling in love with him or for doing everything in her power to weave herself into the fabric of his life. Even if some of the things she does make both the reader and Brisbane shake their heads. The plot is filled with nice twists and turns, humorous and exciting in turn. Unfortunately, it lags a bit in between plot points. The story could have benefitted from condensing the time frame and eliminating downtime. Still, it was a fun read and the characters are compelling enough that if you haven't read the previous four Julia Grey Novels you'll want to. That said: The Dark Enquiry easily stands alone. I was five pages into it before I realized I'd read Ms. Raybourn's first installment. Now, I'll be getting the rest of them. Who knew reviewing books would be so expensive? Originally posted at The Long and Short of It Romance Reviews
harstan More than 1 year ago
After taking the Dark Road to Darjeeling, Nicholas Brisbane and Lady Julia Grey marry in London. Whereas she wants to be his detecting partner, he wants her safe. However, he knows he must walk carefully or his brave wife will hang up a detective shingle of her own. Julia's prim and proper sibling Lord Bellmont hires his new brother-in-law to help him with a mess that he demands a pledge of silence from Nicholas. Julia knows her sibling is in trouble and will not sit on the sidelines. The inquiry leads to Madame Seraphine at the Ghost Club and from there into the newspapers. As the newlyweds argue over Lady Julia's role, the Brisbane pair and their client are in trouble as someone begins to kill to keep a dark secret hidden. The latest Lady Grey now Brisbane late Victorian mystery (see Silent in the Sanctuary, Silent on the Moor) is a fascinating tale that breaks gender lines for that time and place. The story line starts a bit slow as the heroine pontificates, but once her brother seeks assistance, the plot accelerates into a fast-paced action-packed historical thriller as the case turns deadly. Readers will enjoy the merging of detecting properly as the two sleuths in love work on their dysfunctional professional relationship which impacts their personal relationship. Harriet Klausner
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It's that good. I will purchase any book she puts out. Please do more Lady Julia after your vacation. Read all of them and they all rate five plus. Thank you for the great reads.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love these stories staring Lady Grey. I wish i had read the first story that introduced her first, because i could have seen her evolution. Unfortunately i started inthe middle.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The quality of this series has held up so well. I find myself still interested in the heroin as well as her adventures and family. The book is a quick and enjoyable read and I highly recommend it.
VisionaryMaverick More than 1 year ago
I particularly enjoyed the development of Brisbane's character in this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really enjoy this series with the sense of humor and love between the characters.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago