×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Dark Highlander (Highlander Series #5)
     

The Dark Highlander (Highlander Series #5)

4.6 785
by Karen Marie Moning
 

See All Formats & Editions

Journey to a world of ancient magic, breathtaking sensuality, thrilling time-travel.... Journey to the world of The Dark Highlander. Crisscrossing the continents and the centuries, here is a novel as gripping as it is sensual—an electrifying adventure that will leave you breathless....

I am Dageus MacKeltar, a man with one good conscience and

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Dark Highlander (Highlander Series #5) 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 785 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read a lot. Paranormal romance is my preferance. This is definitely my favorite book of all I've read.
Dageus MacKeltar is an amazingly compelling character. He'll do anything for those he loves. And he pays for that dearly by saving his twin brother. A twin by the way that he'd already lost to an enchanted sleep. Determined that Drustan will make it to the future and his wife Gwen he uses the stones to go back and save Drustan from the fire that kills him and in the process Dageus is taken over by the Draghar.
And how could Chloe resist him? He's gorgeous, intelligent, attentive and dotes her. Thanks to 13 evil druids living within him he keeps himself on a very tight leash. With everyone except Chloe. Imagine being the one that can shatter that control. "There was a time, long ago in Scotland, when a man would select the finest from his trencher and feed his woman...Only after he'd sated her desires-fully and completely-did he sate his own." That line melts me every time. Of course, it had me at 'long ago in Scotland'.
Some of the reviewers called Dageus arrogant. Perhaps. He's a product of his time. Others don't understand why he and Chloe are together. Try to follow along with us people. The concept of one true mate is a recurring theme in these books and the genre in general. It isn't really that hard to grasp.
I go back to this series over and over again. The Dark Highlander never fails to be my favorite.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is may favorite Highlander book. Actually it is one of my favorite books period. It has an amazing story to it. Way above the old 'I've had a tough life and I don't trust anyone' kind of mentality that so many romance novels have (yawn). Dageus couldn't be any hotter and Chloe is adorable. A definate reread! This was the first of the series that I read. And because of this book, I have read all of the others as well.
harstan More than 1 year ago
Druid mage Daegus MacKeltar used his powers to travel back in time to save the life of his twin brother Drustan (see TO KISS A HIGHLANDER). However, Daegus pays a high price for his good deed as he released the spirits of thirteen evil Druids that share residency with him in his body. Desperate to re-incarcerate these malevolent beings, Daegus steals ancient Celtic texts in search of the spell that will do this. The Manhattan press dubs the thief the ¿Gaulish Ghost¿. Medieval expert Chloe Zanders is shocked to learn that a curator of the Cloisters collection wants her to deliver a five century old reprint of the third book of Mannannan to some private collector who has provided artifact donations in exchange for reading the text. A wary Chloe delivers the book to Daegus, who recognizes his soul mate has arrived. Holding her prisoner, Daegus and Chloe travel to Scotland where he hopes to free his soul by imprisoning the Druids and to persuade her that they belong together through time and space. This sequel is a great romantic fantasy that should provide Karen Marie Moning with a loyal cross genre audience awaiting her next book. The story line is action-packed, filled with tension, and never slows down even when the lead heroes debate their fate and attraction. The good vs. evil battle will hook fantasy readers with its feel of authenticity even with magic, incantations, and otherworldly demons. Ms. Moning seems heading to the read realm of greatness with THE DARK HIGHLANDER proving she is one of the best writers on the market today. Harriet Klausner
Guest More than 1 year ago
This has to be the most sensual and memorable romance that I've ever read! Dageus MacKelter is beyond hot and makes me wish for a highlander everytime I remember how darkly sensual he is. If you've never read a romance before this then don't miss the chance to read this book.
beergoddess3 More than 1 year ago
read the first book and was hooked. Purchased the series the next day. Moning has incredible talent, her highland series makes u wanna call your travel agent, and skoot off to scotland.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I love this book...i've read all of the highlander books but this one is favorite out of all them..i just fell in love with the characters...def. recommended..its a great read!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I LOVED every moment of it. KMM has an extraordinary ability to mix the right amount of blazing passion, historical intreage, and humorous antics to make a book not just a book, but an experience!
Guest More than 1 year ago
So well written and so enthralling in every way with humor sensuality and a fantastic story line to make it all coalesse in a way you will be thinking about the characters for days to come!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I read 'Kiss of a Highlander' and I fell in love. I read 'Dark Highlander' and now I've fallen head over heals. Another late-nighter, it rocked my world, and if I could I'd be buried with them both. Her writing is incredible, and that's putting it mildly. MUST READ BOOK!!!!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Really loved this book. It was almost like I was taken back in time too!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I'm so glad that the story continued from the 4th book of the Highlander Series. Dageus character is every girl's fantasy come to life in each word. Dangerous, Seductive and Loving. Could not stop reading!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Ahhh Daegus! This is my favorite of the Highlander series. Sexy all around. Karen Marie Moning is one of the best in writing about mighty Highlanders. You won't be disappointed in reading all about Daegus or Drustin or Adam or Chrisitan.
silverfoxPA More than 1 year ago
If you love the highlander series this is a must read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Love getting the story of the other twin! KMM has done it again.....taken me to another world & held me captive to the end.
lbassin More than 1 year ago
I love this book. I like how it was closely tied to the one before in the series. I also like how it sets up the next book. I am just starting to read that one. I have really enjoyed all the books in this series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved it
TrueBlood2009 More than 1 year ago
Having read all of Karen Marie Moning's "Fever" series, I was a little reluctant to read her books that were in a historical setting. I started reading the series with "Dark Highlander". It is the fifth book in what I think is a 7 book series thus far. I usually like reading her books in the order they were written, but it was a great book in itself and written so that you knew everything without reading all the other books. I do however intend to read the other books in the series because I liked this book and I liked the characters. It was a very exciting read and held my interest to the very surprising end.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I truely loved the way this book was written. The relationships held a strong bond, which spoke of deep enduring commitment . I love the way the 16 th century was connected to present time.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I will always love this book. Karen kept me interested and guessing throughout! Great storytelling!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A great part of the series. I love KMM's highlanders.
Alaskan_romantic More than 1 year ago
Wow! This book went by quick! I loved it! This is the 5th book in the series, but I think this one was my favorite so far. I couldn't put it down. The way Moning describes the characters and the events, it's like I can see them clearly. I found myself on the edge of my seat half the time waiting for the next page and was very disappointed there weren't any more pages when I was finished. I love reading books about time travel and magic of any type, add a super hot guy in there and it's the perfect book to escape life's daily routine. Kick back and enjoy this one!
CGardien More than 1 year ago
I really love this book. I could read it over and over again! I really think Moning makes the characters real and this book is no exception. I highly recommend this book to all romance addicts like me!
love-to-readtb More than 1 year ago
This is my favorite Highlander's book yet. It gets very intense in some parts. The Dark Highlander made me laugh and cry. This book has time travel, immortality, romace, suspense, very sexy characters, drama and more romance. Daegus is dark, suspenseful, caring and very HOT!! Chloe is strong, brave and trustworthy. The Author done a wonderful job writing the Dark Highlander as well as the rest of the Highlander series. She incorporates so many things into her books that she takes the reader on a journey full of passion and romance right from the very beginning. She knows how to keep your attention through the entire book. I could not put this one down. If you love a sexy romance that is a page turner, then I would definitely recommend this one!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This my All-Time favorite KMM book! The Dark Highlander is much more dark and sensual than her other highlander books. Dageus MacKeltar is possesed by thirteen Evil Druids known as the Draghar. They are slowly taking over his soul and the only way to keep them at bay is plucky chloe and her love for the Seductive Dark Highlander
Guest More than 1 year ago
This was my first time ever reading a highlander book, and I must say I absolutely loved it, it made me believe in true love, and finding a soul mate, thoughts I had long given up. This is definately one of my favorite books, and I will be on the lookout for more highlander books