×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Dark Lady
     

Dark Lady

3.8 38
by Richard North Patterson
 

See All Formats & Editions

Once the prosecutor was a young law student. Once the dead man was an honest lawyer. Now Stella Marz stares at the body of her former lover, hanging from a doorway in a gruesome tableau.

For Stella Marz, the search for Jack Novak's killer leads into another bizarre homicide case, back through her own past and through the city where she was born and where now--a good

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

3.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 30 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The young shecat watched the clan through the bushes, her eyes flickering nervously. She had just escaped from Bloodclan and was a bit too aware that their scent was still on her. She moved a bit to the left to see the leader, but instead a thorn jammed into her pelt. "Eep!" She blurted and fell face first in the clearing.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
She stares, bewildered, at RainFall. She decided to make her announcement, then deal with her. "Yesterday, ThunderPaw joined us. She does not have a mentor, so Imperialecho will be her mentor." She bounds down and motions to RainFall. "C'mon. Camp is res 2."
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Lookes at Rustkit and lets out a welcoming meow.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
((There.))
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
She padded there.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The Silver and black cat asked
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
"Eaglepaw! Eaglepaw! Eaglepaw!"
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
(Ikr.) nods again.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
sunshine33CA More than 1 year ago
really enjoyed all previous books by this author , this one ,Ijust could not get into.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
I thought the book was a little on the boring side. I was hoping after the first 20 some pages that it would become interesting this didn't happen. At times it held my attention, and I didn't want to put it down, but most of the time I didn't really want to pick it up to continue. It had a good story and plot, but the problem was it went on too long and became boring.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The book over all was ok, just through the middle parts tended to tire. Specific details got in the way of what was actually taking place. It also didn't have the best ending, very preditable
Guest More than 1 year ago
I loved this book! ¿ Transported me into my own private film noir! My having grown up near Cleveland made it all the more intriguing! Stella Marz could have been a number of people I grew up with - including me! Thankfully I will never have to go through what she did in this book- or see what she saw! The characterizations were so real ¿ gritty, shocking, heartbreaking. I literally could not stop reading it. Most pathetic ¿ the journey of Arthur Bright ¿ how sad. I think this would make a great movie.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Too complex,,,,dialogue drug on and on and on, characters lacked something.....couldn't care less by the time I got toward the end. Did not enjoy this book at all!!! It felt flat and boring!!!!!!!! sorry Mr. Patterson!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book grabbed me and held my attention from the first 20 pages. It's a big, complex story that has fascinating insights on politics and urban finance; psychology; and crime investigations. The character of Stella is intriguing. The other cops were a little shallow. I liked Moro as he loomed over the book like a dark cloud. I usually don't like stories that jump back and forth from flashbacks to the present, but this one worked (I did get confused about Michael v. Jack Novak at times). Also Patterson works a great story almost exclusively through dialogue, which is difficult to do. Although we know the murderer, and the outcome, the noose keeps getting tighter until the very end. Absolutely loved it, my first RNP and I can't wait to read others by RNP.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I really hoped this book would get better towards the end. But the suprises were to predictable. They just didn't creep up on you. They all appealed to the sense of sight. And I don't think this would make a bad movie. I haven't read any other RNP and this book makes me not want to. The end also is dissappointing.
Guest More than 1 year ago
As usual, Patterson takes on a necessary but unconventional issue, leaving the reader exhausted but the better for it. Not for the weak-hearted or puritanical, Dark Lady is a must-read for the rest of us.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I've been an avid RNP fan and have excitedly awaited each new book - until now. I found this to be a cold, dark disappointment. Poor character development and an overall feeling of hopelessness, combined with annoying one-syllable character surnames and boring interjections of ethnic background-building were enough to make me skim through almost to the end, which I've never done with previous RNP books. Hopefully this isn't going to prove to be a trend with Patterson, after so many wonderful, thrilling successes under his belt!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I've read all of RNP's books since the beginning and have thought they were all great novels, intriguing and able to keep me entranced until the last page was reached. DARK LADY took all my strength to try and finish after just the 1st chaper. The subplots got too thick and too lost in the action. It seemed like he was just flipping back and forth rather than focusing on his main character of Stella. This one's up to you - I personally wouldn't endorse it too highly.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I have enjoyed all other Richard North Patterson books but i really did not care about characters or subject of this book. Struggled to end but would not recommend it
Guest More than 1 year ago
Once again, Patterson has visited a character first developed as a secondary character in a previous novel (in this case Silent Witness). And once again, he delivers a compelling tale in which things are not what they seem. If you've enjoyed Patterson's previous endeveours, grab this one off the shelf.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
May i join?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Cool but gtgtb ttyl~Heronsoul