×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Dark Lord of Derkholm (Derkholm Series #1)
     

Dark Lord of Derkholm (Derkholm Series #1)

4.8 36
by Diana Wynne Jones
 

See All Formats & Editions

Mr. Chesney operates Pilgrim Parties, a tour group that takes paying participants into an outer realm where the inhabitants play frightening and foreboding roles. The time has come to end the staged madness . . . but can it really be stopped? Master storyteller Diana Wynne Jones serves up twists and turns, introduces Querida, Derk, Blade, and Shona and a remarkable

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Dark Lord of Derkholm (Derkholm Series #1) 4.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 36 reviews.
Jolliday More than 1 year ago
What if there was actually a world where fantasy adventures happened? What if they were only put on for the benefit of people from our world? What if the people from that world were made to do the pretend adventures by someone from our world? What if the people from the magical world got sick of it all? This book answers all of these questions and more in a wonderful story based around something you don't see in a lot of fantasy novels: a family. I bought this book after I'd read it from the library for years. I look forward to visiting it over and over again--it's one of my firm favorites.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The Dark Lord of Derkholm is set in a fantasy world whose inhabitants have been pressured into signing a contract that forces them to conduct D&D style tours for folks from OUR world. You can just imagine the opportunities for chaos and humor that ensue.....! This book is full of memorable characters drawn with a few effortless brush strokes, tongue-in-cheek yet affectionate jabs at Tolkien and D&D fans, and a clever plot told in vivid prose. The style and wit of this story put me in mind of the Doctor Who stories written by Douglas Adams, and for a weekend read, it doesn't get any better than that!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Confession: I have been waiting for the Harry Potter book to come out forever. But I must say that since I was forced to find substitutes I have come across some of the best books ever written. Fantasy has never gotten the credit it deserves and this is an author who has several exceptional works. This is not my favorite, that title goes to The Lives of Christopher Chant but this is probably my second favorite. I'm rereading this book for the first time in over a year and I forgot how much I truely enjoyed it. This author has tons of books that are equal to almost any fantasy book I've ever read. I'd recommend this book one hundred times over.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Moonshadow~I tjink you are A BATMAN COPY CAT!!!! 3 AND A HALF STARS!!!<P> Critickid~A good start. Work on grammar and punctuation. Where is your other story, by the way? Four stars.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Scary. It's good, but scay.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I haven't read the other story, but this is cool! :3
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Never read the other story (finally finding time to do something other than hw) but this seems very interesting so far!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have so many fond memories of this book. It is funny, dramatic, and incredibly well written. It is, however very much aimed at teenagers, not adults.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Dark lord of derkholmis awesome
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
White_Bear More than 1 year ago
I just finished reading this book so I wanted to write a review before I forgot any of it, not that I ever will! I fell in love with this strange family and their magical world. This book had me laughing out loud one minute and practically in tears the next. But don't worry, you'll be laughing again by the end!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
Derk is the main character and he is the Dark Lord of Derkholm. People pay to take tours of Derk's world. Some people in Derk's world want the tours to stop, but others want them to continue. Read to find out what happens. My opinion is that this is a book that most people will like if you like reading about magic, different worlds and the old times. If you read fantasy books, you would like this book. So, I recomended it to all the fantasy book readers out there.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This was a little confusing at first, but once you got into it, it was very funny and entertaining. The laugh out loud part for me was when no one wanted to push the wizard into the moat so he jumped in by himself.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I read A LOT! And something I've realized is... I read because of books that I can't put down. something different, and excellent about this book is it isn't leading up to one bif adventure. Throughout, different things are thrown at you. As one mishap is dealt with another appears. It goes on, and suddenly they are all linked together. This book is excellent!
Guest More than 1 year ago
this is an outstanding book I'am a high school student so most of my free time is used for music, video games, and hanging around my firends so its rare that I pick up a book that I'am not forced to read but this book was so great I was even spending my lunch hour reading it free time in class I spent reading it I was reading about 100 pages a day so it did not last too long but the book was so great I was sad to finish it knowing there was nothing more to be said I took the book back to thew libary but to my surpirse I want to read it again so I will be checking it out soon but it was weird when I first found the book on one of the back shelfs in the libary I was looking for a drawing book but they were all gone as always so I looked for some fantasy I found the book and I checked it on the school computer to learn we only had one copy at first I was a little confused with the story but as it went on I started to love it after every event from meeting the old dragon to learning he was the dragon king also learning the about the demon only derk could summon to finding out he was the demon king I loved the story I was hooked like a fish to bait it was outstanding the first time I was reading it this time it should be better to tell the truth I wish there was a second half to the story
Guest More than 1 year ago
I got this book after looking at all the good things people said about it on this website. I think everyone who reviewed it was absolutely right! I like books about animals and fantasy, and this book managed to tell a story about both. I REALLY LIKED THE GRIFFINS!! (Kit, Callette, Don, Lydda, and Elda) Griffins have always been one of my favorite fantasy creatures. Dragons too.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I read this book (Library book), and I finished it a few days after I ot it! It was so good and enthralling that I could stand outside in the freezing cold and not notice anything! (Which I did). I really enjoyed this book, and I hope to read The Year of the Griffin soon! (Callette was the coolest of the Griffins!!!)
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is one of the best books I've every read from this author. Its really captivating and the characters are 'different' but in a good way. I hope to read her next book the Year of the Griffin.