×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Dark Passion Play
     

Dark Passion Play

4.5 20
by Nightwish
 

See All Formats & Editions

Judging from the way Dark Passion Play starts out, it's understandable to assume that it's some sort of opera aria. But hold tight, dear friends, because from out of nowhere metal guitar riffs come swooping in. That's Nightwish for ya -- a Finnish quintet that had been walking the line between symphonic and metallic for ten years by

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Dark Passion Play 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 20 reviews.
OrionTheCallOfKtulu More than 1 year ago
this new album dark passion play is awesome i have only thing against this album and its the new female singer shes not as good as tarja who was the heart and soul of the band anete brings nothing new to this band shes a terrible singer in my opinon she is
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
CliffBurtonReturns More than 1 year ago
amazing from begining to end!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Lishka More than 1 year ago
I love this album. Nightwish is a nice blend of orchestral, and rock music. Very innovative. Love it!!
Heavy_Metal_Sushi More than 1 year ago
This is an amazing CD! Amazing group for that matter! I had heard my room mate talking about these guys a while back, and I was just thinking about that recently, and decided that I would go ahead and check something out by them. I wound up getting this album for only about $10, and I must say...it's more than worth even the $10 I spent on it! The music is awesome, and it's lengthy too...over an hour long. It took me more than half hour just to get through 5 songs, and there are 13 total on this album. The group is female-fronted, but also has a male voice and some choir stuff thrown in here and there as well. There are heavier points and lighter points in the album, and there is also some great orchestral and guitar work in this album, and even some operatic moments in it as well, and the whole things fused all together makes up for one kick@$$ listen! If you are into the whole Goth rock scene at all and are not familiar with these guys or just are into checking out cool new & unique artists like me, then definitely check these guys out! I, for one, will be looking into more by these guys!
T_Booth More than 1 year ago
Stop whining about Tarja, she was nothing but a draw back to the band. Anette has an amazing voice, and even better... she's beautiful!
ButterFreeGodzilla4Life More than 1 year ago
anette destroyed this band forever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
when i heard tarja was getting replaced i thought and said to myself its going to be very hard for a person to fill tarjas spot in nightwish anetta was the replacement and im now happy for both tarja and nightwish this album is very differnt from their first 5 studio albums its more well balanced now since tarjas no longer in nightwish this band is just amazing just simply amazing i love both anetta and tarja my favorite songs on this album are bye bye beauitful the islander 7 days of wolves tpatp amaranth all the songs on this album are just amazing this whole band is amazing
Guest More than 1 year ago
I have all of Nightwish's albums and have been a huge fan for years, and when I heard that Tarja was being replaced, I did not think that it was possible. However, Anette has an amazing voice and sounds better with Marco's. Tarja used to overpower him and now it is a more balanced band. Anette haters can go buy Tarja's new album. Favorite songs on DPP: The Poet and the Pendulum, Sahara, Master Passion Greed, 7 Days to the Wolves, The Islander, and Last of the Wilds.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
one very talented band one very amazing album one very awesome new lead singer anetta = amazing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I found this CD so great! I found this band after getting really into this type of music with a virtual unknown in the US called Within Temptation. I heard about Nightwish and listen to 3 songs and was in love! I bought this CD and I adore it! I love EVERY song! The Poet and the Pendelum is so great! This whole CD is great!
Guest More than 1 year ago
After listening to the new material and going to a couple of the new concerts IM glady to report that this band still breaks records delivering high quality rocking songs I miss tarja as many of the die hard nightwish fans but Toumas made an outstanding job adjusting to Annete's voice ...LOVE THE MUSIC...not really thrill for the voice but Annettes personality matches the band and having a healthy relationship always helps!...REMEMEBER U CANT NEVER HAVE ALL YOU WANT...NIghtwish's soul is Toumas after all. CHECK TARja's new songs they lack of music and lyrics...maybe someday they will perform together..I HOPE...
Guest More than 1 year ago
I love the songs but get rid of Anette she does not do the band any favors in my opinion. They should have hired another singer with that had a similar voice like Tarja's.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago