×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Dark Summer
     

Dark Summer

4.0 49
by Iris Johansen
 

See All Formats & Editions

Devon Brady is a devoted veterinarian working in a makeshift hospital on a remote search and rescue mission. When a man arrives with his wounded black Lab named Ned, Devon has no idea that she's about to be plunged into a whirlwind of terror and destruction…

Jude Marrock is out for revenge—and he has no choice but to involve Devon in a high-stakes cat

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Dark Summer 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 47 reviews.
dhaupt More than 1 year ago
Ms. Johansen gives us another great read, this one stars Jude Marrok an ex Navy Seal and Devon Brady vet and search and resue volunteer. We find both Devon and Judy in the remote villages of Santa Maria on a search and rescue mission when Jude's dog Ned gets shot, he leaves the dog with Devon with instructions that he will retrieve the dog in a few days. Well by the time Jude comes to pick up Ned all hell is breaking loose around Devon and she has no idea why. That's when the roller coaster starts and we'll get off the ride when you turn the last page. It's an incredible read with enough romance to keep the windows steamed, enough mystery to keep you on the edge of your seat and just enough of the woo woo Iris is famous for to keep it all interesting.
Jennifer2009 More than 1 year ago
My Sister left this book at my house after a visit she made. She had already finished reading it. I had never read anything by Iris Johansen previously. I picked it up and was hooked. I think she has become another "favorite" author of mine. I enjoyed the story line from begining to end.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Six days ago the 7.5 earthquake devastated several villages on Santa Marina Island in the Caribbean. Former Navy SEAL Jude Marrok and his dog Ned are part of the Red Cross rescue effort hoping to find survivors. However, whereas Jude has given up in this small hamlet, Ned keeps searching when someone starts shooting at them Ned is hit. Jude vows to find the sniper and rip out his or her heart after he takes his canine buddy to the rescue effort veterinarian Dr. Devon Brady. --- Kingston reports to his superior Raymond Danner informing him he shot the dog, but Jude is unharmed. Raymond warns him to kill both or else Kingston knows hunting the SEAL is safer --- Jude brings Ned to Devon ordering her to fix his dog before vanishing like a magician. The note he left her says he will come for Ned as soon as he can. Devon and Ned return to her home in Colorado where his Caribbean caper follows Ned there. Jude arrives to protect his buddy, one of the ¿Dogs of Summer¿ while Danner and his business associates use her as a target to get to him. --- Although over the top of the Pike¿s Peak and overloaded with too many angles, fans of Iris Johanson will enjoy her latest due to the gender war between the battling buddies of Ned. The story line is fast-paced and loaded with non-stop action even as the various prime support cast groups at times seem overwhelming for the reader and Marrok to handle. Still, with Ned matchmaking and refereeing, DARK SUMMER is a fun read. --- Harriet Klausner
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love all of her books! She keeps the reader engaged with all the action.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Reviews-ReadersFavorite More than 1 year ago
Reviewed by Dianne C. for Readers Favorite What would you do if you had a secret...a secret that could help you and animals alike live a long healthy life? Would you be willing to share it, or guard it with your very life? This is what Jude Marrock is out to do...protect it with his very life if necessary! But this secret is locked up in his 4 dogs, which several sinister people are very interested in. Marrock tries his best to stay hidden, but a natural disaster brings Marrock, who is normally a loner, in direct contact with a veterinarian named Devon Brady. Devon and Marrock have totally different personalities, and sometimes they clash. Will they become allies to overcome their mutual enemies? The situation is dangerous for both Marrock and Devon who is very unaware that this meeting will change her life forever! This book is only the second I have read by Iris Johansen, and I must say I really enjoyed this story. The book is very fast paced, mysterious, riveting, and exciting. I didn't want to put it down. It was well-written; the characters very believably human. You could not help but to root for Devon and Marrock to come out on top! Animals and humans alike are fighting for their lives in this story, and you have to wonder: are the secrets Devon and Marrock trying to protect worth the danger they are putting themselves in? You actually feel like you are in the story with them!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
taurusmoon More than 1 year ago
Of all the Iris Johansen books I've read, Dark Summer has been the weakest. The relationship the author was trying to create between vet Devon Brady and revenge seeking Jude Marrock seemed too forced and unnatural. Honestly, I can't say that I enjoyed either of their characters. She did have elements in the story that I did enjoy, but those were left in the background and when they did come to light, passed too quickly for my taste. I didn't feel that I wasted my time reading this book. I was entertained and I did like some of the secondary characters. From the way the story ended I get the impression that Johansen intended for the book to be the first of a series. Which I can totally see, because there's questions left at the conclusion. All in all, it was a decent read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago