×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Dark Water Rising
     

Dark Water Rising

4.4 30
by Marian Hale
 

See All Formats & Editions

I looked and saw water rushing in from Galveston Bay on one side and from the gulf on the other. The two seas met in the middle of Broadway, swirling over the wooden paving blocks, and I couldn't help but shudder at the sight. All of Galveston appeared to be under water.

Galveston, Texas, may be the booming city of the brand-new twentieth century, but to

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Dark Water Rising 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 30 reviews.
MightyB More than 1 year ago
This book is great. At first I was not interested, but I continued to read and I realized I couldn't put it down. It turns out being a little sad. I realized though that life is life and it always has some reason whether it means death or surving in a floating house. This is an action book. This book takes place in Galveston, Texasin the twentieth centry. A boy named Seth wants to be a carpender, but his father disagree's. His father wants him to go to a good college to get a good job. Soon a storm or as I would say a huricane comes and destroys everything. Only a few people and houses survive. The railway is destroyed and the people who did survive are running out of food and fresh clean water. The only smell in the air is mud and the smoke from the burning of the dead. I hope you enjoy this book as much as I do!
Guest More than 1 year ago
It is the year 1900 and sixteen year¿old Seth¿s father has moved the family to Galveston, Texas to take advantage of the building boom and for Seth to attend the local medical school. Only problem is Seth wants to follow his father and become a carpenter. After arriving in Galveston Seth reconsiders the move, as things are looking up. His Uncle Nate secures him a summer job as a carpenter he befriends a fellow carpenter, an African American named Josiah, and meets a beautiful young lady, Ella Rose. Then the unthinkable happens, the worst hurricane to ever hit Galveston strikes. Seth and Josiah are forced to take refuge with neighbors not knowing if their families are safe. After the storm passes Seth and Josiah are faced with horrifying tragedy as they work their way to Uncle Nate¿s to find their families. The story integrates fact with fiction in a way the reader can¿t separate the two. What a wonderful job of giving actual historical accounts of the destruction, hope, and rebuilding of the city of Galveston. The reader is taken through the tears, exhaustion, and the remarkable strength the people of Galveston displayed during the aftermath of such devastation. I highly recommend this book for ages 12 and up.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book has turned out to be so good
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
By far one of the best Historical Fiction books I have ever read.  Starts a little slow but then it's a can't put it down book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I thought it was a good read and i did not want to put it down
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Dove's Wing
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Yes it is a great book but it is gruesome and many parts are inapropiate
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great book . Boring at first , kept reading , AMAZING !
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
i loved this book and hope there are more books of this high level of interesting-ness. ;p great job to the author for such a captivating read!
Totavi More than 1 year ago
Pro-yes, the portion of the book detailing the story and it's aftermath make fascinating reading. The historical research and amount of detail is gripping. However, this level of detail is too much for younger kids. My school is requiring this for 7th grade but I wouldn't let my son go to a movie which contained the disturbing and graphic images of the many dead and dying. I would say it is suited to some one of the age of the main character- 16 or 17 . My other beef is that the plot elements are very thin. The characters are not interesting. Yeah, yeah yeah the main character becomes close to an African American. But it is so stock and shallow and the "I wanna be a carpenter" plot line is contrived. If the characters were inspired, then I can see it being worth wading through the carnage, but readers interested in the great storm should maybe seek out the historical accounts on which this book is based instead.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is a historical fiction about The Galveston Storm. I liked it, but its a little sad and gruesome. I have always lived near Galveston and I beleive it does not include all that it should?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
PrairieKerri More than 1 year ago
I had never heard of this book before but was at the local library searching for books to share with my kids during our unit study on hurricanes. I found this historical fiction novel in the young adults section....not having a clue if my young children would even stick with it as I read aloud. After the first chapter, my kids were literally begging me to read more...I was tired of reading aloud but couldn't hardly but it down myself. All in all it took 3 days to read through with my small children: 11, 8 and 5. I am so impressed with the author's writing and her ability to paint a picture (sometimes uncomfortably real) of the tragedy that took Galveston by surprise in 1900...
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago