×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Darker Than Midnight
     

Darker Than Midnight

4.0 11
by Maggie Shayne
 

See All Formats & Editions

MICHAEL "RIVER" CORBETT—Confined in the state mental hospital and heavily drugged since the death of his wife, River cannot remember what truly happened the night he was arrested for her murder. But now someone is trying to kill him, and he is forced to run for his life. A fugitive from the law and from someone who wants him dead, all he wants is the

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 10 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Darker Than Midnight by Maggie Shayne is a romantic mystery. The major theme of the novel is who is trying to kill Michael Corbett. Michael Corbett is a retired detective who is arrested for the murder of his wife and unborn child by burning the house down with them in it. He pleads innocent and then is put in the mental institute. He cant remember anything because of the grugs he is on in the institute. After one year he escapes and meets the cheif of police Cassandra Jackson. Cassandra Jackson is the new cheif of police the little peaceful town of Blackberry. The major conflict in the novel is figuring out who is trying to kill michael and who killed his wife and unborn kid. During all of this Cassndra Jackson and Michael Corbett started a romantic relationship. There is situational irony in this novel. Not a lot of verbal irony.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
I loved this book! Colder than Ice was my first book by this author, and I couldn't wait to read this one! I was so glad that I did! I loved it, I couldn't put it down! Great writing, can't wait to read the next one!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is the first book I've read by Maggie Shayne. I couldn't put it down! As a huge fan of murder mysteries, I found this one to be up there with the best of them. I look forward to reading more by this author.
harstan More than 1 year ago
Since he was arrested for murdering his wife, Steph, a crime he does not remember or anything else from that night, Michael 'River' Corbett has been drugged and confined to a state mental hospital. He is not sure if he is paranoid from the drugs that leave his mind fuzzy and in a fog, but River believes someone has tried to kill him. He escapes from the institution heading to Blackberry, Vermont to learn whether he killed his spouse and if not, who did............... Fourteen years ago, Cassandra 'Jax' Jackson¿s father killed the man who murdered his other daughter, but the court declared him not guilty due to diminished capacity Jax¿s police career in Syracuse died in that courtroom so she accepts a job in Blackberry. When the by the book Jax meets River she fails to take him in as something in his look makes her believe he is no killer. As they team up seeking to learn who murdered Steph, a ghost send clues to the ¿besieged¿ teenager Dawn Jones, who if she wants to be left alone, must help River and Jax................ Readers will agree from the start that River is innocent because the killer seems obvious relatively early on yet no one will put down DARKER THAN MIDNIGHT until the end to affirm their theory is correct. The who-done-it story line is enhanced by the paranormal elements as Steph tries to reach from the grave to right a wrong that she partially caused. Fans will root for the lead couples to more than just survive the twilight like Steph they want Jax and River together, but the chances of that happening seems so remote............ Harriet Klausner
Guest More than 1 year ago
As police Lieutenant Jax Jackson assumes her new job in a small town, complete with a new house, she thinks she's taking a peaceful job. However, a desperate stranger soon invades her world. Michael Corbett, or River, is an escaped mental patient, former cop, and possible killer. Blackouts make him unable to know if he killed his wife or not, but he must learn the truth, and Jax is the only hope he has of doing so. Working together, they pair begins to piece together the real story even as the net of justice pulls tight to try and recapture River. Unbeknownst to them, a young girl holds the key to River's freedom. Ghosts are reaching out to Dawn Jones, helping her with clues as they are able. As much as she wants to ignore them and be normal, Dawn can not ever hope to find her own peace unless she helps River and Jax. .............. This story has much in common with the Fugitive, with a paranormal twist. Like all good mysteries, the end is a true surprise, yet laced with irony and sorrow.
twilighfan More than 1 year ago
ok if you planed to read this you should start from the start to understand more and know more about the characters here. but maybe no need bcoz maggie shayne tells it so, but if you really want to know more about Dawn,Beth,Joshua,Bryan,Mordecai and Jax, start with "Thicker Than Water". Maggie Shayne, no doubt she did a very very fine story romance suspence! a real pageturner! this must be the start of Dawn's story with Bryan. so if you want to know more about them you should start with Thicker than Water continue with Colder than Ice. The story is great if you've followed the story from the start. and now Jax holds her own story i didnt anticipate. this story was great i really like it that the woman is the one who'll protect the the leading man. a super woman. strong and indipendent. there is no way you wouldn't love the story and suspence. but the most amazing part here was Dawn's Gift instead of using it as Mordecai does. she wouldn't and im looking forward for Dawn's trilogy. it's on Maggie Shayne's web. a real great story started with the Young Believer's