×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Darkest Child
     

Darkest Child

4.8 28
by Delores Phillips
 

See All Formats & Editions

Rozelle Quinn is so fair-skinned that she can pass for white. Her ten children are mostly light, too. They constitute the only world she rules and controls. Her power over them is all she has in an otherwise cruel and uncaring universe.

Rozelle favors her light-skinned kids, but Tangy Mae, 13, her darkest-complected child, is the brightest. She desperately wants to

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Darkest Child 4.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 28 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This was a great read-full of great detail, names, and description and true to the era. The characters were something else. Tangy Mae tells the story from l3 year old eyes and is wise beyond her years. Yet she is still a child, still learning about life, and can't seem to do much about the situation she is in with all the craziness around her. Her mother Rozelle is wild, crazy and physically abusive-yet, in a warped kind of way, she still has love for her children. I read the book in two days because I couldn't wait to see what would happen. These characters have a lot left in them and I hope there is a sequel. I want to know what happens to Tangy and I want the mother to get hers. Great book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I listened to this cd and felt the narrator did a good job of breathing life into the characters. I cringed at the sounds made by Martha Jean when she was stabbed in the hand with an icepick. Being from the south, I picked up on some words and phrases that the narrator mispronounced, but all in all she did a good job, and the story was excellent.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I can't belive that this is her first book she is very good. I enjoyed the book from the beginning to the end. Loved it!!! did not want the book to end.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book was amazing and the detail was more than great. Rozelle was a crazy character and I would hate to have a mother like her. Every character was amazing in there own way, but that Tangy Mae was smart and very strong within herself.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This powerful story is an extradinary work, and commands a place in my lending library. I will remember the characters for a very long time, especially the mother's darkest child. Please read this story if you believe in the determination to find a dream and hold on to it, no matter how hard you struggle to keep it within your reach, as this child had to do.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This story was extremely depressing and the sick twisted mother in the story should have been locked away, starting from chapter one. The writing for me was very boring and I never got that involved with all the characters. My boyfriend also had a hard time connecting with the writing because it was just so wordy. He never even finished reading the book. I finally did finish reading the book but definetly not a page turner for me. Also the ending was not much of a ending.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I love reading books and for a while this book was calling my name, so I finally decided to get it. If a book is really good, I can't put it down. Lets just say I got done reading this book in two days. They should make a movie out of this one. I'd give this 2 million stars if I could. But that Rozelle... man o man.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book was outstanding from beginning to end. I wished I could go inside of the book and just hug Tangy Mae. Rozelle...There is nothing to discribe this character. If Oprah ever wanted to make a movie this needs to be the one. I don't know how anyone could not like this book. 5 stars to Delores Phillips !
Guest More than 1 year ago
Back in the 40's, 50's and 60's seems like a lot of blacks in America experience life in the way it was potrayed in this book. I could even relate to this story and felt a lot of anger, sorrow, and stress. I could not put the book down. I want to go in the book for just 30 minutes to give that mother a piece of my mind. Times being like they were I can understand her delima. I really think this book should become a movie.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is the best book that I have read in a long time (and I have over 500 books). I wish that I can put into words how good this book was but the only word that comes to mind in FABULOUS!!!!!!!!!!!! That Rozelle was something else.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Delores Phillips has outdone herself with this book. It remains to be seen what she's going to do next(I can't wait to see). This book is a must read. Delores aids you in relating, loving and hating some characters all at once. Please read, you'll love it.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I felt this novel was very well done, it held my interest to the very end, and I look farward to other books by this author. great job!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I have to say that when I read the synopsis, I was hestitant to begin reading this story - I can't stand mean mothers! But...it was a book club selection, so I had to read it. After page 2 or 3, I couldn't put it down. This is an ENGROSSING story. This novel evoked so many strong emotions...fear (for the children), surprise, disdain, horror, shock, terror....even though these characters are fictional, I cried for their misfortune. I feel that this story was masterfully told by the author. It's hard to believe that it's a debut novel.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Usually after 5 minutes of reading a book, i fall asleep. However reading this book was exciting. I didnt want to put the book down, I kept wanting to know what will happen next ! Truly great story
Guest More than 1 year ago
what an excellent story, i couldn't put it down. how refreshing to read a story after all the junk that is out there. PLease, write more... What happens to tangy mae & the others?
Guest More than 1 year ago
MS PHILLIPS YOUR BOOK HAS BROUGHT ME BACK TO READING, AFTER OVER 5 YEARS OF NOT PICKING UP A BOOK I RAN ACROSS THIS UNBELIEVABLE STORY THAT I COULD NOT PUT DOWN. PLEASE DO NOT LEAVE US ALL HANGING. WE MUST KNOW MORE ABOUT TANGY MAE AND HER FAMILY.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This was an excellent debut by Ms. Phillips! The book was touching and repulsive at the same time. Tangy Mae was a heroine in her own right. The only thing I hated was wondering what happened next!
Guest More than 1 year ago
'Ms. Phillips, thank you.' Delores Phillips in her literary debut set the bar with 'The Darkest Child' as this book is a literary masterpiece. This book made me feel and I am forever grateful for that experience as she also created dialogue that I feel needs to be answered before I leave this Earth. I cried, I laughed, I had to stop at times as it was getting to be too much, but, in the end 'The Darkest Child' is a book that needs to be read by every Black person. Ms. Phillips though is wrong on one account as this book is real. The protagnoist, Tangy Mae Quinn, exists, as do Rozelle, Tarabelle, Sam, Harvey, Hambone, Martha Jean, Mushy, just to name a few. These characters are real. The situations are real. Reading this book gave me a peek into what it must have been like living in the segregrated South as a Black man or rather being Black period, and the anger I felt at white people in their view and treatment of Blacks, and how the effects of that time still carry on today. I encourage each of you to purchase this book and buy an extra one and give it to someone. --Juss
Guest More than 1 year ago
WHAT A TOUCHING & MOVING STORY. THE STRENGTH THAT TANGY MAE POTRAYED WAS NEVER ENDING. IT WAS THAT STRENGTH THAT GOT HER THROUGH ALL OF THE BEATINGS THAT HER MOTHER INFLICTED UPON HER. THIS BOOK ENCOURAGES YOU TO MAKE IT THROUGH WHATEVER SITUATION YOU FIND YOURSELF IN. JUST KEEP THE FAITH AND NEVER LOOK BACK. THIS BOOK IS DEFINETLY WORTH READING.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I EAGER AWAIT MS PHILLIPS NEXT OFFERING!!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this book. I laughed and cried while reading this book. It is really a page turner. I greatly recommend this book. And to Ms.Phillips I really hope there is a sequel to this book or just another great book such as this or with characters like Tangy Mae, her mother(although I would have had Rozelle thrown in jail for the things she did) and her siblings from the youngest to the oldest. They all seem like someone I know or have known. I fell in love with this book with the first page. Keep up the awesome work Ms.Phillips.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Rozelle Quinn, the matriarch and villainess in the novel ¿The Darkest Child,¿ may soon become the most detested character in the history of fiction. She is a physically abusive mother who not only spanks her children with a leather belt but also burns their flesh with smoldering pokers straight from the fireplace, pours steaming hot coffee in their faces, and punches them in the face sending teeth flying and causing eyes to swell like a world class pugilist. She encourages the children to steal for the good of the family. She even forces her teenage daughters into a life of domestic servitude and prostitution (a life she knows all too well) for the extra money it brings into the household, which she always claims for herself. Psychologically, she¿s even worse, ranking her children by skin tone, claiming the lighter skinned ones are more valuable than the darker ones. When some of them make plans to leave her house for good, she either makes them feel guilty enough to stay or finds a way to sabotage their plans. The story is told from the perspective of Tangy Mae, Rozelle¿s darkest and most intelligent child. The setting is the fictitious, rural town Pakersfield, Georgia. Tangy Mae, who is 13 when the book commences in 1958, dreams of someday being the first in her family to finish high-school in order to make something of her life. But there are many obstacles, including Jim Crow laws, racism, poverty, and most of all her sadistic mother who wants her to quit school to get a job for the purpose of helping take care of the family, which includes nine other siblings, all of them by different men. Though Tangy Mae is the storyteller, the lives of her brothers and sisters are given just as much attention as she. This includes Tarabelle, Tangy¿s strong and brave older sister who hates her mother for forcing her to service men in The Farmhouse, Harvey, her older brother who wants to marry an undertaker¿s daughter, Martha Jean, her deaf younger sister who falls for an older man for whom Tangy also has a crush, and Sam her brother whose dreams of equal opportunity leave him framed for a crime he didn¿t commit. When Mushy, Tangy¿s older sister, returns to Georgia after a four-year, self-imposed exile to Cleveland, she fills her brothers¿ and sisters¿ heads with ideas on following in her footsteps-far away from their abusive mother. Meanwhile, Rozelle will stop at nothing to keep her children home with her. ¿The Darkest Child¿ is a beautifully written work of art that is hard to put down. Its descriptive writing is reminiscent of classic works from Alice Walker, Ralph Ellison, and Ernest Hemingway. Consider the following passage as an example: [And the sound of silence was frightening. Rain pounded the tin roof like a thousand demons marching for their master, and the roof yielded. Liquid curses splashed down upon our heads and into the waiting vessels. In the gray shadows of a rainy dusk, the clock on the table ticked rhythmically, but the hands never moved. They were stuck.] Simply beautiful. This novel will undoubtedly cause you to cringe with its graphic depiction of violence. The characters will make you cry and laugh. They will also leave you longing for the escape they desire. But most of all, this book will make you fall in love with the writing of Delores Phillips, a Cleveland resident who works as a nurse and holds a degree in English from Cleveland State University. Not only is it the one of best debut novels available, but it is easily one of the best novels ever written. ¿The Darkest Child¿ is a masterpiece.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book captured my heart from beginning to end, I read 3-6 novels each month and this was a page turner that I completed in less than 24 hours, each character was memorable, the events had me holding my breath, shaking in anger, and weeping. All told with the voice of a young Tangy Mae, wise beyond her years. The story is reminiscent of a color purple or only twice I wish for heaven, yet edgier. It is truly a story of strength, courage, and perseverance
Guest More than 1 year ago
THIS WILL BE THE BEST BOOK I READ ALL YEAR UNTIL MS PHILLIPS WRITES ANOTHER. I LOVED AND HATED, CRIED AND GOT OUT BOXING GLOVES, THIS BOOK IS AN INSTANT CLASSIC.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Remember the 70's television comedy called Good Times? It seemed good things rarely happened to the Evans family and you frequently found yourself wishing for something magical to happen that would whisk them out of their unfortunate existence. Well, The Darkest Child is like the literary equivalent of Good Times, except this story takes place in a house on Penyon Road, somewhere in the state of Georgia during the late 50's and early 60's. And this time the sorrows and afflictions experienced by the family come at the hand of the mother, Rozelle Quinn, a woman who inflicts so much abuse on her kids that you cannot keep up. The story is narrated by Tangy Mae, a teenage woman/child that the mother labels as ugly. Rozelle sleeps with men, chain smokes, drinks, cries, yells, hallucinates, and does all kinds of unusual and disturbing things that make the reader feel sorry for the kids and wonder about their eventual outcome. The Darkest Child's strength lies in its commanding writing voice; for this book to be written in first person, it's wonderful and amazing to be able to hear the voices of all the characters. Another strength is the strong and vivid descriptions. Some of the painful scenes can make you physically react, as if you're being abused instead of the children. The characters are engaging but there are so many of them that you may not feel attached to them or remember which one is which, but the story is still compelling enough to keep you drawn to the characters' dilemma. In addition it would have been great if the root of mother's behavior was explained so the reader could know the history and motivations behind her horrendous actions. This book is highly recommended due to its originality, excellent writing, and unpredictability, and because, as far as I know, there aren't too many books that can be compared to The Darkest Child. It is an engaging and dark read that won't be soon forgotten.