×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Darkest Highlander (Dark Sword Series #6)
  • Alternative view 1 of Darkest Highlander (Dark Sword Series #6)
  • Alternative view 2 of Darkest Highlander (Dark Sword Series #6)
     

Darkest Highlander (Dark Sword Series #6)

4.3 66
by Donna Grant
 

See All Formats & Editions

Darkest Highlander

Donna Grant

In the acclaimed Dark Sword series, the darkest, fiercest warriors of Scottish legend finally meet their match—in the brave, fiery hearts of the women they cherish…

For years, Broc has watched over her, protected her—and hidden his love for her. But when his beautiful Sonya, finds herself in

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Darkest Highlander 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 66 reviews.
MyBookAddictionandMore More than 1 year ago
WONDERFUL END TO THE DARK SWORDS AND BEGINNING OF THE DARK WARRIORS!! DARKEST HIGHLANDER by Donna Grant is an exciting historical paranormal romance set in Scotland. This is the sixth book in the "Dark Sword" series and brings it a its conclusion,but can br read as a stand alone. See "DANGEROUS HIGHLANDER,FORBIDDEN HIGHLANDER,WICKED HIGHLANDER,UNTAMED HIGHLANDER,SHADOW HIGHLANDER".This is Sonya and Broc's story. Broc is a Scottish highland warrior with Poraxus,the God of manipulation unbound within him,who believes he has a curse and anyone he is close to will die. Sonya,a Druidess with the magic of healing,who believes she has now lost her healing magic. Sonya,fleeing the safety of the MacLeod Castle,which sends Broc on a mission to locate and protect,even if it costs him his life. Together, Sonya and Broc face their worst enemy,the evil Deirdre,while they fight their attraction to each other. Broc has been attracted to Sonya since she was a small child and he saved her and her sister,who is now dead. They are on a mission to find an artifact Deirdre needs to accomplish her desire to bring darkness and evil to the world. "Darkness Highlander" brings the "Dark Swords" series to a conclusion which brings in a new series," Dark Warriors" into the light. As, four of the Dark Warriors are thrown four centuries into the future following one of their own,and a traitor who has been forced to Deirdre's cause. What a delightful way to close out one series and begin another,while there is a few questions left unanswered from the "Dark Swords"series,I do hope we will see more from the "Dark Swords" warriors along the way with the new "Dark Warriors"series. Donna Grant has written another story full of passion,sweet sensuality,Scottish warriors,adventure,danger,romance and of course love. I LOVE,LOVE this Scottish paranormal series and looked forward to hearing from the rest of the warriors in the future. A must read! Received for an honest review from the publisher. Details can be found at St. Martin's Paperbacks,published by St. Martin's Press,the author's website,and My Book Addiction and More. **Coming in June 2012 from St. Martin's Paperbacks "Dark Warrior" series by Donna Grant, "MIDNIGHT'S MASTER"* RATING: 4.5 HEAT RATING: MILD REVIEWED BY: AprilR,My Book Addiction and More
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
What a great series!! Donna Grant is an amazing story teller! I got lost in every book, including this one. I would recommend this book and the first five to any one who believes love can and will conquer all!
Gracie8967 More than 1 year ago
I have followed her series for years and love everything she writes.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Broc story is here!! I suppose I could just stop there.. Broc's story Darkest Highlander is the sixth in Dona Grant's Dark Sword Series and by far her most compelling. It was so intense, I was forced to put it down and walk away on a regular basis. Now, I know that sounds just wrong but for me.. when something is so gripping, when you are never quite sure what is going to happen next and when you are held on the edge of suspense.. to me I have to put it down and walk away.. or I go nuts. This was one of those stories.. I spent most of my time while reading this book on the edge of my seat.. chewing my nails and wonder what was going to happen next. Broc has always been my favorite, he was broody, intense and BLUE.. well when his god took over he's blue and of course Broc is the only warrior with wings. And there is just something sexy about wings. I wonder what I would do if I actually met someone with wings? They are just so very sexy in books. Broc spent centuries of his life, once his god was unbound as a spy in Deidre's fortress under the mountain. Forced to round up druids and deliver them to Deidre he never really thought he would find a way out. Then when the Warriors chose to stand together against her, Broc stood with them. Finally able to share his true feelings and loyalties.. he is a true asset to the Warriors. Sonya, the strongest of the Druids had a crisis of faith and lost the use of her magic. Feeling lost, alone and just a little betrayed she flees the safety of the castle and strikes out on her own. I am not quite sure why such a practical character would do something quite this stupid but I kind of liked it. So many smart women find themselves doing stupid things then later asking themselves what the heck was I thinking? Broc and Sonya find themselves in one adventure after another.. From Sonya fleeing the fortress and falling victim to wolves to Broc falling into Deidre's hands these two seem determined to save each other and yet never quite admit how they feel. Ms Grant does an excellent job keeping us entertained and hiding the fact that these two really do act without thinking just a bit too much. Sometimes books tick me off because it is so obvious characters are meant for each other, I just want to smack them upside the head. The fact is if they did then the story would really pretty much be over before it ever began. And Broc and Sonya had a wonderful story.. We saw some interesting previews on what is going to happen next in the series and one whammy of a surprise. Obviously I can't share but this book was worth reading if only for the surprise..
Book_Monster_Reviews More than 1 year ago
I have been infatuated with Broc ever since Wicked Highlander, when Quinn MacLeod was abducted by Deirdre and taken to Cairn Toul, the mountain where she kills Druids and uses her black magic to unleash the gods inside the Highlanders. The wyrran and Warriors gather there, waiting for the time when Deirdre will send her army to destroy the world. Broc played the good and bad guy so well, you never knew which side he was really on until recently. Broc has Poraxus, the God of Manuipulation bound to him and is the only warrior with wings and able to fly. His power is that he can locate anyone, anywhere. Broc has been watching over Sonya and her sister Anice ever since he found them as babies and rescued them. He was one of Deirdre's Warriors back then so he hid them in a safe place where Deirdre could never find them. Being that Sonya and her sister are Druids, Deirdre would kill them to steal their life force. Broc has secretly been in love with Sonya ever since she became a woman but is determined to stay away from her. He believes himself cursed because any woman he has ever cared for has died and he's determined to protect Sonya from his curse. When Broc finds out that Sonya is gone from the castle he sets out to find her before Deirdre does. When the last book "Shadow Highlander" ended, Sonya's life was turned upside down. Her healing powers have been failing her and her sister Anice was murdered by Deirdre's wyrran. Grief stricken over the death of her sister and heartbroken over Broc's harsh reaction, Sonya leaves the safety of MacLeod Castle and runs into the forest. Injured and not able to heal herself because of her failing magic, Sonya is in grave danger. When Broc finds her, Sonya is near death with an infection from a cut on her hand. Because of a bad storm, Broc takes her to the nearest town and stays at a hotel to nurse her back to health. While there they run into Deirdre's wyrran and Broc is captured and taken back to Cairn Toul. Sonya follows and is determined to save Broc from Deirdre's wrath. SO much happens in this book. I'm going to leave the review at this because this book changes everything in the series and leads into the new DARK WARRIOR series so I don't want to give away any spoilers. I've been waiting a long time to learn more about Broc and I could not wait for him to get together with Sonya and as always, Donna Grant did not disappoint. The ending happened a little too quickly but it's because the entire plot and story line have been taken into a new direction so it was understandable. The DARK SWORD series is one of my top favorite series and always will be. I can't wait for the first DARK WARRIORS book, "Midnight's Master" to be released (which BTW is on May 22) to see the new journey Donna has sent these amazing warriors on.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have all of her books and love them all! I can't wait until the next one comes out! I highly recommend this one-all of them!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was a great read. I love how Sonya is independent.
RtBBlog More than 1 year ago
Reviewed by Shannon, Book provided by St. Martin’s Press, and Review originally posted at Romancing the Book. If it weren’t for the fact that I had read Midnight Master (book one in the Dark Warrior series and picks up where this book left off) I would have been completely lost with this story. However, Donna Grant has created a group of Highlander Warriors that manage to pull you into the story, regardless of whether or not you understand what’s happening. I liked Broc and Sonya, but of the two, Broc was my favorite. Broc was a man who spent many, many years as a prisoner of Deirdre and felt he was tainted by her evil. His actions with helping the MacLeod’s may demonstrate how he’s siding with good, but he can’t see past what he was forced to do while under Deirdre’s control. It takes Sonya to make Broc see past what has been done to what might be and see understand, at his core, he is a worthy man. Sonya’s strong enough to stand up to Broc and confident enough in him to encourage his loss of control when he needs to and know he won’t hurt those he cares for. I enjoyed the romance between Broc and Sonya. While their romance wasn’t one that evoked strong emotional responses, it was sweet, sexy and perfect for them. This was an enjoyable read that will keep you entertained for a few hours. However, I will strongly recommend that the series be read in order to avoid any confusion.
smbcSB More than 1 year ago
Great story. the series is suspenseful, funny at times and romantic.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I'm just glad that i have finally come to the part of broc and sonya. Every book is like a cliffhanger that leads onto the next. I love cliffhangers.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago