×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Darkest Surrender (Lords of the Underworld Series #8)
     

The Darkest Surrender (Lords of the Underworld Series #8)

4.6 449
by Gena Showalter
 

See All Formats & Editions

Possessed by the demon of Defeat, Strider cannot lose a challenge without suffering unimaginable pain. For him, nothing stands in the way of victory. Until Kaia, an enchanting Harpy, tempts him to the razor's edge of surrender.

Known among her people as The Disappointment, Kaia must bring home the gold in the Harpy Games or die. Strider is a distraction she

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Darkest Surrender 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 449 reviews.
Dannie33 More than 1 year ago
Zgarza01, here is the ordering that I had along with release dates. I loved Strider's story, not my favorite. But another book I couldn't put down! 1.The Darkest Fire, April 2008 novella ebook-Geyron (Guardian of Hell) 2.The Darkest Night, May 2008-Maddox (Keeper of Violence) 3.The Darkest Kiss, June 2008-Lucien (Keeper of Death) 4.The Darkest Pleasure, July 2008-Reyes (Keeper of Pain) 5.The Darkest Prison, July 2009 novella ebook-Atlas (Titan God of Strength) 6.The Darkest Whisper, September 2009-Sabin (Keeper of Doubt) 7.The Darkest Angel novella in Heart of the Darkness and in the anthology Dark Beginnings, January 2010-angel Lysander 8.The Darkest Passion, June 2010-Aeron (Keeper of Wrath) 9.The Darkest Lie, July 2010-Gideon (Keeper of Lies) 10.The Darkest Secret, April 2011-Amun (Keeper of Secrets) 11.The Darkest Surrender, September 2011-Strider (Keeper of Defeat) 12.The Darkest Seduction, February 2012-Paris (Keeper of Promiscuity)
theReader278 More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed reading this book. It has a story that will keep you entertained for hours.
SKY_MORROW More than 1 year ago
As much as I hate having to admit this, I'm starting to be disappointed with Gena Showalter's books. She is the author that got me into reading Paranormal Romance, because once I read Maddox's story, I was in love with the Lords of the Underworld. The fact is, that Amun's story, Strider's story and her new Vampire book, have me wondering why I continue to buy and read her books. I could not wait for Strider's story, but quite frankly Kaia is too aggressive and it's not appealing to me. I remember when these Lords were dark, sinister and strong. I'm channeling Lucien, Maddox, Reyes and even Sabin. The worst part about all of this is that I don't like the way these Lords talk or even act and the girls too. Why do they all have to talk like they are texting their high school friends? I teach high school, so when I go to read an "adult novel" I don't want text message type of writing to read. TMI, LOL or "Stridey-man" when Strider is referencing his manhood. I want them to be dark, sinister and strong, not one step above the Jersey Shore guys. Sorry, I'm just starting to get frustrated. I still buy the books and probably will buy Paris' story, but after that I am not sure I will continue. I do think Showalter is a talented writer, clever at times, witty and funny, but I just need more depth to these characters. I don't expect her to write like JR Ward, but to be honest, those characters (The Black Dagger Brotherhood) are dangerous and all so unique. There is a lot of depth there and they don't talk like high school kids, which I am getting more and more annoyed by with Showalter's stories. Sorry I had to say this. As an aspiring author myself, I just hate critiquing those who have "made it" but, I guess I have to be honest in the end.
harstan More than 1 year ago
Fifteen centuries ago, fourteen years old Kaia Skyhawk wants to be known as the strongest harpy. Her only rival at the Harpy Games is Juliette the Eradicator. Juliet captured a male but her new consort remains defiant. Thinking she can make this warrior obey, Kaia, ignoring her mother's admonition about men, frees him. He goes on a rampage killing many harpies. It is fifteen hundred years later and everyone especially her mother blames Kaia the Disappointment for the massacre; she and her sister Bianka have been banned from participating in the games ever since. For the first time since the disaster, the Skyhawks sisters are invited to the games. Bianka and Kaia know someone is setting them up for something though it could be Juliette or even their mom, but each agrees they must attend. She also tells Bianka that she believes Strider is her soulmate, but he and his demon Defeat refuse to accept their attraction to the notorious harpy. However, he reconsiders his position of keeping his distance when he learns first prize at the games is the dangerous ancient Paring Rod that could kill him and his Dark Lord peers. The latest Lords of the Underworld romantic fantasy (see The Darkest Secret) is a terrific refreshing entry due to the macabrely humorous yet lunatic Harpy culture. The story line is fast-paced from the opening fiasco and never slows down as Kaia who tasted defeat refuses to accept it again except as the demon accompanying her Strider. Madcap, the zany Harpy Games is fun to attend. Harriet Klausner
WendyH33 More than 1 year ago
Ok let me start off by saying I have loved loved loved every other book in this series. I have told strangers on the street that they need to read this series. I was so looking forward to this book not only to see the continuation of the story, but because Strider has been one of my very favorite characters throughout the whole book. Not to mention, how do you not love Kaia??? Not possible. Having said that, the book was entertaining, but I found the whole "harpie games" backdrop to the story stupid and done before. I was a little disappointed. I think I would have given this book fewer stars if I wasn't already so in love with all of these characters. I eagerly anticipate the release of Paris' book in January.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Love it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
One of the most thrilling books I've ever read
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Out of her Lords series I like Strider's and Kane's books the best! They were both funny and heartwarning. Hopefully she will finish the rest of the Lords stories.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago