×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Darkness Bound
     

Darkness Bound

3.5 23
by Stella Cameron
 

See All Formats & Editions

WHEN NIGHT FALLS

After her husband's tragic death, Leigh Kelly arrives on Whidbey Island determined to start over. Yet the tiny town of Chimney Rock is not as peaceful as it seems. Women have been disappearing, and Leigh can't shake the feeling that she's being watched . . . especially at night. Soon, she's experiencing visions she can't explain and fighting her

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Darkness Bound 3.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 22 reviews.
Chloe_Richardson More than 1 year ago
Just finished DARKNESS BOUND by Stella Cameron. Whidbey Island in Washington State. Werehounds, werewolves, fae creatures kept me turning the pages fast. The hero is Niles and he is to die for. Dark but strong and he would do anything for for Leigh, a human who is widowed and searching for a new start. I love the twists and turns in this book. I hope the next one won't be long coming.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have always liked Stella Cameron. That is why I bought the book. Big mistake. There are too many werehounds, werewolves, vampires, fae people etc. The story is hard to follow. I finally just started skimming the book to finish it. If you are a Stella Cameron fan, be warned, it is not her usual type of book. If you like the supernatural stuff, then go for it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Still scratching my head going "huh?" Darkness Bound has a good story line, but is so convoluted with too many characters and abrupt changes in action that the reader is left wondering what happened? I liked the characters, but it seemed like the author felt she had to cram it all in quickly, and in no particular order. So much going on with no apparent resolution, and while I know this is a series, you still need to have some sense of closure to the story. The romance itself had so much potential, but again, the author rushed through it and it ended up falling a bit flat. A shame really, because the series has potential. So I guess my review is "Great idea, but poor execution."
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
~Shimmerstar
RtBBlog More than 1 year ago
Reviewed by Molly Reposted by permission from Reviews by Molly Review originally posted at Romancing the Book Stella Cameron has a new fan! I loved this book and everything in it. I’m, of course, becoming a SERIOUS paranormal lover….it’s coming close to taking over my love of mystery thrillers. Seriously, ya’ll. The more I read of vamps and weres, the more I fall in love with the sexy men and their awesome mates. Anyway, back to this. Stella Cameron has created a suspenseful, mind-blowing, captivating novel that will knock your socks off! Chimney Rock #1 is a fantastic start to an awesome new series. From the start, Ms. Cameron incorporates the suspense into the story with Niles Latimer and his friend Sean. Their werehounds, who want nothing more than to gain the trust of the human world and live among them in a peaceful manner. The thing is…there’s also the werewolves. Their not so keen on the idea of making peace with the humans, for they wish to turn the humans into wolves and create a werewolve pack that is bigger than ever. Wiping out the human race. Dominating the island. But, then Leah Kelly moves back home after the death of her husband, Chris. Niles knows she’s the human mate for him. Leah doesn’t know about Niles and Sean, and that the island she’s returned to is filled with weres, both hounds and wolves. Niles has to mate her to safe the werehound race, for there aren’t any female hounds left to reproduce. The wolves have other ideas on that. That’s were the suspense takes off like crazy and really makes the reader feel a part of the middle of the story. With twists and turns, ups, downs, ins and outs, like a fabulous romantic suspense novel should have, this story will leave you with a shocked feeling through out as the whirlwind ride intensifies. But, by the end of the novel, you’ll be so glad that you read this start to a fabulous new series! Most definitely recommended! A 5 Rose worthy novel that is filled with passion and suspense, and fabulous shifting characters, you’ll instantly become a fan. I know I did! I am already anxious for the second book in this series, Darkness Bred, Sean’s story. FANTABULOUS job, Ms. Cameron! I am a forever fan!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really like this type of supernatural/romance genre I am always so eager to see what people's imagination can come up with, I gotta say the story line is enticing and draws you in, I read the reviews before buying the book and I could see what a lot of people were saying about too many characters but that didn't really throw me off I could follow the story fine what didn't convince much was in my opinion there were parts that the author skimmed and didn't really explain or jump from one tempo to another without really going into it or even hintung at what might be on a sequel or just as an after thouoght, the sex scenes felt a little technical and just you know kind of like following the steps, it doesn't have to be all nasty but didn't feel the strong connection they supposedly develop in a matter of days, unfortunately I don't think i will follow this series I might try another one of her books just to give her the benefit of the doubt, it's a fast read if you want something short took me just 2 days and I work and have 2 kids
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Excellent!!!!
ReadersFavorite More than 1 year ago
Reviewed by Anne B. for Readers Favorite This is a review of the audio version of "Darkness Bound: Chimney Rock" by Stella Cameron. Stella Cameron’s new series "Chimney Rock" is off to a fantastic start with the first book, "Darkness Bound". The setting is Washington State, Whidbey Island’s Chimney Rock. The small town is the center of paranormal activity. Werehounds, werewolves, the fae and vampires all struggle for the control of the island. The werewolves care little for humans and are willing to use them and destroy them. The werehounds are smaller than werewolves but are very strong. All of the werehounds are male and their numbers cannot increase unless they can locate viable females. Leigh Kelly moved to Chimney Rock to begin a new life. She found herself drawn to Niles, not knowing he was a werehound. Unknown to Leigh, she has powers that make her invaluable to the werewolves, vampires, fae and werehounds. The werewolves, fae and vampires knew she was a tool they could use to destroy the werehounds. There are a lot of characters in "Darkness Bound" but I managed to keep up with them. Cameron provided plenty of twists and turns to keep me eagerly turning pages to see what would happen next. The lead characters in this book are Niles and Leigh. Leigh is a strong woman with a sense of who she is, yet she is also aware of her weaknesses and willing to reach out to Niles when she needs him. Niles is handsome, sexy, strong and a true leader and yet he is vulnerable. Leigh is his weakness. The author left one particular thread not answered to my satisfaction. I guess she is going to complete the thread in the next book. This is an excellent read and Suehyla El-Attar’s voice is perfect. I can hardly wait for the next book in this series.
kld More than 1 year ago
This book was very entertainng and I've already preordered the sequel. Love Stella Cameron's books
MyBookAddictionandMore More than 1 year ago
Stella Cameron creates a fascinating world in DARKNESS BOUND. Her werehounds are more human than the average paranormal character which makes them even more believable. They do not live to kill or kill to live. Niles and his Team are tough warriors and nice guys, PTSD and other human traits included. Leigh doesn’t know until well into the book that paranormal creatures exists and she was one herself. These plot twists make for an interesting story. The cast of supporting characters includes some diverse, fun and eccentric personalities. I really liked that Leigh was strong and stubborn and Niles was no less Alpha for his caring side. Niles and Leigh must make some monumental decisions that felt a bit hurried and the climax was a little weak because it was setting up the next book but these points in no way diminished my pleasure in reading the novel. This book was submitted for an honest review. Heat Rating: Hot (A few detailed sex scenes, profanity and/or graphic violence.) Rating: 4 Reviewed By: Jeanne Stone-Hunter for My Book Addiction and More
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I just finished DARKNESS BOUND and while I thought it was a good book with an interesting paranormal concept I felt like I had picked up a book that came later in a series without reading the earlier ones. It felt like you should know what is going on between the different factions without having it really explained, that you should know the characters already. Also, the storyline with the brother-in-law was just left hanging with no real explanation.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Story did not hold my interest. Made it to page 143 before giving up.
LadySatel More than 1 year ago
The author has written a slightly choppy and sometimes disconnected love story/paranormal story about a young woman who just lost her husband. She has returned to their cottage to stay and recoup from the tragedy. She meets a man who seems immediately interested in her. No one comes right out and tells her that their are problems in the small town, but she soon finds out that things are not as they seem. This is the first in a projected series. A good premise, but thw writer needs to tighten up the plot in the projected books.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I expected a completely new approach to paranormal romance and I wasn't disappointed. Niles and Leigh are so perfect together and they kept me going even when the story was really tense.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Please can i have my money back $7.99....the book is just not worth it ...... would not read another book even it is free.... do not waste your time or money
MollyzReviewz More than 1 year ago
Stella Cameron has a new fan! I loved this book and everything in it. I'm, of course, becoming a SERIOUS paranormal lover....it's coming close to taking over my love of mystery thrillers. Seriously, ya'll. The more I read of vamps and weres, the more I fall in love with the sexy men and their awesome mates. Anyway, back to this. Stella Cameron has created a suspenseful, mind-blowing, captivating novel that will knock your socks off! Chimney Rock #1 is a fantastic start to an awesome new series. From the start, Ms. Cameron incorporates the suspense into the story with Niles Latimer and his friend Sean. Their werehounds, who want nothing more than to gain the trust of the human world and live among them in a peaceful manner. The thing is...there's also the werewolves. Their not so keen on the idea of making peace with the humans, for they wish to turn the humans into wolves and create a werewolve pack that is bigger than ever. Wiping out the human race. Dominating the island. But, then Leah Kelly moves back home after the death of her husband, Chris. Niles knows she's the human mate for him. Leah doesn't know about Niles and Sean, and that the island she's returned to is filled with weres, both hounds and wolves. Niles has to mate her to safe the werehound race, for there aren't any female hounds left to reproduce. The wolves have other ideas on that. That's were the suspense takes off like crazy and really makes the reader feel a part of the middle of the story. With twists and turns, ups, downs, ins and outs, like a fabulous romantic suspense novel should have, this story will leave you with a shocked feeling through out as the whirlwind ride intensifies. But, by the end of the novel, you'll be so glad that you read this start to a fabulous new series! Most definitely recommended! A high 5 Book worthy novel that is filled with passion and suspense, and fabulous shifting characters, you'll instantly become a fan. I know I did! I am already anxious for the second book in this series, Darkness Bred, Sean's story. FANTABULOUS job, Ms. Cameron! I am a forever fan! This review originated at Reviews By Molly in part with a blog tour.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago