×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Darwin Awards: Evolution in Action
     

The Darwin Awards: Evolution in Action

4.0 21
by Wendy Northcutt
 

See All Formats & Editions

The hilarious New York Times bestselling phenomenon—more than 1.5 million copies sold! 

The Darwin Awards shares the stories of those human beings who improve the gene pool by removing themselves from it in a sublimely idiotic fashion.

Marvel at the thief who tries to steal live electrical wires. Gape at the lawnchair

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Darwin Awards: Evolution in Action 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 21 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Too short for the money and watch out because they pull off all of the really negetive reviews with this series.
BookieDK More than 1 year ago
Makes you laugh, maybe feel uncomfortable at some of the stories, but makes you see human nature as it is now.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Mustanglady More than 1 year ago
The Darwin books never get old, and are funny and scary at the same time! When you feel you have done something stupid, pick up one of these books, you'll realize you have nothing on some humans! Lisa Corkern
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
After reading and enjoying volume 4 of the series, I had to get more. So I tried the original, and I was not disappointed. The original collection of life's little lessons of what not to do in order to survive (or at least to procreate). Entertaining, humorous, even hilarious at times. Not that death is funny. Just as history is destined to repeat itself, those lacking common sense are desined to attempt (unintentionally) to pull themselves out of the gene pool, winning the coveted Darwin Award. I also appreciate the format of the book, since it can be taken bit-by-bit in little doses, like when waiting in the emergency room for your non-life-threatening treatment. Or swallowed all at once, when in the recovery room, waiting to be discharged. A great gift for the person lacking common sense, or those who love the bizarre. I guess both describe me!
Guest More than 1 year ago
The book can be funny and depressing at the same time. It's shocking on how some people die and the dumb things they do to land them there. Its a great book to use at parties too make converstation. But it also has a negative aspect to it and that is that no one survives. To make it into the book you must have died. If you read to many stories it goes from funny to depressing. Its a book to pick up read one story then put it down until another time.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is a very funny book. I cant believe pople actually did this stuff! I mean when i die.. i hope its not in any of the ways shown in this book!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is so funny. I cant belive that they wrote a book on how many people died in the most stupid ways. It would really suck to die the way these people did, but its just so funny to the ones that it didnt happen to. I would give this more stars if I could. I just love this book!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is gr8! I can't believe how many stupid people have gotten themselves killed, but the way they do it, and the way the author tells the stories, is incredible. I was rolling on the floor while reading about two drunk guys trying to get into a Mettalica concert.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The Darwin Awards are given to people that 'improve the gene pool by removing themselves from it'. That means you either die or lose your ability to reproduce. You have to read this book to believe it. I can't believe most of these are real (They'll tell you if it's confirmed or not). Want an example? Drowning is an unfortunate tragedy. Throwing a beach party for an oncoming hurricane w/65 MPH winds is stupid. Falling from a building is bad luck. Rigging your lawnchair to fly with 45 helium-filled weather balloons and flying into LAX airspace is idiotic. Want more? Read the book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is greatly humorous. this book is about stupid deaths made by stupid people. Great book!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book has stories about the stupidest ways people have died. I mean honestly; would you get out of your car and take a picture of a tiger that is just a few feet away from you?
Guest More than 1 year ago
What's so funny about people dying? Nothing of course-- unless we are talking about the deaths of people who receive Darwin Awards-- er, posthumously. This is some funny, funny stuff. YOu read about how some of these folks died, and you ask 'How could anyone do something so dumb?'
Guest More than 1 year ago
I purchased this book for my husband, a trivia and humor fan. He hasn't put it down and regales us again and again with stories he found in this wonderful book. It proves that we may not be perfect but we are not in fear of being like those mentioned in the stories. This is packed with enough to keep even the most voracious readers happy. Tidbits and Tales, most enjoyable and fun !
Guest More than 1 year ago
I've been waiting a long time for this book and is was worth the wait. My co-workers keep coming back into the break room to find out what the fits of laughter are all about. You couldn't make up funnier stories about people's stupidity.