×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Daughters of the North
  • Alternative view 1 of Daughters of the North
  • Alternative view 2 of Daughters of the North
     

Daughters of the North

3.7 41
by Sarah Hall
 

See All Formats & Editions

In her stunning novel, Hall imagines a new dystopia set in the not-too-distant future. England is in a state of environmental crisis and economic collapse. There has been a census, and all citizens have been herded into urban centers. Reproduction has become a lottery, with contraceptive coils fitted to every female of childbearing age. A girl who will become known

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Daughters of the North 3.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 41 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The story was good, however major sections were missing noting "data lost". Most disappointing was the missing section of the last chapter.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
When I started this book, I might have given it 4 stars. I liked the first quarter of of the book. I enjoyed hearing about the apocolyptic world and Sister's jouney to the farm. Once she got there I started to lose interest. The characters weren't fleshed out and I didnt really like anyone all the much. I usually like a feminist novel, but I didnt find any of these woman sympathetic or even interesting. I think it was a nice idea executed pretty badly.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book depicts a futuristic Britain under totalitarian rule. It follows the story of one womens escape into the highlands and her views of what occurs around her. Definately a thought provoking story written inan interesting way.
harstan More than 1 year ago
In the near future in the United Kingdom global warming has made this once proud place into wetlands. The climate change accompanied by a critical fuel shortage has led to the establishment of an abusive totalitarian rule. The Authority uses the guise of security to kill anyone who opposes them they use fuel shortages to control population with enforced sterilization they encourage drug addiction to keep the masses ignorant of their plight. If innocents are hurt so be it as collateral damage occurs.------------------ The Authority sterilized Sister against her will. They made her work in a 'New Fuel' factory in conditions that makes Dickens¿ Victorian tales look like fairy tales. She is assigned cramped quarters. Sister wants out feeling that if she can make it to legendary Carhullan, an all-female commune she can survive. Run by Jackie Nixon with discipline to foster strengths, the paramilitary group is outlawed by the Authority who plans to destroy these Amazon rebels. ------------------- Although the ending is too obvious for such a complex thought provoking tale, readers will appreciate this powerful near future thriller that extrapolates from Katrina and the Christmas Tsunami. However, it is not the environmental disaster that holds the reader¿s attention it is the heroine and how she sees the world. Sister believes the Authority is evil from her position in the ooze below their food chain she thinks of Carhullan as freedom fighters from her rising up their chain towards the top. Ironically she is unable to accept how similar the two groups are in their ruthless use of expendables to achieve their respective goals. With obvious comparison to the Mideast, DAUGHTERS OF THE NORTH is a terrific futuristic thriller.------------- Harriet Klausner
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The "[data lost]" thing is a cop-out, given the only places it is used; and its also a confusing device to stumble over on an e-reader. There is a lot of potential in this story, and it has occasional moments of excellent prose, but the whole thing is not fully realized.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Characters had little depth. Plot was slow at times. Lesbian sex scenes. Raunchy. Didnt finish it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed reading this story. But that was overshadowed by the disappointment of missing sections due to data lost." Missing the most important part, the part the entire storylined worked up to, was a big letdown. I would recommend the hard copy instead of the nook version based solely on that.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
enjoyed this little book. make you think what could happen in the future.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is different and has an intersting storyline and surprisngly enough I enjoyed it a lot. Good read
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The e-copy i have is missing a few chunks of text that had valuable plot.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I could barely put this down. The characters are extremely well written the scenes are set and described so weel you can smell, taste and see it in your mind clearly while reading. Its killing me that her Electric book is not nookable - but she is such a great writer I may actually buy the book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
So scary to think this could happen. This book make you think. Ehat eould YOU do? Enjoyed this book. There were a few places where I lost interest but mostly was a book that was hard to put down.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was a great read. Unfortunately large portion of content were missing. Very disappointing.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Many readers have missed the point that the author herself has inserted so called missing data portions. That should gave been explained by the author so the readers understood it was her doing and not a glitch on the electronic edition. That said I enjoyed the story and found the concept engrossing. However there were some words she used, like 'bields', that I was not familiar with nor could I find them when I searched for them online. This did take away some enjoyment of the story as I felt I was reading a made up language. ~*~LEB~*~
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A little slow but I enjoyed it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Interesring story but choppy and feels incomplete. Dont like the technique of using lost records to leave out important scenes. Otherwise good writing
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Didnt care for the last quarter of the book at all