×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Dauntless (Lost Fleet Series #1)
     

Dauntless (Lost Fleet Series #1)

4.3 276
by Jack Campbell
 

See All Formats & Editions

Captain John “Black Jack” Geary’s legendary exploits are known to every schoolchild. Revered for his heroic “last stand” in the early days of the war, he was presumed dead. But a century later, Geary miraculously returns from survival hibernation and reluctantly takes command of the Alliance Fleet as it faces annihilation by the Syndic.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Dauntless (Lost Fleet Series #1) 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 276 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
While military science fiction is not usually my favorite SCIFI genre, I have in recent years become fascinated with it. I think it is because authors like Jack Campbell write such authentic, captivating stories. Mr. Campbell captures the current tone of a nation's military concerns, especially 'tradition'. Tradition isn't something that just pops up in the last generation, it is the bedrock of a civilization's moral standards, no matter how other people and countries act. The loss of history and the breakdown in tradition and the military rules of war make the strange actions of the Admiral and other characters plausible, even inevitable. One critical measure of a great book, especially a great SCIENCE fiction novel, is how easily the story flows. The Lost Fleet: Dauntless fits the bill nicely, as the reader enjoys the story without having to pause in the reading process. The author is very knowledgeable about the SCIENCE needed for the story. Jack Campbell's describes ship movements and tactical training in a most realistic manner. These scenarios draw the reader into the story to 'see' what was happening as the ships move through space and time. For instance, Jack Campbell's descriptions of the direction of the ships' movements as a blue or red shift was very impressive. The author explained the concept in a way that didn't intrude on the flow of the fast paced action narrative. It was part of the story. Also, the details of equipment, situations and people really pulls the reader into the story. Jack Campbell is a most thoughtful author who has written a compelling story that makes the reader a participant who looks forward to the next part of the journey home.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The naval aspects of this book are excellent. Crew interaction, lingo, rhetoric, etc. Decent storyline. Not riveting though. I actually put it down and forgot about it for a while. With space there are those going for as much "real" as possible. For example, Battlestar Galactica's space battles vs. Star Wars' dog fights. Space is a friction-less place, Mr. Lucas. That being said, we weren't worried when Wedge had to bank his x-wing: in space. Or even when Starbuck pulls a 180 at high speeds. We just accept it and move on with the action and the story. Dauntless incorporates so much of light and the time that it takes to travel, it becomes distracting from the story. As I'm reading about an intense syndic cruiser approaching "Titan", suddenly we're discussing relativistic effect and distortion. This goes on throughout the book. It takes away from the story. Although we're going for realism, as science fiction readers we're okay if we overlook some science for the sake of a good story or battle scene. Also, Capt. John Geary isn't the character that tends to draw people in. Weak is the word I would use. He has no particular strengths and no particular weaknesses. When compared to some of the greats: Ender Wiggin, or Grand Admiral Thrawn he just comes off as ...bland. I won't be reading the rest of the series.
Majorcats More than 1 year ago
Decent series overall. It doesn't say but I believe this is more of a Young Adult type of series. The physics and space battles feel a bit simplified from what you might see in a really good book. Characters almost always take the obvious path, no real sense of passing time even though its mentioned many times...due mostly I think to long periods of time being entirely glossed over, where an action takes place that would take many hours to see the resolution of but then its done in the very next sentence, etc. Still, all in all a decent read.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I don't read much sci/fi, but I really liked this book. So much so that I signed on just now to see if the author had any other books. This book kept my attention and spark my imagination. What else can you ask from a book?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
When I find a book I like I typically can not wait to go back to the book and read read read. Though I would recommend this book I was not jumping to pick it up - I didn't struggle through it. I am torn if I am going to pick up #2.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is on par with Card's Enders Game in the way it captures imagination and attention. I finished this book in a day, as I did the second in the series (Dauntless), and am eagerly awaiting the 3rd book. The 'harder science' concepts of space travel and combat are very appealing and more enjoyable than Weber's Harrington series.
harstan More than 1 year ago
The Alliance believes that they can finally win the centuries¿ old war with the Syndicate Worlds thanks to a traitor who gives them the Syndic hypernet key. They use it to travel to the homeworlds of the Syndicate hoping to take the enemy by surprise with a sneak attack and destroy their war capabilities. On the journey they find the space pod of Captain John ¿Black Jack¿ Geary who has slept inside for over a hundred years since he won a major victory that saved the Alliance and made him a legend.------------- When the Alliance vessels reach Syndic space, they face the might of their adversary¿s fleet. The Alliance fleet commander visits his counterpart¿s ship to discuss terms of disengagement, but first turns over command to Geary. If the Alliance is to survive, Geary knows they must escape back to their sector and turn the key over to the leadership. The only escape is through a series of dangerous slow space jumps. They make it to a place where they regroup led by Geary who teaches them honor before he leads them into mortal combat.--------------- Fans of Battlestar Galactica will enjoy Jack Campbell¿s military science fiction novel. The battle scenes are intense and intrinsically described enabling the audience to visualize the fast-paced action. However, the hero makes THE LOST FLEET a cut above most sub-genre works as he is mortified that he became a legend when others were as courageous but not recognized. He prays he can live up to his reputation as this is the Alliance¿s darkest yet bravest hour.----------- Harriet Klausner
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love the premise and the characters are appropriate to the plot but a few lack real depth. For instance the character Co-President Rione appears to be Geary's main antagonist but the confrontations and arguments she puts to him are weak and by the third meeting I found myself rolling my eyes and skimming forward and wondering why Geary felt he had to explain himself to her at all. She kept threatening to pull her republic ships. I wanted him to say ok good luck defending yourself without the fleet. Another issue that weakened the book for me was the hurried leap to a "third party" intervention. So for me the drama was very weak. The action started late, there were long lines of inner thought to plow through and I kept waiting for some revelation about the last battle he was in that could make his mythic status dim, either in his own eyes or even some in the fleet. I hope the other books build more depth.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The protagonist (Black Jack) remains undeveloped throughout this first book. Generally all the main characters are (cartoon) place holders and the storyline takes priority over texture and setting. The "enemy" is annoyingly superficial. The author assumes that the reader is a space opera junky and leaves far too much to the reader's imagination. The pace of the action (space battles) is superior and rational (for SciFi). Downtime between battles that should have been sufficient for supporting character development and interpersonal relationships are wasted on plot speculation (Aliens!). The book was only 229 pages long and blatantly planned as a series.
Brian Weir More than 1 year ago
No technobabble, realistic characters, and plenty of fighting!
Dimension29 More than 1 year ago
I received the first in this 6 part series for Christmas. It was on my wish list but I don't remember how or why it got there. It was recommended from some podcast or some "People who liked this, like that" List. I wish I could remember how it got on my list because I owe them a thanks. The story starts off great from the first page. You're not hit with 20 pages of "Get to know Me!" character development. That comes later and mixed in with storyline so it doesn't get tedious. The story is original and very interesting but the main character John Geary reminded me of Ender of Card's Ender series. I kind of wish this John Geary storyline (waking up 100 years later to the ongoing war) was how the Ender series playout. I'm not a fast reader but somehow I finished through Book 5 in mid January. Only to realize I have to wait until April for the 6th! That hurt.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It is hard to put this book down. You can't wait for the next one waiting to see when this fleet of ships will make it back.
Ryanxia More than 1 year ago
John Hemry (or Jack Campbell) lived up to his meticulous style of futuristic space warfare. The 'technical aspects' are very inventive, always finding new ways in his novel to do something other than mainstream sci-fi. This is an excellent read, I read it in about a day and will buy the second one next week.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I just happened to pick this book up from a book vendor in the street and not expecting what I was getting into. I was totaly taken by suprise and didnt expect this book to be this good. I read alot of Sci-Fi and I cant wait to get the next book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Starts quick and doesn't get bogged down in techno details. The plot flows well
Shatman More than 1 year ago
I am currently on the 5th book in the first series. A great story line with constant action. Realistic issues and life problems if you were in the shoes of the lead character. One of the best Sci-fi military space books I have read in awhile. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Waits
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
(Hi.)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is getting boring im going to leave this. Oh yes and dont axpect to see me soon p! This is stup id!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Cool.