×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Dave Barry's History of the Millennium (So Far)
     

Dave Barry's History of the Millennium (So Far)

4.4 20
by Dave Barry
 

See All Formats & Editions

A brilliantly funny look at the tumultuous recent past from the Pulitzer Prize?winning humorist.

Remember when everything was going to go to hell when Y2K struck?

That didn't happen. Right?

But what did happen? To provide a little perspective on a really messed-up millennium (so far), the one and only Dave Barry slips into his

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Dave Barry's History of the Millennium (So Far) 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 20 reviews.
DavidPaul More than 1 year ago
If you are easily offended when someone takes the liberty of making your poitical heros look silly, avoid this book. Dave Barry skewers politicians, scientists, and everyone else he can get his hands on, equally. However, he is gentle, finds a way to avoid his silliness becoming barbs or "cheap shots" and ultimately, creates a really offbeat, funny read about some of history's events and personalities. This is not for Rush Limbaugh fans - Dave Barry respects the readers enough to let us draw our own conclusions. Get it, read it, share it, and give it to everyone you know. Politics is too much fun not to do this.
Guest More than 1 year ago
A small book packed with lots of witisims and nothing and no one is spared, and that includes Iraq. Mr. Barry is an equal opportunity bipartisan satirist whose observations really sum up some of life's absurdities. Lots of fun and a quick read, but don't read too quickly because despite it's small content, there is a lot to digest.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Babinski More than 1 year ago
Amusing. Humorous. A bit too glib and often inaccurate.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
MELKI More than 1 year ago
Dave Barry does it again. Lots of fun. I was laughing my head off while reviewing the millennum so far (and the first one too!). Great entertainment.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
sandiblack More than 1 year ago
Dave Barry is always funny and satirical. He nails the humor and has a way of noting the quirkiest traits in people he describes in his books. I find myself laughing out loud at times, and always smiling and the read is anything but boring. I hope he keeps the books coming. We need his humor badly nowadays!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Everything by Dave Barry is good, everything! If he writes a shopping list I bet it's hilarious. I also really enjoy Bill Bryson. My latest funny read was a travel adventure by David Jerome called "Roastbeef's Promise." There's my recommendations for a whole lotta laughs!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
I think Dave is a very talented humorist and have enjoyed his work for years.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I really loved this book, the history of the millenium was hilarious and the way that the florida election officials keep popping up is absolutely hysterical!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Barry walked away from his newspaper column over a year ago, and I miss him. However, this book marks a return to form. Barry's funny here, and he hasn't always been funny in his recent books. But the book made me laugh.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I love everything that Dave Barry writes. It is a certain sense of humor you need to enjoy, but once you get into it you will never put his books down. Loved it!
harstan More than 1 year ago
This is an amusing look at the new millennium and the previous millennium. In terms of the new one, Dave Barry¿s annual surveys of key events (from 2000-2006) like the attorney invasion of Florida just after the final vote in the 2000 election was cast to the truth behind 2004 Abu Ghraib to 2005 when the fury of females like Katrina, Martha, and Paris owned the world. These segues are overall amusing with some in your face slapstick and others droll and witty however, in fairness some of the entries especially the older ones have lost their jocularity. The previous millennium segment is the highlighting of history from 1000-1999 with entries like the first Gutenberg book was a Danielle Steel heater and the true cost of buying Manhattan Island when credit is unacceptable, maintenance fees are soaring, and $24 is zillions in today¿s present value of money. This is a lighthearted irrelevant look back at the last 1006 years although some liberals might insist the White House will believe Mr. Barry is a great historian stating just the facts (with a few mistakes that cannot be revealed as they are classified) and a lot of illustrations to prove an inconvenient truth like the Da Vinci masterpiece is pizza. --- Harriet Klausner