×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

David Inside Out
     

David Inside Out

4.2 17
by Lee Bantle
 

See All Formats & Editions

David Dahlgren, a high-school senior, finds solace in running with the track team; he's a fast runner, and he enjoys the camaraderie. But team events become a source of tension when he develops a crush on one of his teammates, Sean. Scared to admit his feelings, David does everything he can to suppress them: he dates a girl, keeps his distance from his best friend

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

David Inside Out 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 17 reviews.
LoonyMoonyy More than 1 year ago
i read this book literaly in one hour i just couldn't put it down. a great read i would recomend it to any one
Benette_W More than 1 year ago
The second I finished reading this book, I jumped on-line so I could express my excitement over this incredibly important piece of young adult literature. Lee Bantle has masterfully captured the ubiquitous angst of adolescence, only this time much of the heartbreak centers on self discovery related to a teenager's sexuality. Although the story will be especially relevant to kids who are experiencing emotions similar to David's, the question it poses is universal-- How do we come to accept ourselves so we can live an authentic life? -- that's why I recommend the book for all teens experiencing the struggles of growing up. And don't get the idea that this book is a downer or too heavy duty. Bantle manages to write a heartfelt piece that offers up as much laughter as it does tears. A sincere, lovely book in all respects. (And I love how he writes about food.)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
My uncle wrote this book. He gave me the manuscript of it before it came out. I definitly reccomend it! Even though it is a young adult book it is more for the older part of young adults. 13 is the youngest someone should be to read this book and that's still a little young. Buy the book and read it. If you have a face book you can become a fan of Lee Bantle, the author. This is a great story because it acheives so many things from enjoyable, to heartwarming, to self discovery. It includes many aspects of life. Happy Reading :)
Emma-Baily More than 1 year ago
When I first picked up this book I did so because it reminded me of a friend. I thought it'd be a fun read. I was pleasantly surprised to find that this book wasn't just something good to read on a Sunday afternoon, it was truly inspiring and honestly so helpful to someone questions themselves. The first time I read it through, I really enjoyed it, but I think to truly appreciate it, I had to read it again. It's a great story, which I could identify with on so many levels. Even if you're not gay, or bi, it's still a great love story with a healthy amount of triumph and drama included. A definite must read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Godiva_the_Poodle More than 1 year ago
Well, I'm probably going to sound immensely whiny, but... the way the story plays out is beyond irritating! Sure characters make mistakes, all good novels have that element, but I felt like reaching inside the text, and slapping David upside the head. I mean, he trusted Sean, a total jerk, WAY too much, and basically let himself become his tool for getting off. That's fair. And then he treats his gay best friend like he is an alien, or something, for pretty much the whole novel. Look, the book is good, but the fact I read it two days again and I can't even remember the friend's name tells me that it isn't a piece of art. I wouldn't actively discourage reading it, but- actually, I might. Or at least purchasing it. At under 200 pages, it's pretty thin, and probably not worth the time or money. Whatever. It's not terrible. I liked it. I forgot about it. The ending was good, though, I can remember that much. If you've bought it already, read it, but I would say that unless you are dead-set to purchase it, reconsider.
La_Femme_Readers More than 1 year ago
My Rating: 4.5 David Inside Out was a novel about self-discovery which offered an evoking plot and endearing characters. I've never had the chance to read a GLBT book until now. I must say, Lee is an extraordinary author who has the ability to grab readers from start to finish. The quality behind the story was sincere and powerfully impressive. David's personality was amazing; he had a good head on his shoulders and a caring heart. However, the struggle within himself was confused and lost. His mind told him to like girls while his body yearned for his track mate, Sean. In addition, David started pushing away his recent, openly gay best friend in fear of coming to terms with his true feelings. Sean was perceived as a "straight" guy that quickly started befriending David. At first, I didn't quite understand what he was trying to prove with David. Was he straight or gay? All I found out was Sean was selfish, vile and ignorant. Just thinking about him makes me shudder with anger. I felt sorry for David's vulnerable state of mind. However, I didn't think he was playing it smart by acting like a sucker. Another character I found interesting was David's closest girl friend, Kick. I respect her determination to make him her boyfriend even though he obviously showed opposite signs. All through David Inside Out, Lee presented real issues that not only gay teens could relate to but, also individuals who have experienced discrimination in their lives. The gladsome ending wrapped up well and I finally got to see David's true nature. I liked Lee's writing style and look forward to picking up more works by him. I also need to warn my young readers that this book contains sexual content, so proceed with caution.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
TeensReadToo More than 1 year ago
DAVID INSIDE OUT was a book that I'd been looking forward to reading for awhile and I'm grateful I was given the chance to review it. It's a very fast read: I got so caught up in the story, I was able to finish it in only one day. David's best friend, Eddie, comes out as gay and shows that he doesn't care - it's just the way he is. David, on the other hand, pushes him away so people won't call him "gay by association" if you will, and pretends that he doesn't have the same feelings. He even acts as if he likes his other best friend, Kick, who has a crush on him...but eventually the truth will need to come out and he's simply prolonging the inevitable. No matter what though, I was happy to see that Kick and Eddie's reactions to David were realistic and genuine. That's how I would describe the whole book, actually. Sean and David's "relationship" seemed real, as Sean refused to admit his sexuality, while David begins to see that it might be the right thing to do. I loved these characters and I honestly felt for all of them, no matter how they were managing their lives. Whether you are gay or not, it's hard to "come out" and be true to yourself. Life tries to tell you how to be and this book definitely focuses on how these lives are changed while they come to terms with who they are and who they love. Definitely recommended. I have a feeling this will be one of those underdog books, so I really hope people will pick up a copy and spread the word.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
imeowbooks More than 1 year ago
i think the book was good, this book is very important to my bestfriend and i, my friend is gay and im the bestfriend, everyday we would go to barnes and nobles and he would read it while i would be reading something else. after everytime we would hide it cause it was the last copy. i didnt read the book but my friend would stop and and tell me everything that was going on. my idea is that david and sean were both very confused i really wasnt to into the characters but i enjoyed spending the time with my bestfriend and seeing him enjoy every minute of it.
DanVA More than 1 year ago
Between track, school, college applications, and relationships David learns more about himself and others in many life-changing experiences. For David, life isn't without challenges, with his father dying when he was five, high school classes, and now: coming to terms with his feelings towards men. While going through this self-discovery, he is fortunate to have great support of his mother, who always seems to be there to lift him up just enough. His journey regarding his homosexuality started when his friend Eddie, an openly gay more effeminate character, who shares his love of romance novels, came out of the closet. At the moment, David wasn't too keen on the idea of being gay and didn't want to be involved with anything having to do with being gay including being around his best friend. However, he was still attracted to an eye-catching track teammate, Sean. To avoid homosexual thinking, David wore a rubber band around his wrist and snapped it to try to stop those thoughts. The attractive runner, Sean, and David's relationship continued to evolve and became racy and romantic. Through their relationship they learn more about themselves in regards to their homosexuality, but also more about how they should treat people and their general identities. Sean turns out to be not the most perfect guy in the world, but also seems to be going through similar issues that David is facing. Throughout the story, David faces homophobia through negative comments from Parker, who consistently makes homophobic remarks and even defaces a Gay-Straight Alliance sign. At first David is hesitant to take a stand against such homophobia by not being a part of the Gay- Straight Alliance his friend Eddie is trying to start. However, he becomes more confident about who he is and less afraid of being gay, and being seen with other people that are gay. In the end, David becomes more comfortable with his sexuality. His relationships with Sean, Eddie, and Kick all change as he discovers more about himself. The novel's ending has many twists, which certainly makes the book much more interesting and less predictable. David's struggle with identity and coming out is quite authentic, relatable, and tangible. The experiences draw the reader into the storyline whether positive, questioning, or negative. I liked the utilization of the hotline as a resource for LGBTQQ teens. DAVID INSIDE OUT is quite funny, due to David's thoughts and comments made by other characters, such as Eddie. Bantle skillfully develops David's relationships with other characters, particularly his mother and Sean. One question on identity I found insightful was: "How can you be yourself if you don't know who that is? (9)". People constantly say "be yourself" and I thought this was a great way of addressing that idea and the struggle regarding identity formation facing teens. One area I would have liked to see more development would be Eddie's background and his coming out struggles. This may be an interesting idea for a possible sequel. The book, overall, was a positive, enjoyable, easy read and a nice addition to LGBTQ coming of age young adult literature, and leaves the reader with the message that it is okay to be gay and is a part of who one is as an individual and your friends may continue to be your friends regardless of sexuality.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago