×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Dawnbreaker (Dark Days Series #3)
     

Dawnbreaker (Dark Days Series #3)

4.2 106
by Jocelynn Drake
 

See All Formats & Editions

The dawn brings new terror for the creatures of the night . . .

Those of her race fear Mira for the lethal fire she bends to her will—a power unique among nightwalkers, both a gift . . . and a curse.

The naturi despise Mira for what she is—as they prepare the final sacrifice that will destroy the barriers

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Dawnbreaker (Dark Days Series #3) 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 106 reviews.
Blondeness032 More than 1 year ago
A bit more meloncholy than the first two books, but the story is always evolving (and interesting). I will be buying more of this series.
ILgirl82 More than 1 year ago
Ok so i've read 3 of the books in this series and so far this one is better than the first two. BUT the plot is still the same and it's getting pretty boring. Add to the fact that Mira and Danaus have been threatening to kill each other for 3 books now and that too is getting old and predictable. It's like the author is rewriting the same book just differently to make it seem like there new books. Though i think Dawnbreaker was better than the first two it's still predictable and the same heartless characters, none of the characters are likeable and a story is lacking ALOT when you don't even like who your reading about!!! are the publishers blind to this??????
VanyWag More than 1 year ago
I very much enjoy this series and especially this 3rd book. It is past paced with lots of action and an unexpected turn of events. Mira has made the top of my all time favorite heroines. I already can't wait for the next one.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
By the third book i found it tiresome and difficult to finish. The writer seems to think the reader xuffers from severe alsheimers and must be reminded of every plot point to the point of nausea. Yes, it is a good story but i stopped caring many pages ago.
MyUrbanFantasies More than 1 year ago
Originally published on my blog, My Urban Fantasies. (myurbanfantasies.blogspot) The seal to the door is finally broken. Jabari orders Mira to return to the coven. Mira tells him no, that she's returning to Savannah, where she is needed, and that she will fight the naturi when the time comes. Mira also invites Danaus to come with her, claiming that it will be easier to kill him if she does not have to hunt him down. *smirk* Yeah, like any of us believe that's the reason Mira want Danaus with her. Dawnbreaker starts roughly two months after Dayhunter. Mira and Danaus had parted ways long before Mira reached Savannah. He flew with her from Crete, but got off the plane in Paris. Mira is now in Savannah and everything is not going as well as she had hoped. Ties with the local pack are becoming more strained due to the constant naturi attacks. The naturi are using the werewolves to attack the nightwalkers. The nightwalkers are forced to defend themselves usually resulting with dead werewolves. This leaves us with a less than happy Barrett. When Danaus arrives in Savannah the naturi attacks become worse. Danaus decides to stay in Savannah. Mira is forced to make him swear he will not hunt another nightwalker while in her domain. Mira no longer trusts Danaus with vampire allies because he killed Penelope with little warning and no hesitation. Mira tells Danaus that she can not worry about protecting her people from him and the naturi. Eventually Mira and Danaus come to an understanding. If one of Mira's nightwalkers attacks Danaus, he can defend himself. If Danaus hunts any of the nightwalkers Mira will gut him and send his charred entrails back to Ryan in a doggie bag. Along their journey the trust slowly begins to build again. Danaus is essentially Mira's only ally in that battle against the naturi. On the way to stop Rowe from opening the door, Danaus has to trust Mira like he never has before. The enemy are attacking and the only way for Danaus to stay alive is to be completely vulnerable and trust Mira to keep him safe, from the small army of naturi and a room full of nightwalkers. Dawnbreaker is action packed, and beautifully written. The characters are evolving, I finally find myself becoming emotionally invested in them. Mira is quickly becoming my favorite character. It's amazing that she's not completely insane. If something bad can happen to Mira, it usually does. Mira's constantly confronting ghosts from her past, starting when she was human right up to the present. There seems to be a growing list of people who want to control Mira or just want her dead. If you're expecting Mira and Danaus to grow a collective brain and realize they actually like each other and do not want to kill each other, you're going to be disappointed. Mira and Danaus do not hook up in this book. I have high hopes for future books though, mostly because I'm a romantic and refuse to believe they will be oblivious of their feelings forever.
booklover1A1 More than 1 year ago
This one was a litte slow for me. I'm just waiting to see what is going on with Myra and Danaus, they make a great team! We'll see the next book.
harstan More than 1 year ago
The naturi are preparing the end game assault with a special sacrifice that will destroy the barrier between them and the human-nightwalkers. Once Rowe completes the portal, his spouse the queen Aurora will lead her race as they cross over to devastate both species. The only hope for humanity and the nightwalkers resides with Mira, who has special skills especially with the use of fire. However, she is realistic as she knows the odds are heavily against her unless an alliance is forged as has occurred between her and the vampire slayer Danaus. However they have new hope when they capture naturi Princess Cynnia who insists she opposes her sister's plan for the apocalypse. The third Dark Days urban fantasy (see DAYHUNTER and NIGHTWALKER) is a terrific action-packed entry that is driven by partners forced into what both believe is an unnatural partnership. The characters make the story line feel genuine as Mira the fire starter vampire and Danaus the vampire hunter need to team up or lose to the naturi. With treason from within their ranks and seemingly within the nature, Jocelyn Drake complicates her overarching theme tenfold in what is turning into a magnificent saga. Harriet Klausner
msuzy More than 1 year ago
This book is a fast-paced, action-filled cliffhanger. This is the first book I have read by this author. Tomorrow I am going to get the first two in the series. I can't wait to see how the story built to this point. Nightwalkers, werewolves, and naturi keep you reading long after you planned.
Anonymous 4 months ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Just a geat book
SmalltownSR More than 1 year ago
A decent, quick read; a lot of action. I new characters have been introduced.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Worst book out of the entire series of 6. Don't know how I finished it. The entire book is a recap of what has already happened. Sometime Drake even recaps the last freaking chapter you read so it gets incredibly redundant. Denaus still has no personality. He nods, grunts, and tries not to smile. And sometimes touches Mira's face. That's about it....
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Love
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Another great book to read in the Dark Days Series!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago