×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Dead as a Doornail (Sookie Stackhouse/Southern Vampire Series #5)
     

Dead as a Doornail (Sookie Stackhouse/Southern Vampire Series #5)

4.4 1852
by Charlaine Harris
 

See All Formats & Editions

The fifth installment of the Sookie Stackhouse novels from #1 New York Times bestselling author Charlaine Harris

When small-town cocktail waitress Sookie Stackhouse sees her brother Jason’s eyes start to change, she knows he’s about to turn into a were-panther for the first time. But her concern becomes cold fear when a

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Dead as a Doornail (Sookie Stackhouse/Southern Vampire Series #5) 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1852 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Wow, I am surprised that this series just gets better and better as you read it. This book makes a shift to focus more on werewolfes and shapeshifters and of course, most of them accept her. We also see a little more from the fairies.

The book picks up on the storyline that was laid in book 4. Eric has his memory back, but doesn't remember. Jason has been bitten by a werepanther and is waiting for the first full moon.

Someone is trying to kill werewolfs and shifters, the search for Debbie Pelt continues and there are attempts made on Sookie's life. While I would have liked to have seen more with the vampires in this book, we got to see enough of them and the storyline with Eric and Sookie is further developed. (love that) Lots of great and well developed plot in this book.

Definetly a page turner and a worthwhile read in this series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
After watching 6 seasons of the HBO series based on these books, in many respects I still like the books better (that is, Books 1-10). Unlike most book in a series, I think that the books in this series would make for satisfying stand alone read because the main mystery or mysteries are solved within each book so although the saga continues the books don't end on the typical cliffhanger fashion. Nevertheless, to become truly immersed in the Sookie Stackhouse world I recommend reading the books in order. The reader is again taken on a journey with Sookie through a captivating, humorous and often perilous adventure into the secret world of the two natured and the undead, as well as, the secret thoughts of the living. This edition is filled with loads of action, mystery, danger, suspense and a bit of humor. The writing style leaves a bit to be desired but I love the originality of the plot and the characters so this book, as well as books 1 thru 10, is still primarily a winner in my opinion. Given Sookie's physical attributes, her personality, her zeal for life, her vitality and her special "gift" and heritage I neither find it surprising nor unrealistic or irritating that the supernatural males find her desirable. Besides, it's fantasy people and I for one enjoy Sookie's romantic encounters and almost encounters with such a diverse variety of sinfully sexy and deliciously alpha supernatural males. I always enjoy a sookie book. The characters are great (especially Eric) I love Eric! The crazy situations and things that happen are fun to read about. With mystery and suspense and great characters you can't go wrong!   
ReadingQueen12-17 More than 1 year ago
I don't know if Ms. Harris was a little tired after all the effort she put into the first 4 books but book 5 in the Stackhouse series reads like a drawn out afterthought; a little nonsensical and very often dull. In Doornail there is a sniper on the loose taking out members of the supernatural world. Sookie endures the usual litany of sticky situations and mortal injuries but this time around the story is extremely diluted with pointless commentary and insufferable podunk metaphors ("my face burned like a pack of fire ants"). Cue the banjo. Furthermore, this book is somewhat hard to follow. Many of the pivotal characters are people/things that have never before been referenced and there are times when the dialogue is completely without context; "I turned to Maryelizabeth and her daughter and thanked them for the glass of water. Maryelizabeth gave me a hostile look and said to her daughter 'We should've never sent you to school'". What? What does that have to do with anything? I very often read after I've had a couple (six) glasses of wine but I have a pretty good recollection of the major action items in this story and Maryelizabeth's daughter's education had nothing to do with anything and while we're at it, who the hell is Maryelizabeth? I mean, I'm going to continue reading the series (if anything it makes the HBO series more fun to watch) but I sincerely hope later stories have a little more umph.
cloggiedownunder More than 1 year ago
Dead as a Doornail is the fifth book in the Sookie Stackhouse series by popular American author, Charlaine Harris. As a newly-minted shifter, Sookie’s brother Jason is causing her concern: first she worries about how he is coping with his involuntary were-panther state; then, when it seems that someone is out there shooting shifters (already three shot in a few days), she worries for his safety, both from the shooter, and from those shifters who suspect Jason himself. Life is never dull in Bon Temps: Sookie has had to beg help from Eric (in the form of a bartender/bouncer) when her boss Sam is incapacitated; Private Investigators are nosing around, inquiring about the whereabouts of a shifter whose body Sookie is certain won’t be found; Sookie attends the funeral of the Shreveport Packmaster and finds herself an integral part of the ritual that decides his replacement; someone decides to set fire to Sookie’s house with her in it; and she finds that returning books to the library can be more dangerous than she ever imagined. In this instalment, Sookie finds herself being kissed by, or otherwise intimate, with no less than six men, while there are three people trying to kill her. All the usual characters make appearances, a few new ones appear, with Harris even bringing in a couple from her Lily Bard series (Jack Leeds and Lily Bard Leeds) and the reader learns a bit more about the Sookieverse. Several climaxes and plenty of laughs in this instalment. 4.5 stars
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Every book is great, just great, im not sure wich one is better the books or the tv series, anyway now im going to enjoy the next
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am enjoying this series. Some parts and books more than others. One request is that those of you writing reviews quit giving away major plot points. Say whether you like the book, give vague details and then be done! A review is not a book report where you have to list all the details!
FoleyKat More than 1 year ago
5th book in the Sookie Stackhouse series. I loved it. I'm intrigued by the new character Quinn, and also to see what Eric is going to do now that Sookie has told him what really happened when he was under the witches spell. I look forward to book 6. BTW... Bill is a bit of a douche in this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was another great read..... she keeps us wanting more!
Wicked_Storm More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Lindsie More than 1 year ago
I love this series! While this book was not as action packed as some of her previous ones, it was still an awesome read! I love being able to read the series while watching the series. Cannot wait to read book #6! B++++
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago