×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Dead City
     

Dead City

4.1 147
by Joe McKinney
 

See All Formats & Editions

A relentless thrill ride. . . Break out the popcorn, you're in for a real treat. —Harry Shannon, author of Dead and Gone

Texas? Toast.

Battered by five cataclysmic hurricanes in three weeks, the Texas Gulf Coast and half of the Lone Star State is reeling from the worst devastation in history. Thousands are dead or dying—but the worst is

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Dead City 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 146 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Even though I have read more than my share of zombie books, I only bought this book on a lark. The blurb on the back and fairly cliched cover didn't really interest me. Wow. I was surprised at how I got drawn into this book. I would give this book 4.5 stars, if I could. Sure, it had its warts. I felt the end was very rushed and the start a bit slow. I felt a few scenes were unnecessary, as they didn't add anything to the plot. But after about page 50, I got to share the emotions of a cop as he watches his city slowly die. There is also a scene in a church that is a great commentary on how some people will hold certain beliefs even while the world crumbles around them. Others may have felt this slowed the story's action, but it was this element of human connection that kept the novel from being a mindless hack-and-slash gorefest.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I bought this book for my husband. This is what he had to say about the book. "Visuals were great and story-line realistic. I frequently found myself empathizing with the characters and experiencing their sense of doom. I even found myself getting upset at the stupidity of some character's actions! So, this was a great book. Definitely makes you wonder...what would you have done? I agree, not one to put down...I read entire book on a Sunday morning and finished in the afternoon...after I cut grass!! lol"
retrolady More than 1 year ago
This book is great from the first page to the last. I hated to finish it. I hope this author writes more soon. I am fairly new to zombie literature but if I can find more like this "Once you go Zombie you never go Back" LOL!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is the first book in mckinneys dead world saga and while all of em are good this is probably the best one. Gives max brooks and jonathan maberry a run for their money
Ryanxia More than 1 year ago
After reading all the reviews about this book I decided to pick it up, I read it in about 2 days and it was pretty interesting. I like the fact that it was from the perspective of a cop, and I've often wondered before reading this book, just how some of the cops would react when faced with a major disaster like a zombie attack and saving their own families. Maybe it's because I've read a lot of the Resident Evil series but I'm used to having a lot going on in the plot, this was straight up original but didn't have a lot going on. I enjoyed it, but it didn't 'send chills down my spine' like some other zombie novels I've read.
Darkportia More than 1 year ago
a good read if you like zombie books
JollyG More than 1 year ago
I've read a few other zombie books like this and if you like sci-fi, zombie books or something of the like, then you'll like this book. You definitely shouldn't judge this book by its cover. The cover made me think the book may not be too great but it was one of the best zombie books I've read so far. Also, I'm not recommending "Down the Road", for some reason it's showing up on my review and it doesn't show up when I try to edit it. So I'm not recommending it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
24cb24 More than 1 year ago
Very, very poorly written. Great example of 2-dimensional characters, nonsensical plotline, and gaping plot holes, if you're into that.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great writer, I will read whatever he writes. He hasn't disappointed me yet
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Dead city was great and the author was very descriptive. Once I started reading it, I couldn't put it down. Would highly recommend to anyone.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good reading
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
No real character development. Just some dude running from zombies for a couple hundred pages.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A book about a mans fight to find his wife through a zombie outbreak in a major city
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
An interesting read, but the plot is predictable and not very original.