×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Dead-End Job
     

Dead-End Job

4.4 10
by Vicki Grant
 

See All Formats & Editions

Frances works the night shift at a local convenience store, dividing her time between restocking shelves and working on her art. Her routine is broken one night when Devin comes into the store. He claims to be the son of a famous local artist and offers her advice on her drawings. Although he seems to know way too much about her, Frances decides, against the advice

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Dead-End Job 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 10 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
My opinion on the Dead-end Job is that it is a really good book. I would recommend poeple who like solving books read this one. Its probablly one of the best books that i've ever read. So if you are looking for a really good book to read, then read the Dead-end job!:)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was an easy read. It was enjoyable to read; I felt that there was just enough "scare & mystery" to keep you interested but not leave you wanting to know more of the details.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Unfortunitly I was not impressed with this book at all. I had expected it to be scary and filled with gripping suspence, but the terror of the novel is fueled only by Frances's stupidity. Any reader can tell whats going to happen to Frances from painfully obvious clues dropped throughout the book that the oblivious Frances doesn't pick up on. Her complete cluelessness grated on my nerves and I had to force myself to finish it just so that I could find out how exactly an idiot like Frances can escape a stalker.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book title kinda tellz the book frances could be dead soon. Its the end of her and devins life. N this all kinda happens at her job the convience store. Hahah great book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Man u dobe messed ut up
Heidi_G More than 1 year ago
As is typical of the Orca Soundings series, the book is written at a level accessible to most middle school students and is an excellent resource for ELL and struggling readers. Frances works the graveyard shift at a convenience store. One night a customer comes to the store and really turns on his charm. He says that he is the son of a famous wildlife artist in town, the product of the first of many marriages. Frances laughs off his advances and later tells her jealous boyfriend about the stranger. The reader realizes long before Frances does that she is being stalked. A good reminder that everyone is not who they say they are. Teens hear adults say this often when conversing about online predators but the same can be said for in-person communications.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
i loved this book it was one of my favorite book. i just couldnt put the book down for 1 second it had all this action .IF U WANT TO READ A BOOK PICK THIS ONE . ITS AWSOME
Guest More than 1 year ago
I would reccommend this book to anyone who is looking for a interesting book. This book was so wonderful i finished it in an hour and half. The book was so scary that I just wanted to know what happens to Frances. She dosnt know what is going to happen but me as a reader can tell something bad is going to happen and it does.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book was terrifying at many points because you weren¿t sure what was going to happened to Frances. This book got my attention so much that I finished it the afternoon that I started to read it
Guest More than 1 year ago
I thought that this book was fantastic. It was so scary, you are worrying about Frances the whole time because you know something bad is going to happen to her, but she can't see it. The plot was really good, it kept me turning the pages. I would recommend this book to anyone looking for a good read!