×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Dead Man Walking: An Eyewitness Account of the Death Penalty in the United States
     

Dead Man Walking: An Eyewitness Account of the Death Penalty in the United States

3.5 15
by Helen Prejean
 

See All Formats & Editions

In 1982, Sister Helen Prejean became the spiritual advisor to Patrick Sonnier, the convicted killer of two teenagers who was sentenced to die in the electric chair of Louisiana’s Angola State Prison. In the months before Sonnier’s death, the Roman Catholic nun came to know a man who was as terrified as he had once been terrifying. She

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Dead Man Walking 3.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 15 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am currently taking an English class that required me to read this book. At first I thought it would be a bad boring book, but I judged it from the cover. It is actually a very good book, it helps you question the justice system and hope for change.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Alecia12 More than 1 year ago
This book is one that is complex and vivid. It also tells how the justice system can be manipulated for different reasons. This can be for power, personal, and or political reasons, just to name a few. It is a very well written book and anyone can get emotional connected. It allowed me to look at individuals who are facing death differently although the crime they committed was one that is horrendous. The Num who played the part as the spiritual advisor opposed the death penalty but did not turn a blind eye to the victim's family. Although this is the case she was faced with backlashes form the family. I was not surprise by her behavior and the way she sympathized with the inmates given that she is a religious person. This book is one that can create serious discussision. I would recommend it to any book-club.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is about a nun named Helen that became up close and person with the murderer of two teenagers from that were kidnapped from lovers lane. The murderers name was Patrick; Helen became the spiritual advisor for him and Angola state prison where the priest of the prison had to interview her before she could come in and be helpful to him. Helen also became close with the officers who had to be the ones to execute him in the electric chair and they even had some doubt about it. Overall this book was a good book and I would recommend it to anyone who thinks capital punishment is wrong.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is incredible. The Death Penalty is an issue that most people don't realize affects them. Their taxes possibly go to funding prisons and thereby executions. In this story the reader's idea that 'eye for an eye' is always appropriate is challenged by the father of a murdered victim: the father of a murdered son immediately forgives the murderer (true act of Christian love).
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book not only presents an exceptional example of good writing, it also provides a truly personal approach to the thinking related to capital punishment. Whatever you own personal view were before you read this book, they will never be the same. An excellent weekend read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I just saw the movie and it was beyond good, so I'll try the book out!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
I plan on pursuing a career involved in law after i graduate high school and I am very oppinionated on capital punishment. I may only be in 9th grade, but I understand the pros and cons of our governments way of execution. I believe this book can open the eyes of the people on both sides those that believe in the death sentence, and those that don't and maybe they can all come to an understanding that there is a fine line between those that deserve death, and those that don't, but that line, nevertheless, is there and needs to be fully understood by evey American so that we, as citizens, can fully understand our job because one day, it could be any one of us that is on a jury to decide between someone's life or death and everyone should be prepared to make that desicion, no matter how hard it may be to decide if a human's life should be taken from them, and I believe Prejean was very brave to take in such a responsibility such as this. I am not sure if I would be able to converse with people on death row and not be scared out of my mind, whether they actually did it, or if they were just an accomplice. I recomend this book to anyone that can fully understand the complexities of the death penalty and how important it is that we have such a system in our government.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is worth reading if the topic of Capital punishment in the US interests you. It gets fairly statistical at times and even preachy at other times, but overall Sister Prejean does a good job of presenting both sides of the murderer/victim story. I would think anyone opposed to the death penalty would enjoy this more than someone who supports capital punishment.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
jodiannw More than 1 year ago
Connor91 More than 1 year ago
Half of it is about the history of the death penalty and the other half is the story of the author, fighting to repeal the death penalty on some inmates.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is a real page stopper that any highschool student will be sure to hate, it gives up the plot before it happens, and before anything happens you know how its going to turn out.