×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Dead Men Kill: A Murder Mystery of Wealth, Power, and the Living Dead
     

Dead Men Kill: A Murder Mystery of Wealth, Power, and the Living Dead

3.0 29
by L. Ron Hubbard
 

See All Formats & Editions

Detective Terry Lane is a standout homicide cop who thought he’d seen it all . . . until now. 

As tough as Kevin Costner as Eliot Ness of The Untouchables—and just as incorruptible—Lane has seen the darkest side of human behavior.  But he’s never seen a murder spree like this, targeting the wealthy, the powerful and the

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Dead Men Kill: A Murder Mystery of Wealth, Power, and the Living Dead 3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 29 reviews.
Lorie Lowe More than 1 year ago
Reads like a 50's detective novel. A bit slow, but still interesting enough to make you want to finish. Only 70 pages to the story and then a sneak preview to another story.
A_Lover_of_Westerns More than 1 year ago
While I normally just like to read westerns, I was sent a copy of this book to read and found it a really fun, totally unlike other zombie stories you are likely to find -- or at least different from any I was familiar with. First off, it provides a "plausible" means of creating zombies and from my earlier research on Haiti, this story is pretty much right on the mark. That there is a hard boiled detective coupled with a dangerous dame, made for a great read from beginning to end.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Not my usual cup of tea, but I did enjoy it.
DeniseDQ More than 1 year ago
Great mystery. Kept me captivated the whole time. If you like mysteries you'll love this one.
CouponMamaMassachusetts More than 1 year ago
As a die-hard zombie fan, I'm always looking for another film or novel to whet my zombie-loving appetite. Best selling American pulp fiction author L. Rob Hubbard introduces a unique perspective on the walking dead, setting his story, "Dead Men Kill," in the Golden Age of the 1930s. Originally published in a 1934 issue of the pulp fiction magazine, Thrilling Detective, "Dead Men Kill" follows Terry Lane, a police detective, through the most spine-tingling and dangerous investigation of his life. In an effort to capture a serial murderer, Lane battles the living dead, encounters a sexy vixen, and tries to evade the mysterious and deadly threats from "loup-garou." If you're looking for an action-packed, quick and easy read, "Dean Men Kill" is sure to be right up your alley. At less than 100 pages, L. Ron Hubbard's story took me less than two hours to read. While not the most elegant use of language or most flowery prose, the short chapters are engaging and leave you wanting more. The audio-drama version is equally as fast paced and suspenseful. Featuring Emmy Award-winning actor John Mariano, the audio performance includes music and sound effects that make you feel as though you're running beside Terry Lane through the cemetery and fighting off your own pack of brainless zombies. In some cases, the audio-drama acting is almost too quick paced, making it difficult to follow the story line if you're not reading along with the actors' performances. The book itself is printed on wonderfully thick paper meant to mimic the look and feel of the pulp fiction magazines in which the story was originally published and bring that Golden Age nostalgia in its readers. If you're looking for an out-of-the-box zombie tale or you just want a quick and entertaining read, "Dead Men Kill" is worth the time.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The book is a quick read but not the most suspenseful novel. If you're into this era of science fiction you may enjoy it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
lifeasleels More than 1 year ago
In the 1930s and 1940s, readers read pulp fiction - rough cut, pulpwood paper that held stories. Pulp fiction authors were considered no-holds barred entertainers and real storytellers that were interested in thrilling plot twists, horrific villains or white knuckle adventure. Dead Men Kill was a short read - literally a matter of a few hours over two nights. (It didn't help that I found it to be quite a page turner.) I loved the story. It wasn't your typically zombie story and it held thrill and excitement and mystery. I was actually excited as it neared revealing everything that I was able to piece the puzzle together (at the last minute but still!) I highly enjoyed this and will be getting hubby to read this because I truly think he would enjoy this. I'm not sure there is anyone that wouldn't enjoy it. It isn't gross or gore-ish, but is a great, easy read. Disclosure: I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hopefully I'm not the only one tired of short reads. As a faithful and avid reader, quite frankly I am tired of the painfully tedious task of finding a length-worthy work. However, I must compliment the author on the literature in question. A rather exceptional read if you enjoy a, "quickie,".
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Scotman55 More than 1 year ago
[This short review is for the Kindle version] I really should get the audio version since that really dramatizes the story just like Old Time Radio, but I digress. I'm really happy with this product, how they are reprinting these pulps in inexpensive ways for us fans of these kinds of novellas. Dead Men Kill was interesting in its premise about rich businessmen being killed by their "dead" secretaries. And a detective (who gets captured and nearly killed himself) on the trail of the Hyena. What is the connection between a Haitian pharmacy, Ms. Lane the exotic dancer, and a man we don't suspect is the real mastermind (who wants to take over the city, of course). The plot is nothing new -- bad guy, cynical good guy, a police captain who "doesn't want to hear it" and a beautiful girl who is quite the backstabber! Suggested not only for Hubbard pulp fans, but anyone who enjoys those stories from the Golden Age. I have always liked these tales, since listening to the old Dick Tracy and Inner Sanctum radio shows. [[ASIN:B0029L4NMY Inner Sanctum Mysteries, Vol. 3]]
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A delicious short read. A tasty 1940's "hard boiled" detective story. Words not in use today are highlighted and defined in the (included) glossary. A must read for crime noir junkies.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago