×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Dead Running
     

Dead Running

3.9 11
by Cami Checketts
 

See All Formats & Editions

Cassidy Christensen is running.

Running from the mercenaries who killed her parents.

Running from a scheming redhead intent on making her life miserable.

Running from painful memories that sabotage her dreams of happiness.

With two very tempting men competing for her attention, she hopes she'll finally have someone to run to, but can she trust either of them?

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Dead Running 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 11 reviews.
ruthhill74 More than 1 year ago
It seems that human trafficking has become something that has become a popular theme of books. I have lost track of how many books I have read about this horrible crime in recent times, and I sometimes forget how prevalent this truly is. Books like this are fantastic for pointing out the horrors of this slave trade. I was completely immersed in this book from the beginning. I almost could not put it down. I found myself on the edge of my seat for the last third of the book. I kept saying, "I just want to find out what is going on." Because Cami Checkette has woven a story with so many twists and turns that you will not be certain who is on which side. It will definitely keep you guessing. I loved Cassie, and most of the story was told from her perspective. Once in a while the author steps in and fills in some "holes" in the story. This story has so many elements to it--marathon racing, romance, truth vs. fiction, and much more. And guess what--the book is clean! That's right--no sex, profanity, or any gratuitous violence. You can read this, and your teens can, too. There are so many positive messages throughout the book. Cassidy learns that she is not a quitter, and she can follow through. She works very hard, and she accomplishes more than she could ever imagine. I am grateful that the author threw in some good humor. I found myself laughing out loud a couple of times. Oh, and the romance is never sappy. I think the book is too action-packed for anything to be called cheesy or sappy. I would invite anyone who likes an action-packed romance to pick this book up today! I was sent a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review. I was not financially compensated, and all opinions are 100 percent mine.
LAWonder More than 1 year ago
Cami Checketts is a talented writer yet I am a little confused as to where she came up with this title. I have a couple of vague ideas but I feel she could have come up with a better title. Regardless, this was a delightful story of a woman in her mid-20′s living with her grandmother after the loss of her parents killed in an accident in Mexico. After the Prequel, the story unfolds with grumbling by Cassie, and it is soon discovered this is because she is in a 5K marathon. She was persuaded by her pregnant sister-in-law, Raquel, to participate. She is a Physical Fitness Exercise Science major so how could she refuse? She is bumped by a very large runner and stumbles. Her arms and legs were skinned on the pavement. He comes back to see if she is OK. A very fast 10K runner who had recently zoomed by also stopped and checked on her before continuing on. The big “Nasty Muscle Man” guy was scary. Soon another guy zoomed by was “hot”! Very blue eyes, slightly strawberry blond hair and tall. After a long, embarrassing run, her and her sister-in-law was ‘cooling down’ when the announcer was reading off winners of the run and other contests. Her name was called. She was so excited! When claiming her prize she discovered it was for an entry for the St. George 20K run. The “Hot Redhead” girl who was in the run with her tried to get her to sell her the ticket. The announcer was very annoyed: First: That she did not want the placement in such a renowned race. Second: The prizes were not transferable and she had to reiterate this several times. “Hot Redhead” stated she had a big crush on the “Hot” guy, Damon, and he will be helping train for the St. George Marathon. He was beyond “hot”, he was gorgeous! A Tattoo Man” came towards her to check on her scrapes from falling. He is actually a Dr. and very attractive if you can get pass his massive tattoos to view his face. He is also very well-built. After he gently doctored her abrasions, she left the facility and went towards the woods so she could be alone. What she found a short way in the trees and by the stream was shocking. She “lost it” and stared uncontrollably screaming. The strong arms of the Dr. encircled her and he spoke soothingly to her until she calmed down. His touch sent soothing electricity through her. He then called 911 and carried her up the hill. He took her home as soon as he could. Cassie’s grandmother was not home…a good thing. She would probably go berserk over all the tattoos. Since the death of her parents over two years ago, Grandmother had been very protective in a strict manner. Her very protective brother and his family lived near by…near enough. She was relieved her grandmother didn’t see Dr. Tattoo. She would likely jump to wrong conclusions. After Dr. Tattoo left, she resumed complaining about the 20K in St. George she would have to run. She would do it because she could not, would not fail at another thing. She had ventured after several things since her parents death but never finished them. She would not fail this time. It helped that gorgeous Damon stopped by to let her know he would be training with her. The adventures continue to escalate. There are unexpected twists as the pace of the plot increases. This is a great romantic mystery. One is never sure, until the very end, who the ‘good guys’ and ‘bad guys’ are. Checketts adds a dry humor to the main character which is delightful. It causes the character to feel more real. This is a clean, well-written novel. I highly recommend it to YA and adults. It will brighten your reading experience.
sandyemerson More than 1 year ago
This book is a lot more than just a romance.  It's a book about having the strength to commit yourself to something that you may have never dreamed of doing or doing something against all odds. Cassidy is a girl who gets talked into doing a run with her pregnant sister-in-law Raquel and somehow ends up winning an entry that would qualify her to enter the St George's marathon.  But that's only the smallest point in this book, because along the way Cassidy has to deal with the fact that men are trying to kill her father - a man she believed had died several years ago.  And what's worse is that the men after her father worked for a slave trader who isn't known for his nice nature.  When I first started the book the first chapter was filled with action, but when the second chapter started it was kind of not what I was expecting.  It started four years into the future.  In some ways, I actually enjoyed how the time period changed. Cassidy was just a normal, everyday girl instead of a girl who had fallen head first into mystery and intrigue. The story is told in first and third voice.  It was told in Cassidy's voice most of the time, but then it would change to third voice for some of the other characters.  I really enjoyed how this was done because it allowed me to get into the head of not only the main character and the secondary characters also.  And, it also reminds me of how much I miss third voice at times. This wasn't just a straight-forward romance.  It was a story of intrigue.  Even the guys Cassidy ended up dating had their own sense of mytery.  Who could you trust?  Were they tied in with the bad guys? Those were the questions that I had during the time I was reading it.   And, I liked both guys - Jesse and Damon.  One always seemed to be there when she needed him and the other was just good fun.  It wasn't until later that you found out that both of them weren't what they appeared to be and that they both had secrets. But the mystery and suspense weren't the only things I liked about this story.  It was the character growth as well.  Cassidy regained her self-confidence in this book.  She went from believing she couldn't finish something to succeeding in something she never thought she would try.   I really enjoyed the ending of Dead Running, but I won't go on and say anything further because you'll just have to read it to see how it ended.  It was great.   I would recommend this to anyone who likes romance and mystery.   Book review from Sandy at Magical Manuscripts
dshutters More than 1 year ago
I loved the story would have gave it a 5 but it got a little boring in spot.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read it sometime, but darned if remember anything about it. Two stars because, after all, I did finish it.
JewelsLVIUTAH More than 1 year ago
I am so glad this book as a sequel because I loved it so much! I can't wait to start the next one! This book is full of suspense and action, and it's a real page turner! Once again Cami tackles a subject not often talked about. She makes your really think about the issues at hand but keep you entertained at the same time. Her talent never ceases to amaze me! I have read that Cami is big into fitness herself so I wondered how much of the running and training in this book is personal experience. She always keeps things real in her books. That is one of the best things about them! Cami Checketts is my favorite Author! trust me when I say you will LOVE her books! Please try one out if you haven't already!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Run, run, run - says it all. Hope i didn't pay more than a dollar. What a dud!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Dead Running is infused with inherent conflict. Page one had me hooked. Setting, tension, character: this book accomplished so much right from the get go. Author Cami Checketts has a distinctive voice, and MC Cassidy Christensen is a character anyone can empathize with. I loved—loved!— reading about the races Cassie runs because I have run several of them. It was so fun to feel a part of the setting. The story took on more of a romantic tone as the story played out and it had a nice twist in the end. I think this is a light, fun read for anyone who enjoys clean romance/suspense
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I couldn't stop raeding it. I didn't wont it to end. We all living thing must STOP HUMAN trafficking of all kinds. We must know that it WRONG !!! They shouldn't make Blood Money off people or animals.We are " All Gods Creation "
rockygirl1 More than 1 year ago
I will say, I have no clue what possessed me to sign up for this tour.  These books are TOTALLY out of my normally comfort zone.  But I really enjoyed them overall.  That said… I have to say, from page one, I LOVED Cassidy.  She had so much spunk and character and really made the books enjoyable overall.  The humor in the books also made them great reads.  The nicknames that Cassidy had were great and I actually found myself laughing out loud several times while I was reading.  I also loved how easy the books were to read. I read them easily in one sitting.
xCynyx More than 1 year ago
I love a good Thriller, after all it was my first love with books when I was little. I know, I'm a weird kid. Anyway, Dying to run has it all... Suspense, mystery, hot guys that confuse you, and a kick ass heroine. I found myself cheering for Cassie since page one. Cassie started living with her grandma after her parents were murdered. Two years later we find Cassie running a marathon with her sister-in-law and that's when things get interesting.In there she meets 3 different characters, Dr. Tattoo, a super sexy plastic surgeon who helps Cassie after the race, Damon (super sexy name, I know Diana and I can think of a few Damons we loveeee), another runner who will be in the St. George Marathon Cassie enters through a contest, and Hot Redhead who's kind of scary. But besides all the new friends Cassie makes, she also finds a mutilated body and things get even more crazy. Cassie is a lovely character, full of good intentions and very easy to relate. She has insecurities. Her parents death still hunts her. And her family hides a secret that will change everything. She's also very honest, more than she'd like at times but is entertaining to read. She's determined to prove to her family and herself that she can run the St. George Marathon and start her new business.  Dr. Tattoo, AKA Jesse, comes and goes from her life when Cassie less expects it. He's always there when she needs him the most. But is not what Cassie is looking for, a big guy full of tattoos with a bad boy attitude? He is not someone Nana would approve, no matter how much he turns Cassie (and me!) into a puddle. Damon is the total opposite. He's got golden boy written all over his face, and maybe body. He's a complete gentleman, Nana approved boyfriend material. He's sweet, caring and more important always there, without disappearing suddenly. Cassie never imagine someone like him would ever notice her. Hot Redhead... She's a handful. She wants Damon, kinda stalks Cassie and is always there to witness Cassie's worst moments. Yup. She's the perfect character that you love to hate. Dead Running, is full of twists, Cassie is never sure who's telling the truth, who's the good guy or whats coming for her next. But through all the heaviness of trying to escape from the people who murder her parents, She finds humor. I love all the nicknames she gives people. She's stronger than she thinks and tougher than what the people after her think. Even the bad guys where fun to read, I kinda like them too. Dead Running is an excellent read.