×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Dead Saint
     

The Dead Saint

3.7 40
by Marilyn Brown Oden
 

See All Formats & Editions

It begins with a single gunshot, and Bishop Lynn Peterson watches in horror as a good friend, who is a member of the New Orleans Saints, collapses on the street.When a medal the player wore-a medal Lynn had promised to return to the man's family-disappears, Lynn is thrust into a suspenseful and fast-moving journey through four assassinations, an attempt on her life,

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Dead Saint 3.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 40 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The cover is a bit misleading - when I see a Washington, D.C., building on the cover, I expect a political novel with D.C. as the focal point of the action. Although this novel does involve US political intrigue, little of the action is set there. Still, it is an interesting story with interesting characters. It seemed to bog down in places, but perhaps that was my problem. It is worth reading. Although the main character is a religious figure, a bishop, the story is not overly religious nor is it preachy. The bishop is an interesting woman.
mns4453 More than 1 year ago
As it happens, this book is like several of the free books from Nook that I have already read and enjoyed. The story line is, for the most part, not one of which I would have chosen, but something in the preview lured me in. For that, I am grateful. I loved it. To describe this book, I would not know where to begin. It is long, but the pages were absolutely needed and they never lose you on their way. It's a "want to get back to the book" treasure that nearly anyone can find themselves enjoying...even me. Thanks again B&N NOOK, you remain a treasure in my life.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Bishop Peterson becomes an unspecting partner in a mystery that goes from New Orleans to Washington DC to Macedonia. In an attempt to complete a task not of her choosing, she becomes involved with the Patriot and those he employs to accomplish his own patriotic mission. Enjoyed the lead character and her "self conversations" with Ivy (her own inner voice). It was unusual to read a novel which took place largely in Macedonia. That was of particular interest for me since my paternal grandparents emigrated from Macedonia. Enjoyed this very much and hope there might be another book concerning Bishop Peterson and her adventures!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I found much of the book interesting yet at times there was too much detail associated with characters or events not essential or even necessary for the plot The main character's meintal conversation with her self depracsting other personality was annoying yet when I got used to it vanished from the chapters,
BambiLin More than 1 year ago
Loved this book. Great mystery, suspense, and intrigue. Charachters were interesting and had solid histories. Will look for more books from Marilyn.
ibjoy1953 More than 1 year ago
Book Blurb It begins with a single gunshot, and Bishop Lynn Peterson watches in horror as a good friend, who is a member of the New Orleans Saints, collapses on the street. When a medal the player wore-a medal Lynn had promised to return to the man's family-disappears, Lynn is thrust into a suspenseful and fast-moving journey through four assassinations, an attempt on her life, conflicts with a mysterious and ancient society, and a behind-the-scenes conspiracy that reaches all the way to the White House. The turbulent, unstoppable intrigue challenges Lynn mentally, physically, and spiritually as she engages in a desperate battle with an opponent who is just as determined to kill as Lynn is to stop him even though she has no idea where-or who-he will strike next. My Review A good friend of Bishop Lynn Peterson and a member of the New Orleans Saints were shot and dies in a New Orleans street, right in front of her. Her friend wore a strange medal, which Lynn was going to return to the deceased guy's mom, but on her way to the moms, the medal was stolen. Could it be the killer who stole the medal? And what was so special about the medal anyway? Then Lynn was asked by the vice-president to take a message to a military guy while on a trip to Sarajevo, and the guy is murdered just after he gets the message. Are these things happening to the Bishop related in some way? This book is not a bad read, but not one of my favorites. I found myself skimming through a lot of the book because it was kind of boring and hard to follow. It was just not the action packed thriller I was expecting it to be. If you like anti war stories you will like this book, so get a copy and see what you think! I want say a big Thank You to Abingdon Press for providing me a copy of this book to read and review. The review and opinions in this book are mine only. I was not expected or required to write a positive review of this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This well-crafted mystery kept me up all night finishing it! The combination of political intrigue, gender considerations, and social issues sparked by the murder of a New Orleans Saint's football player who was originally from Sarajevo made this book a real page turner. The heroine, Bishop Lynn Peterson, witnessed the murder and promised to return a medal recovered from the victim to his family, when she attended a meeting of bishops in the Baltic. The twists and turns of the plot spanned two continents and she became involved in a plot revolving around an unknown conspirator in the administration of the first female President of the United States. After four murders and an attempt on both Lynn and her husband's lives the plot was finally resolved. I could not put the book down until I finished it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Not bad. AD
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good read, anyway!
jesla More than 1 year ago
I give the author one star for making the effort but this was so boring I couldn't get past the first couple of chapters. On the plus side it was free so I simply deleted it. I'd recommend you download and read the free sample before buying.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It was nardtostop teading even to cook or to complete my daily tasks,
Donna_Quixote More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this book. The characters were fully developed and the story was riviting. I was surprised to find I hadn't stepped into the middle of a series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved the suspence and travels.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good story line that could have been told in 239 pages, rather than 439. Much too much unneeded background and references to the main character's previously deceased daughter.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago