×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Dead to You
     

Dead to You

3.9 74
by Lisa McMann
 

See All Formats & Editions

A page-turning realistic novel with a shocking twist from bestselling author Lisa McMann.

Ethan was abducted from his front yard when he was just seven years old. Now, at sixteen, he has returned to his family. It’s a miracle…at first. Then the tensions start to build. His reintroduction to his old life isn’t going smoothly, and his

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Dead to You 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 74 reviews.
JoanneLevy More than 1 year ago
What would it be like to be kidnapped as a child and then find your way back to your family almost a decade later with no memories of them or your life before? McMann explores this and the raw emotions of a teen who suffered abuse and neglect before being dumped at a group home by his so-called caretaker. DEAD TO YOU is a raw, emotional and even sexy story about a boy in turmoil, and has such vivid and heartbreaking characters that I couldn't put it down until the very end that left me completely breathless. Also, I have to say that I loved Gracie so much-probably more than I've ever loved any secondary character before. She provided some much-needed relief when the story kept ratcheting up the tension and suspense. Great job - another winner from Lisa McMann.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Its a fantastic book. I finished it in about an hour because it was soo good. BUT, it seems like she got bored of writing it and just stopped the ending came in a chapter and it definitely fits the "cliffhanger" definition. She needs to either make a sequel SOON or publish and ending because the end ruined the book for me. -M
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
After being abducted at a young age Ethan returns to a family and a town he does not remember. To most its a miricle for his return, to others its impossible. The book was very amazing in the way the main character is very transparent and you can feels he's pain and struggle of his life under the care of his abductor who abandoned him and returning home.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It was sooooooo good but it needs closure!!!!!!! There DEFINATELY needs to be a sequal!!! I loved vit though!!!!!
Kaley_T More than 1 year ago
I read this in a day. Simply couldn't put it down. BUT WHERE IS THE ENDING?!?!?!??!?!?!?! So upsetting! There better be a 2nd one!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Ok so i am reading thesample and i like hey this looks like a good bk. thenafter i start reading the reviews and i see a couple of reviews commenting on how the ending sucked. But being the idiot iam i decided to read the book anyway. And so i am reading it and it isreally good. It had depth, good characters, and an incredible story line. But then the auther decids to just end the bk all of a sudden just wen it was getting good. Rite in the climax of the fricking book!!!!!! So for the people who want to read it and decide to ignore the reviews just be prepared for the aweful ending.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was the first novel of Lisa McMann's that I read. It was a quick read that I finished in one evening. However, the novel is filled with one-dimensional characters, an endless paradigm of this kid's school day and evening, and improbable events. The author showed a characteristically bad writing style as she ended the book in a hurry, leaving the reader thoroughly unsatisfied. It is understood that this book is improbable, but aside from that, the ending was silly and was a final slap in the face. I definitely will not recommend this novel to anyone nor will I read anything else by this author.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is the first of Lisa McMann's books I have read, and will likely be the last. I'm all for realistic stories and surprise endings, but most of the time when an author chooses to do one or both, the reader still gets a since of closure when the book is done. Not so in this tale! Basically, the same thing happens over and over again, convincing you that it is leading somewhere, and then...just kidding! The only thing the reader is left with is a, "You've got to be joking," at the end.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
one of the best books ive ever read! so sad and beautiful... the ending was just so heart breaking, defentally worth the money and time to read this book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is so emotional and i think it need a sequel because the end is a cliffhanger.
booookworm More than 1 year ago
Such a good book!!! If you like plot twists this is the book for you! I loved reading this book and it only took me like an hour to read because I kept wanting to find out more! It left me speechless. Beautifully written.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved this book I just didn't like the ending because I thought it left you on a really big cliff hanger. I really, really liked this book though. I think it should of had at least a epoilogue. I also read the Unwanteds series so I decided to read this and it was really good.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love this book no matter what yall say. I wouldnt want anyone who has anger problems reading it. She is a great author. You just havnt found the book by her. You cant read one book of hers and hate the author. Yeah the ending wasnt good but it still made you think. It made you feel and itt kinda taught a lesson. Most people take everything for granted. Yet how would you feel if you were like him. Having no idea who this people are. Not fitting in no matter what you do? Some people have good mothers and fathers who care about them but the kids hate that. But some kids arent that lucky, they might have parents that dont care about them. Why dont yall write something and put it online? See how people thing of it. Some kids might come from abuseive familys but kids that have good homes take of this for granted
Amber_Elise More than 1 year ago
I read Wake by Lisa McMann and knew that I had to read more by this author. Dead To You was everything I expected plus a little more.  Plot: Dead To You has been on my TBR list for the longest time and I FINALLY got a chance to read it! This fast-paced mystery is told from the POV of Ethan, a boy who was abducted from his front lawn ten years ago. What starts off as a beautiful tale of reunion, expands to what happens AFTER a child has been returned home. The awkwardness of trying to find your place in a family that has tried to go on, returning to school and seeing old school friends. The novel also has a mystery regarding WHO took Ethan and for what purpose. I was engaged and managed to eat this one up in a day (it's a short read). The "conclusion" was very open-ended which was very unsettling, in a good way.  Characters: The mystery is told through Ethan's POV which brings the reader even closer to the mystery. Ethan seems so broken and vulnerable given his past experience and I sympathized with him until the very end. Since Ethan is a teenage boy with hormone, he pretty much falls victim to insta-lust with the first female character he meets and they go on to have a fast-paced relationship. Normally, this would bother me, but since everything else in this novel was fast-paced, it was only natural that the "lust story" be fast paced as well. World Building: There isn't much to the world building in Dead To You. The story goes from home, to school, to the park, to home again. The feeling was your average small-town USA with Ethan being the resident outsider.  Short N Sweet: Dead To You is a book-clutching romance that will tug at your heart and keep you guessing until the very end. I recommend it for all fans of the mystery genre! 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The book was good until the end. Left too many questions and practically flipped off the reader. Wish I could get my money back
Iveth More than 1 year ago
Words can't describe this book, its a MUST read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really got on to the book with the emotional twists and turns. I loved the ending i just wished she would make a second one so we could see what happened to the character i came to love.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I checked it out from my library i would have been disapointed if i'd payed for it. The ending was lacking and i was hoping there would be a sequel to resolve things. I mean wouldn't the police tht showed up in the end have known tht the family brought "ethan" home? Hello it was all over the news! So for them to show up and drop a bomb like tht seemed highly unlikely. That was the only stupid part really. The missing kid case for ethan would have been closed, police updated, so the ending had no logical basis.