×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Dead, White, and Blue (Death on Demand Series #23)
     

Dead, White, and Blue (Death on Demand Series #23)

4.1 11
by Carolyn G. Hart
 

See All Formats & Editions

Bookstore owner Annie Darling has no time to enjoy the summer fun when a missing person case turns deadly in this mystery in the New York Times bestselling Death on Demand series.
 
July is a hectic time for Annie and her husband, Max. Sun and scorching temperatures never fail to bring swarms of tourists to their mystery bookstore, Death

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Dead, White, and Blue (Death on Demand Series #23) 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 11 reviews.
mary_kennedy More than 1 year ago
I fell in love with this series 23 books ago! I was captivated by Annie and Max Darling and the serene setting of Broward's Rock. The latest release includes all the characters we've come to love and a marvelous plot that kept me guessing right up until the very end. This is one of my all time favorite series and I hope it goes on forever!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Another Annie and Max book I couldn't put down!  Buy this book at your earliest opportunity-you will love the characters, the plot, the descriptions and most of all the  pacing of the latest addition to a great series!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have always loved the Annie and Max series. Another wonderful book from a wonderful author
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have enjoyed all of the books in this series and this one is no exception. I love the characters and the setting and have come to feel that these people are friends. It is worth the time to read and get acquainted with all kinds of mystery books and authors.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Justpeachy1 More than 1 year ago
Carolyn Hart's 23rd book in the Death on Demand series, Dead, White and Blue has shades of Agatha Christie running through it, as well as, as old fashioned game of Clue. Annie Darling and her husband Max are investigating a couple of disappearances in Broward's Rock and there are definitely some fireworks. Long times readers of the series will marvel at Hart's ability to keep the series fresh and original, while new fans will line up to read the other 22 books in this long lived series. A great addition to the series! What I liked: Carolyn Hart is a master at devising new and entertaining plots for her Death on Demand series. Every book has a central theme that Hart works from and Dead, White and Blue is no different. Hart works not from a murder, but a disappearance angle with this book, which was an interesting plot device, and one she hasn't used before with the series. I think readers continue to flock to Hart's books because they are tied together but still provide an original plot every time.  Adultry seems to be on the dance card at the Broward's Rock 4th of July Dance. Shell Hurst is a bit notorious in town and wives have to keep close tabs on their husbands when she is around. When she abruptly disappears during the dance, several people are glad to see her go. But it's up to Annie and Max to find out what really happened in Dead, White and Blue. I liked the theme for this one. There are tons of suspects and a plethora of motives. Hart pulls out all the stops to explain what could have happened to Shell and to the waiter who saw her walk away that night. I think readers will have a difficult time trying to pin down the killer. It's one of the things that make the Death on Demand books so good, they are not at all predictable. Was it Miss Scarlett in the Lounge with the knife? The ending for this one reminds me a good old fashioned game of clue. Where Annie and Max think they know whodunit, but they can't prove it without drawing out the killer. I love the fact that Hart stays true to her writing roots and continues to write her stories with a flair for Agatha Christie. Her writing is similar to one of the greats in mystery writing and the ending in Dead, White and Blue is exactly how Christie would done it. Get them all together and force a confession. Miss Marple or Hercule Perot would have been proud. It was perfect! What I didn't like: Not much to talk about here, since this is one of good ones. Hart has a knack for writing great old school mysteries that draw the reader in and won't let go. I loved it. Bottom Line: If you love Agatha Christie, Carolyn Hart is the writer for you. This a great addition to the Death on Demand series which I for one, hope continues until there are a hundred titles. It's just that good. You'll be missing out if you don't give this one a close examination!
chefdt More than 1 year ago
Dead, White and Blue is the 23rd book in the A death On Demand Bookstore Mystery series. I had a hard time getting started on this one, but once I understood the relationship between Wesley Hurst, Vera Hurst and Shell Hurst, I was able to really get going with the book. Hart, once again, provides the reader with a relaxing story and a wonderful cast of characters from Broward Rock. Annie and Max are looking forward to annual Fourth of July dance and fireworks after. At the dance, Shell Hurst, who hasn't met a man she doesn't love, is fashionably late to the dance, has words with her husband and visibly upsets some a couple other dance partners. Five days later, Hayley Hurst, comes to Max's office and ask for him to look for her step mother. Max is hesitant, but it soon becomes apparent that she has in fact gone missing. When her Porsche and her dead body are found in a pond on the country club's golf course, Annie and Max get serious about looking into her disappearance. And Hayley's brother seems to be the prime suspect. There many suspects to consider, other than the step-son and finally Annie and Max stage a recreation to put the finger on the murderer. As is Hart's norm, Death on Demand holds there monthly" name the book" contest. Always a treat to read the next book in the series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hello?