×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Deadlock (John Hutchinson Series #2)
  • Alternative view 1 of Deadlock (John Hutchinson Series #2)
  • Alternative view 2 of Deadlock (John Hutchinson Series #2)
     

Deadlock (John Hutchinson Series #2)

4.6 10
by Robert Liparulo
 

See All Formats & Editions

Hutch is a newspaper columnist, single dad . . . and last defense against a lunatic's high-tech killing machine.

Special Forces veteran-turned-billionaire Brendan Page has some dirty not-so-little secrets. He's built an empire on supplying futuristic weapons and highly trained soldiers to the world's most powerful armies.

But he's saved his most

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Deadlock 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 10 reviews.
Son_Worshiper More than 1 year ago
Robert Liparulo is one of my MUST-HAVE authors! You need to read Deadfall before Deadlock as it is a sequal. Absolutely fantastic. A fast & riveting read!
Janna6 More than 1 year ago
I am a huge fan of Robert's books. His YA books are some of my favorite and I really liked "Comes a Horseman". The concept for "Deadlock" was intriguing... is it a video game, is it reality, rogue soldiers for hire. My only regret is that I did not read "Deadfall" before I dove into this one, especially since it was sitting on my bookshelf just begging for me to pick it up. Granted, it was not necessary to read Deadfall first, but it would have answered a lot of little questions much sooner, with a lot of the characters being returning characters it would have simplified my thought process. But that aside, this book was awesome! I read it in less than a day (and it is not a small book). I believe that Robert Liparulo is the Tom Clancy, John Grisham kind of author for Christians, gritty, keep you on the edge of your seat, intrigue, murder, mystery, suspense... written for guys but great for girls! In Deadlock there are strong characters, including Laura who is quite capable of kicking butt on her own - especially as mama bear protecting her cubs. Hutch is a one man Rambo - but the kids are pretty incredible too - give Dillon a bow and arrow and get out of his way! The bad guys are really bad, unless they are confused about what is reality and what is just a game. Good is found in unlikely places and bad is just everywhere. Can Hutch save his kids from Outis? Is Brendan Page really as evil as he wants Hutch to think he is? How can Hutch protect his family from the one man that can cause killing anywhere in the world? This is one ride you want to be on with Hutch... you might just want to ride along on Deadfall first.
Smilingsally More than 1 year ago
Video games, virtual reality, and tactical simulations are on steroids in this novel. Reality blurs with fantasy; lines are obscured as young boys train to become assassins. "Are you real?" oneconfused boy asks a family. I did not read the first in this series, Deadfall, but the author did such a fine job of writing that I had no difficulty jumping in. Pages were rapidly turning with this compelling novel. Having once visited Casa Bonita, a huge Denver restaurant, I enjoyed experiencing it again through the author's description. I was reminded of the three-story cliff divers and an artist who drew a caricature of my husband. It's a perfect setting for this story. This action-packed thriller would make a movie that my husband would love. Do ya hear that Hollywood?
IncubusJax More than 1 year ago
If you're on the fence about whether or not to purchase a copy of Deadlock please allow me to offer my personal opinion: Do it. Buy it right now and rush ship it. If you haven't read Deadfall, pick that up as well. You'll thank me later. Deadlock is a "Standalone sequel" to Deadfall. You don't have to have read Deadfall to enjoy Deadlock, but if you do go back and read Deadfall it will make this book just that much more enjoyable. Deadfall is a wonderful read on it's own so don't hesitate to pick it up. That being said, Deadlock works on every level. The story is full of all too honest looks at our relationships with each other and our children, breakneck intense action and heart warming and pulling drama. The skill that Liparulo has over the written word always amazes me, and this book just proves that he's a master at work. The book is fun to read and I found myself upset that it had ended when I was done. Deadlock is another wonderful offering from Robert Liparulo. You'd be doing yourself a huge favor by picking this, and any other Liparulo novels up. They truly shine.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
loves2readPAKC More than 1 year ago
"DEADFALL" was the first Robert Liparulo book I read and I was hooked. That was one of the BEST books I had read in a long time. It was thrilling, it was original, the characters were great! I could NOT put that book down, So when I was browsing on-line and saw that there was a sequel, I HAD to have it! Hutch is one of my favorite characters! This book was also very fast-paced and thrilling! Probably the only thing I can say bad about the book was that some of the action when he was outside his building was a little far-fetched! Not that I expect a book like this to be a reality, but I felt it was a little much, even for Hutch!! But that is a minor compalint - the book was great! I would recommend you read DEADFALL first. It's not necessary, but it'a a great book and you get the background on the characters.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
SparkyLafave More than 1 year ago
Not great literature, but all the same, a good book to read when you don't want to have to concentrate. The plot is adequate, but not overly creative. The non-stop action gets a little tedious--sometimes the reader just longs for a little peace--it eventually comes, but doesn't last long.