×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Deadly Captive
     

Deadly Captive

3.5 24
by Bianca Sommerland
 

See All Formats & Editions

Lydia awakes, bound and blind, to the whispered urgings of a man who has his hands on her. His words confuse her at first, but she soon understands they are both in the middle of a performance that will determine whether she remains in captivity or dies.

The crowd must be entertained, and her cellmate makes sure it is.

Forced submission is not the only horror

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Deadly Captive 3.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 24 reviews.
Sunruner More than 1 year ago
Lydia wakes to find that she's chained down and blind. The only reference point she has becomes a man's voice and hands. She learns that they are required to perform in order to live. As long as the audience remains entertained, she will be allowed to live. This story is dark. There are warnings on it for a reason. If you are not prepared for this book, do NOT read it. There is horror and torture. There is also romance and many scenes are very erotic, even if, on some, your mind screams that they shouldn't be. I loved this book. It is not my normal type of read but I could not put it down. The story has many layers and twists. Some of them are very obvious and some hidden until you stop and think about it. This is not a story to read for escape. It requires you to use your mind, and quickly involves your emotions. This book is definitely on my pile to be read again and again. Of course, I'm also waiting for the next book in the series!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I couldnt put this book down. I have never ead anything like this. It was great. Just beware ther is not only hot sexy scenes but also rape.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Yes the story was truly dark and disturbing. But the author does a great job. I was invested in what happens to Joe and Lydia. I've read this author before and look forward to reading the second book in this series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was not what I expected, but I really liked it. I was so suprised with what Cyrus and his peeps turned out to be and I freakin loved it! Didn't see that coming! Looking forward to reading the next book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was different but I loved it. Can't wait for the next one. I found me a new author to read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
kydirtgirl68 More than 1 year ago
Lydia awakens to find she is captive and must perform in front of  an audience or die.Joe the man with her whispers to her and makes what is fixing to happen a little more bearable. He is a captive just like her and wants her to live. Lydia doesn't remember her life before and without Joe her life with these new monsters would be hell. They have to do unspeakable acts and only encouraging each other help them through. They are pushed to their limits but they won't give up. They grow to love each other only to fall apart when freedom is at hand. They have to get their heads together if they want to survive even after they escaoe the horror. First let me say take the warning that comes with this book. It is not a mild book and has many, many rough situations. If that upsets you then this book is not for you. It is a very hard core book that will leave you wondering how these people don't give up. Lydia has to have a lot of  strength and drive to get through her capture. She really goes through hell and back. I felt so sorry for her. Joe does the best he can to help her but he has to do things against his will as well. Both these characters are tortured. I will say I love how they fight back and try to stop the evil. They both have fallen in love in a horrible place and along with their new powers don't know how to act at first. I cringed so much reading this book and if it wasn't for the love Joe and Lydia had it would have just been a horror book. If you like an extremely dark, twisted book that keeps you on the edge of your toes then you may like this one. It is very well written I will say and I will say it isn't like anything I have every read. It has lots of sex, rape and torture scenes so be warned.
Peachs44 More than 1 year ago
If you are into romance books, PNRs, permissive BDSM stories or any book that has sweet fluffy romantic anythings, then put this book down because this not the one for you. Deadly Captive is deep, dark, disturbing and not for the meek. Seriously, not for the meek. By the time I finished the first chapter my jaw was on the floor wonder what I got myself into. There really is no need for a brief synopsis of this book since the blurb does it so well so my review will be my justifications of my ratings.  5-Stars. Yes I am giving this book 5 stars even though I’m still on the fence on whether or not I liked the book. Why, may you ask. Because despite how disturbing I found Deadly Captive (and it was VERY disturbing), I think it is a masterpiece. The story is sick and twisted and the author makes no excuse about it. While I did feel sympathy for both protagonists, I didn’t feel either of them had any redeeming qualities. I get that they did what they needed to survive but their personalities weren’t actually anything that would make you fall in love with them. Now the antagonists are easy. They are detestable, sick and evil and while I may have had moments of possibly liking them, Ms. Sommerland would throw in a curveball and I would come back to my senses. For the most part, I was riveted thorough most of the book. Around 60% in I did feel it dragged a bit but then the story took a completely new direction and the excitement built up all over again. 5-Flames. Anyone who does flame ratings knows it’s about the sexual mechanics. So while I am giving this book 5 flames, let me also provide a warning for anyone who THINKS they might enjoy this book. This book has sex, lots of sex, as well as rape, beatings, blood play, masochistic BDSM torture, fisting, anal, M/M/F, M/F/F…need I say more?! Oh wait yes…90% is non-consented FORCED acts. Don’t look for a safe word anywhere. What the protagonists experience is torture plan and simple. It is sick, it is twisted, and like passing a horrible car wreck where no one walks away, I couldn’t not turn myself away from the gore. Deadly Captive is like in riding a roller coaster in pitch black with unending screaming track running in the background. Knowing this book is not for everyone I will, for now, hold back my recommendations. However, I have already mentioned this series to my besties who are all now reading it. I can’t wait to see what their reactions are. *Insert evil laugh* I received this book from JeepDiva for the express purposes of an honest review. The opinions and rating of this review are solely mine and in no way was I compensated. Stars – 5, Flames - 5
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Myzeri More than 1 year ago
I have mixed feelings about this book, some of the character development is there, some just isn't. The premise was different certainly from sparkly 'I can walk in the sunlight' vampires. (Not that sdparkly vampires are bad...) but the story revolves mainly around sex, a great dfeal of it non-consensual, which may be difficult for some readers. And although I do enjoy reading erotica some of the scenes portrayed extremely sadistic acts agaainst the female lead. So, if you like a little vampire action spicing upy your S&M, it might be worth your reading.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
E_Mckennie More than 1 year ago
When I first heard of an author named Bianca Sommerland she was suggested to me by another author who knew that I liked the work of Cherise Sinclair and Carolyn Faulkner, and she (the author who made the suggest) was very up front with me and told me that Bianca Sommerland’s, writing style was not the conventional cookie cutter style of writing and that her books were something I should checkout, because she knew I could and would appreciate it, now that being said I’ve had plenty of hits and misses when it comes to people suggesting books to me, so I went into it with an open mind not expecting or dismissing anything, and the first book I read of Ms. Sommerland’s was her short story “The Trip” which I read in a few hours and fell in love with, I immediately went looking for more and I came across Deadly Captive, and to be honest when I told some people that I wanted to read this book I got mixed opinions , some said I should and others said I shouldn’t. However, me being a person who doesn’t bend to conventional opinion or wisdom said “the hell with it” and purchased it, because anytime someone tells me what I shouldn’t do, I’m always compelled to do the opposite, and in this case I did not regret it. I will not try and sugar coat it and say that “Dark Captive” is not a dark tale, but that’s a small part of it and in spite or because of its setting and circumstances it’s also a story of hope, love and redemption. Lydia and Joe find themselves at the mercy of the “original” sadist Cyrus who captures unsuspecting humans and uses them for sport, sexual amusement and dinner whichever tickles his fancy at the moment. And although he is the villain to be sure Cyrus intrigues you and sucking you into his sadistic and at times deadly games. In the beginning Lydia and Joe are Cyrus’s captives, his playthings to manipulate as he sees fit, but as the story progresses the captors become something more separately and together. Lydia and Joe become reborn in the process of trying to survive in this deadly game that they have become unwilling players, instead of succumbing to the inevitable the go through what can only be termed as a baptism of fire, two strangers who find that in order to not endure and survive their own personal version of hell, they have to learn to trust and depend on one another, that their very lives depend on one another. Yes, I can’t say it any planner than this, Dark Captive is an unconventional love story and not for the faint hearted, and that’s what makes it unique, it mirrors what love truly is at its most basic. Love is in fact scary, messy, uncertain, powerful, all-consuming and yes dark. I always think that if actual love was all hearts and flowers, than who would write the sad love songs, poetry and stories that express its pungent and lingering effects on those of us who are both fortunate and sometimes unfortunate to experience it. If, you can tell by now I love this story and all the emotions that it takes you through. Bianca Sommerland, is an author that has the ability to make her characters linger in your mind longer after the story is over and that is a rare gift.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Dark and Delicious! A great read!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I couldn't put it down even when I was shocked.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Can't recommend. Couldn't open.