×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Deadly Descent
     

Deadly Descent

4.5 15
by Kaylea Cross
 

See All Formats & Editions

Don't miss this fan-favorite, heart-pounding military romance from New York Times bestselling author Kaylea Cross.

Devon Crawford is an officer; Air Force Pararescueman Cam Munro is enlisted. Dev flies medical evacuations; Cam jumps into danger zones to save lives. Dev wants to return home from Afghanistan with her heart untouched; Cam will do

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Deadly Descent 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 15 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hands down the best book I've ever read. It was shocking how much I loved it. The war is more realistic than most romantic suspenses out there... the emotion just grabbed me. I cried for their love for each other and the obsticles war threw at it. I think its a shame how little known Kaylea Cross is. If it weren't for goodreads I'd never have discovered her. Spread the word!
K_Holt More than 1 year ago
WOW!!! Absolutely loved it. I'm a huge fan of the genre (military romantic suspense) and this book has it all. Easily gave it 5 stars without hesitation; a KEEPER....I'll reread this one! Can't wait to delve into the rest of Cross's books. Highly recommended.
SmittenWithReading More than 1 year ago
My Review: Whoa, this is a seriously powerful book. I think that, honestly, this is the most that I have ever cried throughout the ENTIRE book. Oh my goodness. Such a powerful story with so much incredible emotion!! Wow... WARNING: the following has slight spoilers which may affect your ability to react emotionally to the story. Dev is a helicopter pilot. She is dealing with issues of guilt after the death of her boyfriend, a PJ named Ty, on a mission in Afghanistan. They only dated for a few weeks before he deployed and then they were cooling things off. They were never serious or even exclusive. They simply had a fun time together, until Dev met his best friend Cam and realized that she was much more drawn to him than she was to Ty. That doesn't change the fact that she was on the mission to rescue him when he was wounded (although she didn't know it at the time) and she called off the mission because the fog was to thick to get to the landing zone. He died and now she can't get past the fact that she didn't go into to get him out or the fact that she is falling for his best friend Cam. Cam is pure hero material. Another PJ, he tells it exactly like it is. He knows that there is something between him and Dev and knows that Ty would never have had an issue with it after his death. He is a protector with a capital "P" which he proves over and over throughout this book. His first priority is Dev and her safety. When they both end up stationed at the same base in Afghanistan, things start to heat up a LOT! The main issue, besides lingering guilt about Ty for Dev, is that Dev is an officer and Cam is enlisted. This is a HUGE no-no in the US military and was really my only issue with this book. This is a major no-no in the military...not only can it end your career, but you can also go to jail for it. The only saving grace was that they are separate branches of the military, so it may be allowed to slide somewhat. (After discussing it with DH who is retired Lt. Col from the Air Force, he was more concerned about the PJ mission at Bagram and said that didn't really fit with how they actually operate, but I honestly don't think he was really listening to me when I explained the story and how it played out. Hehe!) From the moment I picked this book up, there was no stopping me from reading it. It was so good!! So much suspense and they are operating out of a war zone so it was seriously emotional and high-stress. I could NOT put this book down...and like I said, I cried from the very beginning...all the way throughout the book. The emotion was there all the way through. Really just a phenomenal book. If you are looking for a great emotional read with a beautiful romance, then you are going to like this one...a LOT!
The_Reading_Reviewer More than 1 year ago
Captain Devon "Spike" Crawford is Blackhawk pilot counted on to do her job and make the right call at the right time. She is steady under pressure and can handle decisions with a clear train of thought. However, when someone she cared about was not recovered on her watch the guilt she bore was weighing her down. What Devon also understood was the very clear, concise rules of non-engagement with those ranked below you. Time and hard word back in Afghanistan have Devon trying to concentrate on work and not US Air Force Technical Sergeant Cam Munro, her late boyfriend's best friend. Cam is a Paraescueman who performs an elite function on the battlefront and truly is a woman's dream walking around on two legs. Cam wants in her life, every inch of her personal space, and he has expressed sincere feelings for her. Devon, the woman under control, comes completely unhinged when he is around and wonders is it the rule of not fraternizing with rank and file or a fear of commitment. Devon has as much trouble being with him as she is scared of losing his love. They are both in high stress combat positions and Devon does not think she can go through the loss again but being with him in the same room and not putting her hands on him is more control than she can muster. While Devon and Cam fight the warlords, rebels, and suicide bombers in Afghanistan day in and day out but knowing that they are together at the same airfield causes as many sleepless nights as it does dream filled days. No one could imagine the horror of one man's vengeance against the military that would rock both Devon and Cam to the core and shake up everything they thought they knew about each other and how to function under pressure. It was their destiny to fight their way home, ignore the rules, and not let what people think shape the way they lived any more. I have been a fan of Kaylea Cross since the first book I read of hers. She is able to take technical, detailed military information and scenarios and write them so that you know the characters, where they are, and what they are doing. That is a gift in a writer because while the military is an efficient machine it is also a complicated one and not readily understood, especially in a book. This story shares the grief of loss as well as the love in recovery, and how we all face down our demons.
MsRomanticReads More than 1 year ago
First of all, I love military romantic suspenses where the heroine is not a civilian, but holds a position that makes her more than just arm candy or a uniform groupie, if you know what I mean. Devon “Spike” Crawford delivered on that front as an officer and pilot flying Hawks in medevac missions. Career-wise she was solid, but her personal life was complicated. She had dated Ty, a PJ, under the radar for a short time before he was deployed to Bagram. They were casual about it, and instead of a clean break, she’d just let things fizzle out after he left. That, compounded with the fact that she’d fallen in lust with Ty’s best friend Cam from the moment Ty introduced them, left her feeling guilty about the whole situation. Even though Cam felt the same way, they never acted on it. And after Ty’s death, it seemed even more inappropriate to Dev. I didn’t care for her much in terms of the romance—she wanted Cam but worried about her career. The risk vs.reward was a constant factor in regards to her hot and cold behavior that I often wished she would make up her mind. The revelation that she learned to fly because she was afraid of crashing (a plane crash is how she had lost her father) was pure foreshadowing. I LOVED Cam! If he hadn’t brought up the fact of their mutual attraction, he would most likely have remained in the friend zone forever. He didn’t push her to give in but reassured her that he would be there when she was ready, and he was mindful of her concerns about fraternization and how they behaved in public. The suspense portion of the story was so good! It was a lot like Black Hawk Down, but in the mountains of Afghanistan. My heart was thumping the entire time Dev, Cam and co. were on the run. I didn't dislike the villain's POV per se, but I did end up skimming a lot of his ramblings. And with that said, don’t expect a lot of sex with the romance (there was only one steamy, and one sex scene at the very end). The story didn't need sex to make their feelings believable. The romance was fueled by the type of people they were, the high-stress of their jobs, honor and loyalty. I enjoyed the side characters, and it seems they all had a little set up for future stories. I look forward to reading more about these men and women.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have other books by Kaylea Cross and I love them. Recently I have gotten into reading Military based romances. I was kinda iffy about this series because it hit a little close to home. My brother is in the Air Force and he was station in Bagram, so it was hard for me to start reading. But once I started it was hard to not Stop reading. The characters are good and they all have their quarks. I love the spunk in Devon and how she handles everything. Cam is pretty cool. Reading about this characters makes me want to be friends with them! It is as well written series and I would recommend it to anyone (A friend already has it on a reading list). This is the First book in this series, and it is easy to get hooked to the series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved the book awesome story line so relevant since we are still in the middle east love the whole Dev and Cam loves story between them glad they got together can't wait to see the Liam and Honor story come
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
AMR0406 More than 1 year ago
Love Kaylea's books! As with all of Kaylea Cross’s romantic suspense books, this one is filled with that edge of your seat suspense that keeps you from putting the book down until you get to the end. This story introduces us to Devon and Cameron who have to go through so many things before they can be together. Just when you think it is their moment, something else comes up. I really enjoy Kaylea’s writing. She writes characters that are very smart, witty, a little damaged, and so loveable that you want to root for them. She also writes stories that seem so real when you read them that you sometimes forget you are reading fiction because of the emotions that you feel. You also realize how much you do NOT want to be in the hero and heroine’s place at times during the story. Devon and Cameron meet through a mutual friend who Devon dated. They had such an attraction to each other, but they did not act on it due to their loyalty to their friend at the time. Now that the situation is different they find that they want to explore those feelings with each other, however their different ranks make it impossible to do this. Devon starts to realize that life is short and why not go after what her heart wants? Throughout the story Devon and Cameron try to find a way that they can be together but one thing after another prevents that. I love watching how this story unfolds and how they never give up and follow their hearts the entire time! I thought the ending to this book was perfect.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago