×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Deadly Errors
     

Deadly Errors

3.8 12
by Allen Wyler
 

See All Formats & Editions

A comatose man is given a fatal dose of insulin in the emergency room, even though he isn't diabetic. An ulcer patient dies of shock after receiving a transfusion of the wrong blood type. A recovering heart patient receives a double dose of medication and suffers a fatal heart attack. Brain surgeon Dr. Tyler Matthews suspects that something is seriously wrong with

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Deadly Errors 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 12 reviews.
harstan More than 1 year ago
Neurosurgeon Dr. Tyler Matthews learns that his boss cheated Medicare so he reports it. Not long afterward DEA Agent Dillon searches his locker and finds drugs there. His lawyer Mary McGuire suggests he accepts the government¿s ¿kind¿ offer though he insists he is being framed over his whistle blowing if he refuses he will lose in court and never practice medicine again. He has already lost his wife Nancy so he reluctantly agrees. Tyler obtains work at the Maynard Medical Center in Seattle where a computerized record keeping system is being tested that is expected to dramatically reduce the annual 44000 to 98000 medical errors. When his patient dies, Tyler conducts a root analysis that leads him to believe the record system is flawed and caused the death he reports his findings. He is threatened with the end of his practice as millions are at stake based on a committee¿s findings of how well the database performed. While other whistle-blowers have died and Nancy is threatened, the FBI, international terrorists, and members of the government-industrial health complex seek him. He trusts no one after San Francisco and with the Patriot Act, they able to bury him. --- This chiller is not for the faint of heart as readers will be stunned by the avarice antics of those who allegedly protect the public health. The story line is action-packed from the moment the DEA disillusioned Tyler and never slows down as the hero feels déjà vu all over again. Interestingly weaving in real world stats such as the eighth most common deaths in America is medical mistakes Dr. Allen Wyler's debut is as tense a medical thriller as there is because the scary supporting stats are real. Six Sigma please. --- Harriet Klausner
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good book.
JBronder More than 1 year ago
Tyler Mathews is a doctor that loses his license to practice medicine in the state of California because of prescription drug use. He also loses his wife and his marriage. He is just now picking up the pieces and working at a hospital in Washington. His ex-wife has contacted him about possibly getting back together and things are looking up at work. Then an emergency room patient dies from an overdose of insulin, Tyler has a patent that comes in and gets an overdose and dies a horribly, and other events start happening. The strange thing is that the new computer system is acting odd. Although the information is being entered correctly, it looks like someone has hacked into the system and changed it causing improper diagnosis, dosage, and treatment. Clearly there is something wrong with the new Med-InDx. When Tyler lost his license in California, he had stumbled over the hospital stealing millions from Medicare. When he brought that to the light, they got rid of him with the drug charge. Because of that history, he is asked to look into the Med InDx. This is going to be hard to do when once again he is framed for drug use. But that is the easy part, now someone wants to silence his findings for good. This is another great story from Allen Wyler. Initially I couldn’t careless with Tyler. He is caught doing drugs, loses everything, and then when he is starting we start with him abusing Ambien. But things look fishy when he loses his patient and it’s because of the dose being wrong in the computer system, I felt for him. The more I got into the story I felt for him. He was just trying to do the right thing and getting grief for it. I loved all the action with the Med InDx program. It’s creepy to think that doctors now use the electronic devices to help with their jobs and the possible outcomes of software issues and such. This is a great medical thriller. If you have not read any of Allen Wyler’s other books, this would be a great one to start with. He is one author that you don’t want to miss. I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Why would u post a reader's synopsis of the book? I was going to buy until I read her review. I kno the book now from start to finish. B&n u should not post these types of reviews it only hurts the author and b&n
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was a new author for me! I really enjoyed this book! It was super suspenseful! I will be buying all of this author's books!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Wow another H.K. mini version of the book. B&N you have just lost a sale, since I know what the book is about, why should I buy it. Save me some money.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Editing was terrible... missing words,misspellings, words out of order. Several instances of pages not turning. Frustrating, to say the least. Less than professional.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago