×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Dear John
     

Dear John

4.3 3085
by Nicholas Sparks
 

See All Formats & Editions

An angry rebel, John dropped out of school and enlisted in the Army, not knowing what else to do with his life—until he meets the girl of his dreams, Savannah. Their mutual attraction quickly grows into the kind of love that leaves Savannah waiting for John to finish his tour of duty, and John wanting to settle down with the woman who captured his heart. But 9

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Dear John 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 3083 reviews.
SHARON39 More than 1 year ago
Another brilliant piece of writing! John, Savannah and Tim in North Carolina; all about love, patriotism, heartache, tragedy, romance and sacrifice to bring you the tender trappings to capture your heart and bring you to tears. Compelling and full of compassion! You can't go wrong with Nicholas Sparks!
BookCatTF More than 1 year ago
I love Nicholas Sparks' writing and was really looking forward to reading this book, but I didn't enjoy it as much as other Sparks books. I didn't connect with Savannah at all and found her to be a little annoying at times. The part of the book I did like was the part that dealt with John and his father, but that isn't really the main focus. It seems that Sparks' books are starting to fall into a formula, and the father-son relationship broke out of that and was a nice change. Since the movie The Notebook was done so well (I enjoyed it more than the book itself), it seems like Sparks writes his books with the intent that they will be made into movies where the characters will define themselves rather than for the books to stand on their own. My favorite Sparks book is A Message in a Bottle - Dear John can't compare to that in my opinion, but I will still read Sparks because I know when he hits the mark for me, it's a great read. (oh and I hope it's not true that the movie will have Miley Cyrus as the Savannah character.... ughhhh now I can't watch it! sorry hannah fans!)
Coether More than 1 year ago
I have read just about every novel Nicholas Sparks has written. Even though I've enjoyed and loved them all, Dear John was different. Dear John was by far one of Spark's best work. He created dynamic characters and I enjoyed discovering their personalities and lifestyles. The path Spark's chose to lead him to the ending of this novel was amazing. John Tyree was a teenage rebel raised by a father who wasn't capable of showing affection. He grew up misunderstanding his father and ultimately blaming him for certain aspects of his life. One evening he realizes he's been throwing his life away. After a couple days of pondering, John decides to join the army. This was the biggest decision of his life and it truly defined him. The army turned him into the wonderful man he has become. Somewhere along the way John met Savannah. Their time together was limited. She was working on building a house as part of Habitat for Humanity and he was returning to duty in two weeks. Their relationship started out as friendship but quickly evolved into much more. They had found in each other something they hadn't been able to find with anyone else. They found love. John returns to the army vowing to return for Savannah. Savannah too vows to wait for John. The distance strengthened their relationship until John broke his promise. His actions were reasonable but the damage they caused was life altering. His decision to re-enlist after 9/11 prolonged the beginning of John's live with Savannah. It simply became too much to handle. The distance between them began to weaken their relationship and there was nothing either of them could do but watch it begin to fall apart. It wasn't what either of them expected or wanted, it came unwelcomed. Neither John nor Savannah could prevent it and it tore them apart from each other. Even though Dear John had a bittersweet ending, it was the proper ending. This novel is worth reading over and over and over again. I've read it twice and even though I know and understand the ending, I can't help but wish their story never ended.
AndreaMG More than 1 year ago
Nicholas Sparks is great at what he does. I couldn't put this book down. Although it doesn't end the way I was hoping, it's still a great book and shows how strong love is and what people will do for the ones they love. You may be disappointed if you like all books to have a happy ending where the boy gets the girl. I can't wait for the movie... I think Channing Tatum will do a great job portraying John.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed the book. I thought it was a sweet love story. I would read it again and again if I wouldn't cry every time. The plot was nice. Some parts you could see coming from miles away but other parts just surprised me like a surprise party. The characters, John Tyree and Savannah Lynn Curtis, were described very well. I felt that if I saw them walking on a sidewalk somewhere I would know exactly who they were. I love romance stories so I loved this book. Nicholas Sparks' is a wonderful writer. I could feel the love, hurt, and sadness they had for each other. I could see some parts so well it almost felt like I was there. Like the part when John's dad is in the hospital dying, it felt like I was there. I could see every expression on everyone's faces by the way Nicholas described their emotions or their personality. I liked the setting because it's so realistic. This story could actually happen in real life. A guy and a girl can fall in love then the guy can be called to go to the war, then when he comes back and everything changes. The beach was a good place for them to meet because they learned a lot about each other there, like they both are good surfers and John knew the most unique restaurants. My opinion of the book is everyone that likes romance novels should read this. It's my favorite book. Over all I really loved this book. It was romantic, heart breaking, and realistic. It was one of the best books I've ever read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I could not put down this book from the moment I started. The story was easy to read, and it kept my interest throughout. It was touching and romantic. I have read several books by Nicholas Sparks and this is definitely my favorite. I highly recommend this book if you want a touching, romantic, wonderful "feel good" story.
someboddy More than 1 year ago
Dear John is a superbly written novel. Sparks being one of my favorite authors, never disappoints novel after novel. This happens to be a favorite. The plot is beautifully thought out, but never predictable, I find myself shocked at some events, you'd think there would be a fairytale ending, that true love would still exist despite anything in the world. Myself being only 13,found that the novel sort of grows you up, or should I say matures you? I found myself at the end having a different perspective on certain things. At the end of each page, I'd find myself rereading bits and pieces of my favorite parts, tearing with every word. I felt whatever emotion John & Savannah felt, I felt the pain and every struggle they went through, yes it sounds cheesey but it seriously engages you. I cried countless times reading this novel, but just couldn't seem to put down the book. Just hoping that they would somehow be back together again. The ending is not happy nor sad, it's rather neutral. It leaves you in tears, and butterflies in your stomach wanting more & more.
TerBenn More than 1 year ago
I thoroughly enjoyed Nicholas Sparks' "Dear John" (2006)! I bought it to take with me on a short trip that I wanted something engaging to read during my 'down time'. However, it was SO good that, having made the mistake of starting it early, I finished it before my departure on the trip! It drew my interest so quickly and completely that I, quite obviously, had trouble putting it down. It is another masterpiece by Sparks. I appreciate how the story is told in first person narrative in a manner that had me both admiring and admonishing the protagonist. You cannot help but get drawn into this very realistic life saga of these two young lovers and, in so doing, get a little glimpse of yourself. After all, isn't that what we relish in the best of fiction? It's a quick and engaging read that allows for volumes of introspection and evaluation of life's decisions. Life is seldom easy and love is, as Sparks so succinctly reminds us, no exception. Another triumph for this gifted author. Thank you, Mr. Sparks!
iLuvOth More than 1 year ago
I was never much of a reader until one day I opened up this book. I never thought you could cry over reading a book but booooy I was wrong...I cried like a baby...especially the part when Savannah wrote John that farewell letter he read on the plane :( it touched me so much like I was there cause I to was a military wife & felt that intense feeling when husband/bf at the time left to basic training. I couldnt put this book down. Id have to be up for work at 630am & found myself still reading till 2am with my back aching lol! but this book is sooo worth it. Nicholas Sparks can write let me tell ya :) I hope this book makes it in theaters asap. Truly my fave book ever. I recommend it ;)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is the most amazing book i have ever read. Dear John is fully written in exquisite detail and give vivid images of how Savannah and John truley feel about eachother. This is a bittersweet love novel that kept me at the edge of my seat throughout the whole journey. Nicholas Sparks is an excellent author. I look foward to his other books as well. I recommend this book to everyone. You wont regret buying this book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I don't think I've ever read a book that's made me cry and hurt as much as this one. I honestly felt the pain of both John and Savannah. While the beginning of the book seemed a little boring, it was worth it. And knowing all those details were important to the rest of the story. Though this was a very sad story, it was by far one of the best books I've ever read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a fantastic book. I love the fact that it written from John's view. That makes it that much more of a love story. I like the bookending just as much as the movie ending Its a great love story that quite possible could be real life. Nicholas is great writer, can wait to see what he writes next.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved this book. It was heart-breakingly beautiful! I love Nicholas Sparks works. He makes you feel the characters and their emotions. His voice is portrayed wonderfully in this book. Its almost as if he was the main character and he went through all this pain. The book wasn't cheesy it didn't evolve two of which of the differnt gender having each other in the bed, at all times. It was sweet and sentimental. And another thing (which I loved) is that you could feel the pain and heart-break. I cried so much through this book. I couldn't put it down. I had to know; was she going to take him? (Or) Was she going to leave him...? The only main problem I had about it was, it was so sad!! I hated the ending but at the same time I loved it! This story was painful to read and you might never think twice to read it again but, it was one of the greatest love story I ever read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Barely on the 3rd page and already crazy in love with this book!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I've read this book a couple of years ago, and until now, whenever i'm asked what's my favorite of all the books i've read, this is the first thing that comes to my mind. The book is far better than the movie.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Another winner! I have only started reading Sparks' books this year and I'm hooked! It's hard to say which one is better than the other but this one is definitely up there! Yes some parts were predictable but the story in itself was great.
piercka1 More than 1 year ago
This is one case where I saw the movie first and then read the book. It is usually the other way around for me. I defidently prefer the book version rather than the movie version. I liked that the book had a better plot around some of the main characters than the movie did. I love Nicholas Sparks attention to detail and how he describes the places that the books are taking place at. He is a gifted writer who never disappoints.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is qmazing! I usually dont read books more than once or twice but iv read Dear John atleast 6 times! It was so well written that even after reading so often i still cant put it down until i finish it! AMAZING BOOK!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Best book i haave ever readdd, could not put it down!!!!! OBSESSEED!!!
PrincessLulu More than 1 year ago
Warning this is a review on the book not the movie. Yes the movie was kind of sweet and romantic but it in no way came close to the intensity that was described in the book. John was a out of control teenager going no where real quick, so he decided that he needed the military. Savannah a good christian girl that falls madly in love with a soldier. Of course they decide to wait for each other and of course the distance and time proved to be too much to handle. The plot is common the writing is not. Nickolas Sparks writes with so much ease. The words and the thoughts just flow easily. I just couldn't put the book down. The romance and the love that John and Savannah share was sweet and it never got rated R; which means this book is for everybody. I haven't decided if I like the ending. No matter how much I wanted for John and Savannah to live happily ever after, they didn't. John technically saved Tim's, Savannah's husband, life and ensured that Savannah would live a life time of happiness with Tim. Romantic right? It's not the ending I wanted and of course it is not the ending the movie accepted. I hate that John ended up alone. That is only thing about the movie that I hated. I'm a sucker for happy endings, but I still recommend this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If your in for a heartbreaker than this book is for you. This is an unforgettable book that tells you what love really means and how far you will go to have it. At points it was hard not to cry. Not knowing what he wanted to do with his life John Tryee a rebel joined the army after high school. To him at the time he really didn't consider that he had a family. His mom had left him and his dad when he was a year old. All his dad ever talked about was his coin collection and as you can imagine John got tired of it, so they weren't close. On a leave John meets Savannah and they fall in love. During his leave Savannah encourages him to talk to his father. He and his father become as close as ever. When it is time to go he promises Savannah something that he hopes to keep. They sent letters and called each other but it was never the same. They became distant. When something happens to John's father he must come home, but what comes after that will surprise everyone. This truly is a great book. This was the first Nicholas Sparks book I have read and now I can see why everybody loves him.
Leya More than 1 year ago
Good book people. This novel was on my mind when I didn't have time to read it, when I was taking breaks, and muchh after I read it. Its been months, but still the memory of going through those pages is fresh. I recommend this book to people of both genders. It is truly an amazing book, the characters are likable and easy to relate with. I will forever keep it in my library to refer back to it. Read this if you haven't discovered this authors brilliance already!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Dear John was such a touching book. Though the ending was a little disappointing and I wish so much that it was much happier I fell deeply for this book. Nicholas Sparks is such a phenominal writer and this novel is no exception to his excellence. One day maybe I can write a best seller like this that makes people feel for their characters. Anyone reading this review should stop right now and BUY THE BOOK!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Nicholas Sparks is known for writing love stories, Dear John being one of the. It was an extraordinary boo, I would recommend this book to those who find it fascinating reading about young romance. Dear John is full of suspence, romance, tragedy and full of situations that happen on a daily bases. A lot of people can relate to Savannah ( one of the main characters) because of the war going on. In the book, the war is very important, war leads to dead soldiers and civilians, but most importantly it causes change in our lives forever, whether it be big or small. Sometimes change is for the better and other times it is not. Savannah and Tim experience a good change, while John goes through challenges in life alone. Yet in the end, the meaning of true love is indicated, with the simple question "What does it mean to truly love another?" (pg. 1) Nicholas Sparks does a nice job enhancing the power of the relationship between John and Savannah as realistic as possible. Their love is so real that just by reading the book it seems as if you're reading their minds or as if you're their with them . although it may have an unexpected ending, it makes you realize that life is not always a fairytale; not everything in life has a happy ending. By: Dayyan Alban