×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Dear Mr. Henshaw
     

Dear Mr. Henshaw

4.0 185
by Beverly Cleary
 

See All Formats & Editions

Beverly Cleary’s Newbery Medal-winning book explores the thoughts and emotions of a sixth-grade boy, Leigh Botts, in letter form as he writes to his favorite author, Boyd Henshaw.

After his parents separate, Leigh Botts moves to a new town with his mother. Struggling to make friends and deal with his anger toward his absent father, Leigh loses himself in a

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Dear Mr. Henshaw 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 185 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I think it was very good and they should make another book or a sequel about it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I felt so bad for Lee.The book is sad if you don't like sad stories you should not read the book.I still like the book.
Mirvette Badal More than 1 year ago
I like that it is funny and not boring. I have to read for school and its not that bad.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved this book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I liked the book but the ending is sad. : (
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read this book in 3rd grade i loved it but its esay i recamed it to 2nd and 3rd graders
Guest More than 1 year ago
Dear Mr. Henshaw, by Beverly Cleary, I give five star rating because the realness of the book. Leigh is my favorite character because what happened in the book to him really explains to the reader what happens in the everyday life of a kid. Like having all of the good stuff out of your lunch everyday. Also possibly having your parents divorced. Or not even having any friends. I Like Leigh¿s mom a lot too. She was so about everything he does. Like a real mother should do. Dad was okay but he was so in love with his truck for me to like him a lot. Another reason I gave the book five stars is because of the plot and the flow of the story. I liked Leigh¿s story, ¿A Day on Dad¿s Rig.¿ I was glad he got to go to lunch even if it was with Angela Badger. It was also kind of cool how he made an alarm inside of his lunchbox. He made some friends by doing that. I was happy for Leigh when his dad came home. Especially with Bandit. It was sad though because his mom and dad would not get back together. Well, that is why I gave this book five stars.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Wish their was a second
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
hey whats up thanks this book is magical amazing fun and active specal thanks too mcklu mommy dada and arik
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Cool book had to read it this year in 4th grade
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Ive read this book and its good it gets a little cheesy at the end but otherwise its ok
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is great for kids
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Well its okay but not great. I read it in fourth grade and i thought it was fine in a bad way
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It is awesome book. Mr. Henshaw has a better relationship than his own dad does.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A great book for young readers & more than worthy of the Newberry Medal!
Tammy Prokopis More than 1 year ago
i love this book. i coulnt take my eyes off of it
Sophia Louwagie More than 1 year ago
i love this book! it is very fasinating!u should read it!:);)
Guest More than 1 year ago
I was very disappointed in this book. This is one of those Very Special books that is meant to help children cope with Meaningful Issues. Most of Beverly Cleary's books seem designed to entertain, although I must say she got more bogged down in social issues even in the later Ramona books (Oh no! Dad lost his job! How will the family cope?) instead of telling us something funny about Ramona and a boy she has a crush on, which would be a much more realistic concern for a typically self-centered child. I can see why she originally published this under a different name, because it's such an afterschool-special type of story, and not what most people would be looking for from her. In my opinion, sometimes adults place too much importance on issues they think should concern children, and that's how a book like this wins an award. Very few children would ever pick this book up and read it for its entertainment value alone. It's purely an assignment type of book.
Anonymous 7 days ago
I read this book when I was in the fourth grade and that was in 2004. This book is amazing. Still my favorite book of all time since I was little.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The only thing it talks about is a kid sending and receiving letters from his favorite author, Mr Henshaw. This is the only terrible book by Beverly Cleary. Her others are very good.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Leigh Botts is a boy writing to his favorite author. going though weird things in his own life. Leigh is getting his lunch stolen , is he going to find the thief? Leigh has a diary that he keeps and always writes in. Leigh has divorce parents. and his dad s always on the road and took there dog bandit with him. Leigh misses both of them. are they ever going to come back? I would give this book 4.5 stars. It's filled with sadness and happiness I like it because it's really interesting. this book is more for ages 8 to 10 . but I still like liked it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It was a good book except that it was only letters to Mr. Henshaw or to Mr. Pretend Henshaw.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read this book for my 3rd grade book report and I thought it was amazing. The book is about Leigh Botts writing letters to Mr. Henshaw. I think people should read this book because it is well-written and could make people smarter because they could learn how to write letters. While I was reading I felt like I wanted to be friends with Mr. Henshaw. The one part I didn't like was that a thief stole the best food from Leigh Botts. Overall, I think this book is the best book ever!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Even my brother who hates to read enjoyed this book!