×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Dear Neighbor, Drop Dead
  • Alternative view 1 of Dear Neighbor, Drop Dead
  • Alternative view 2 of Dear Neighbor, Drop Dead
     

Dear Neighbor, Drop Dead

4.0 11
by Saralee Rosenberg
 

See All Formats & Editions

In Mindy's yoga-obsessed, thirty-is-the-new-wife neighborhood, every day is a battle between Dunkin' Donuts, her jaws-of-life jeans, and Beth Diamond, the self-absorbed sancti-mommy next door who looks sixteen from the back. So much for sharing the chores, the stores, and the occasional mischief to rival Wisteria Lane.

It's another day, another dilemma until Beth

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Dear Neighbor, Drop Dead 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 14 reviews.
24girl More than 1 year ago
I'm sure there are a few people out there that have had experiences with a neighbor who makes you want to put a note in their mailbox that says, "Dear neighbor, drop dead." This is exactly what Mindy Sherman did to her horribly mean neighbor Beth Diamond.

Mindy is an average overweight wife and mom of three who juggles work, carpooling the kids and the stress of just barely managing not to drown in debt while ducking and dodging mean comments from Beth. Beth and her husband seemingly have it all; new cars, a huge immaculate house and two perfect kids. But all is not as it seems... Beth's marriage is about to fall apart at the seams and she has no real friends to turn to. Suddenly she's apologizing for treating Mindy bad in the past and looking for a shoulder to cry on.

Meanwhile Mindy's own family drama is escalating and they've just learned that Mindy's stepson is coming for a visit which eventually turns into a permanent stay. With everything flipping upside down around her, Mindy channels Oprah and Dr. Phil to help make everything right again.

Dear Neighbor, Drop Dead is a funny madcap look into the life of a soccer-mom. Just when you think things might be looking up for Mindy, Beth and their families another bad thing happens and you can't help but laugh. I enjoyed reading this book but the ending was just too "storybook" for me to rate it higher. It¿s a quick two/three day read that I do recommend reading if you have the chance.
risuena More than 1 year ago
As I was reading the first half of the book, I kept thinking "could this family have any more bad things happen"? Although Mindy's family was more realistic and gave me a few laughs, I didn't find them very interesting. I didn't grow attached to any of the characters really. The most engaging was Aaron, and that was probably because his background was the most mysterious. When things started to turn around for Mindy's family, the story became far fetched. It was like going from one bad unlucky extreme to a great fortunate one. I had to force myself to finish the book just because I don't like to leave things halfway. Other topics were mentioned in passing, Mindy's weight and the holocaust survivors, which were never fully developed but could have been quite interesting. Sometimes, I felt there were too many characters and what was really the point of this story again? I vaguely remember the author's stress on family, priorities in life, and relationship efforts, but her delivery of these messages are buried under too much junk.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If you think you're having a bad day, week, month you have to read this book! I laughed, cried and shouted sometimes all in the course of one page.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I took this to read while on vacation, hanging out by the pool. This was the perfect book for that. I could relate to a few of the characters and as a fan of Desperate Housewives, I could not put it down, reminded me of the show. Very funny!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
We all have funny friends who tell great stories. Friends to whom we sometimes say things like, 'you should write a book.' I'm so glad author, Saralee Rosenberg, either heard this enough or believed in herself enough to share her humor with us. There's a laugh on every page of Dear Neighbor Drop Dead. From page one, I felt I had to fasten my seatbelt, as the quick pace and over-the-top characters just cracked me up. It was quite a ride through this Long Island neighborhood full of twists and turns and page-turning gusto. Although primarily Mindy's story, this is the tale of Mindy and Beth. Beth is THE neighbor from hell, a first-class beyotch, who puts on the perfect routine and is so mean to everyone--particularly the big-hearted Mindy--she's easy to loathe. Mindy and Beth are thrown together through a variety of circumstances and their relationship as frenemies develops in unexpected and amusing ways. Every secondary character no matter how important or trivial to the story is beautifully developed and makes this quick read highly enjoyable. Be prepared to experience the culture of modern Jewish families. You'll hunger for a New York bagel and smile at the expressions: 'It's never the stuff you worry about that happens, it's the stuff you don't see coming that incapacitates you like a Taser. And nothing like five- thousand volts of electricity to get your undivided attention.' I had to agree with Mindy's stepson, Aaron, when he proclaims: 'I like being Jewish. You guys really know how to party.' To which Mindy, ever the wit, replies: 'Next to suffering, it's what we do best.' Very well done. I look forward to reading Saralee Rosenberg's other books--including one mentioned in this story, Claire Voyant--particularly when I feel the need to smile.
Guest More than 1 year ago
WOW! Dear Neighbor, Drop Dead is one of the most hilarious and poignant books I have ever read! Saralee Rosenberg has ingeniously coupled her outstanding wit with touching moments of family life and values. The two neighbors, Beth and Mindy, could not be more opposite and yet ironically they share that common bond that draws us inherently to our dearest friends. The incredible humor is a laugh a minute and I mean deep down belly laugh out loud. The softer moments leave you reflecting on your life and famliy and recognizing the importance to doing the right thing even though it might happen at the wrong moment. The characters are so credible that you look over your shoulder to see if Ms. Rosenberg visited your neighborhood while you were sleeping! I have recommended this book to everyone I know. Ms. Rosenberg has also written three other books which are equally hysterical and touching all at once. You will adore Mindy and get mad at Beth only to cheer them on when they come together and experience those unforgettable life moments. For those of us who love our friends, you will relate to this book more than you could know. Oprah, why is this book not on your list yet? Get to it!!!!! Dear Neighbor is a book you will not want to end and yet you cannot stop yourself from reading. Keep up the good work! Please start another book immediately, I need a good laugh!
Guest More than 1 year ago
And poor Mindy has to move next door to one crazy,spoiled and hurtful neighbor. But life has a way of changing and this neighbor gets her come uppance BIG TIME! I laughed, I cried...some parts had me in stiches. Rosenberg is a master scene planner and writes so vividly, you can actually see them taking place. Buy it, read it...pass it on!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I may be one of the few people who did NOT pick up DEAR NEIGHBOR, DROP DEAD because of the title! I picked it because of the A+ at the bottom right corner of the book, thinking it was like the Oprah stamp of approval... As I started reading, I felt like a ring-side spectator at a boxing match and couldn¿t relate. I get along with my neighbors and it was hard to imagine why Mindy would take so much abuse from Beth. But soon fiction and real life intersected for me in the scene where Mindy is lost on a highway and thinks about her late father. When we are lost in life, there is no GPS. We have to dig down and find our own inner direction and notice things we have ignored. Mindy realized she had to get lost in order for her to find a better road and direction for her life. Saralee Rosenberg is a beautiful weaver of words, threading so many strands with humor and pain love and hate, life and death indulgence and sacrifice, creating a beautiful tapestry of what real life, blemishes and all, needs to truly reflect. Tears of sadness and joy are shed in the reading of this book, and in the end one realizes in life you need both. Ok.. so this book wasn't on Oprah¿s list (yet), but it gets my 5-star rating. Buckle up and enjoy the ride¿ it is LIFE!
Guest More than 1 year ago
DEAR NEIGHBOR, DROP DEAD is Saralee Rosenberg¿s best book yet. The title of this book is what immediately drew me in, and the characters are what kept me reading. Even though I¿m not a mother, and I don¿t have any insane neighbors, I felt like I could really relate to Mindy, Beth, and their troubled families. The rivalry between the two neighbors is hilarious, and filled with vicious insults that I can¿t wait to try out in real life (just kidding!). On a deeper level, a lot of the sentiments expressed by Saralee are really heartfelt, including a subplot about the Holocaust that really put the petty problems we complain about everyday into perspective. When I wasn¿t laughing, I was crying, and when I wasn¿t crying, I was frantically turning pages to find out what was going to happen next. This is book has everything, and it was pure entertainment from beginning to end. Anyone who is looking for an amazing book to read should run to their nearest bookstore and buy this book immediately!