×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Death by Cashmere (Seaside Knitters Mystery Series #1)
     

Death by Cashmere (Seaside Knitters Mystery Series #1)

4.0 74
by Sally Goldenbaum
 

See All Formats & Editions

Readers can't help but get entangled in this USA Today bestselling series.

Now in trade paperback-the new mystery series that spins a yarn about knitters and murder in a seaside village.

Not long after Isabel "Izzy" Chambers opens up a knitting shop in the sleepy fishing town of Sea Harbor, Massachusetts, a diverse group of women begins congregating each

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Death by Cashmere (Seaside Knitters Mystery Series #1) 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 74 reviews.
maryjean1121 More than 1 year ago
I thought this book was good at developing the characters. I had no trouble mentally picturing the sea side town and the characters. However, I thought things moved slowly. I was interested in what was going to happen but I didn't walk around with it clutched to my chest as I do some novels. I think it's great for older readers as the personal interaction and language are very tame.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This 250 page ebook is very good, if you like clean, cozy mysteries. There is no romance, sex, profanity or religion. and the murders are not extremely gory. There are married couples in this novel which is nice, although some parents are deceased. I wish an author would pen a book where the heroine or hero had both sets of parents, alive, well and not divorced. There is a lot of emphasis on the food and on knitting. A lot terms were not explained. At the end of the book there is a pattern for a scarf, but no pictures to help the knitter along. A .com address for purchasing the speciality yarn would have been nice also. The closest yarn shop here is 45 minutes away and the owners had never heard of this yarn. But over all this was a fast, enjoyable read, with a light easy to figure out mystery. For ages 16 and up. More enjoyable if you knit and love seafood. AD
babynurse77 More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed reading the book. It kept my interest and had wanting for more. I also loved the size of the book. Big enough for me to read the writing easily and yet light enough to carry easily. Would love to read more books from this author and about the characters in the book.
jkkelly35 More than 1 year ago
I give this book 5 stars. It is wonderfully written and keeps you interested throughout. I couldn't put it down. I would highly reccomend this books to anyone that loves knitting mysteries and enjoys the ocean view concept.
harstan More than 1 year ago
Realizing she was not cut out to be a lawyer, Izzy Chambers quits her job to open up a knitting shop in Sea Harbor, Massachusetts where she spent summers as a child. Her Aunt Nell lives there and is one of her biggest supporters while some other ladies like retiree Birdie and lobster fisherwoman Cass are her best customers. They all bond and meet once a week as the Seaside Knitters.-------------- Angelina Archer lives in an apartment above Izzy¿s store. She is working on a project for the local museum on quarries and land deeds. One night she goes on a date with Cass¿s brother and ditches him a public argument ensues with Tony Framingham, son of the town¿s matriarch. The next day Angelina is found dead in the nearby breakwater. Most people prefer to assume a tragic accident occurred, but an autopsy revealed her blood contained a drug that paralyzed her making it impossible for Angelina to swim to safety. The Seaside Knitters sisterhood investigates finding dirty dark secrets long buried by the paragons of a Cape Cod town.------------- This is a character driven amateur sleuth starring four likable female friends who work the homicide one stitch at a time. The quartet each deals separately with a segment of the murder pattern until they seamlessly sew their respective puzzle pieces together. However though this is a refreshing outlook it also takes away from the intensity of solving the case as more than half the book is done before the knitters merge their clues. Mindful of Monica Ferris¿ Minnesota Crewel World and Maggie Sefton¿s Colorado House of Lambspun fans will enjoy DEATH BY CASHMERE.----------------- Harriet Klausner
nancydrew123 More than 1 year ago
As a knitter I was anxious to read this book. The book cover was inviting and the quaint town of Sea Harbor, Massachusetts caught my fancy. This book is light reading with a weak mystery. I was confused at first because I thought the story would be told from Izzy's point of view. It was not. It was told from her Aunt Nell's point of view. The characters were likeable but they fell a little flat. I did enjoy the descriptions of the yarn and the yarn shop. There seemed to be a lot of dialogue..... a little annoying after a while. I liked the sub plot of the lobster poachers. All in all I did like this book. I think I was just expecting something over the top. Seaside town, knitting and murder seems like such a fantastic pairing. I will try the next book in this series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Liked the environment, wanted to know the good people in the story, but way too much reviewing of internal thoughts or concerns.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was such a sweet read! It was suspenseful and had me guessing! I am getting the next book right away!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Honney1944 More than 1 year ago
The story and characters keep moving plot along at a steady pace.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved this book because it was easy to read and a very entertaining mystery.
FanAR More than 1 year ago
Very enjoyable book to read. Fun characters. Loved it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
loved this book. Kept me guessing to the end. Characters were interesting and I suspected each one at different times.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Enjoyable
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is great i have read all of her books s far and loved everyone of them bring on ore
catc63 More than 1 year ago
Wonderful characters and a good story line. This one will have you guessing to the end. I also highly reccommend all the seaside knitter books.
DarkAngelCT More than 1 year ago
This book follows Izzy Chambers and her friends as they find out Angie Archer has been found dead in the water tangled up in lobster trap of a friend of theirs.  Izzy Chambers settled in Sea Harbor, Massachusetts after being a lawyer and leaving it behind to open a knitting shop.  Above her shop is an apartment where Angie Archer lives.  When Angie is missing one night people begin to wonder where she is but she turns up short enough, granted not alive.  Now the residents are trying to figure out if she committed suicide or was she murdered?  If she was murdered to who had the most to gain by her death? There are in this book so many people that could have had something to gain by her death.  Was it her boyfriend or a guy who thought politeness was love?  Or a angry wife realizing her husband was in love with her?  Or a worker in the town who some thought was very weird?  There are so many possibilities, but the real truth really flames up the situation! In this book we also meet Sam who is an old family friend of Izzy Chambers who is in need of an apartment and Izzy offers up Angie's old apartment. Angie looks to have spent time working on something for a kind old man of the community.  Uncovering long ago buried secrets. I loved meeting all the local neighbors and learning about them and their connection to Nell, and Izzy.  It was a great adventure to read about!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
RAM57 More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this book and have purchased the second in the series. These are not the most difficult mysteries to read but an enjoyable read with easy to get to know characters. I look forward to the full series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
TheyCallMeMolly More than 1 year ago
I picked up Death by Cashmere on a whim. I like polite mysteries (as in the main characters use their minds and are typically normal, every day people, just like Nell in this book), and I am a fan of mysteries set in small towns, where everyone knows everyone. Death By Cashmere and the Seaside Knitters fit that perfectly. I am not a knitter. I know nothing about knitting except that it takes two giant needles, so you do not have to be knitter to enjoy this. Yes, they do talk about knitting a lot and yes, much of the action is set in a knitting shop, but the knitting is really just an explanation as to why two young women (in their late twenties, early thirties) would hang out with 80 year old Birdie (she is not a grandmotherly type by any means) and middle-aged Nell. Nell is actually the main character, despite the description of the book being all about Izzy, Nell's niece. There are lots of colorful supporting characters. The descriptions of Sea Harbor make me wish it was a real place because I would love to visit and have dinner on the Endicotts' back deck on a Friday night with a martini made by Ben (Nell's husband, a sounding board for many people in town, and throughout the series he often provides insights that the knitters need to solve the murders), lots of friends and of course, discussing the latest murder in the town. I love the relationships between the women, which is very real and loving. Nell and Izzy are a very close aunt and niece, and Nell often refers to Izzy as the daughter she didn't have. It's a great beach read, and each book in the series is just as great as the first. The book is just good. Buy it. You won't regret getting to know these fabulous characters.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago