×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Death Comes to Pemberley
     

Death Comes to Pemberley

3.2 375
by P. D. James
 

See All Formats & Editions

A rare meeting of literary genius: P. D. James, long among the most admired mystery writers of our time, draws the characters of Jane Austen’s beloved novel Pride and Prejudice into a tale of murder and emotional mayhem.
 
It is 1803, six years since Elizabeth and Darcy embarked on their life together at Pemberley, Darcy’s magnificent

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Death Comes to Pemberley 3.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 375 reviews.
yowen2010 More than 1 year ago
Honestly, I am very disappointed in this novel. This is my first time reading anything by PD James but I am unhappy. I LOVE Jane Austen and Pride and Prejudice is one of my all-time favorite novels. I feel like Austen's novel was tainted. "Death comes to Pemberley" was confusing, dull, and tedious. The only positive thing I can say was of the storyline. The plot was interesting but it didn't materialize properly and was undeveloped. Also, Elizabeth, the main character in Pride and Prejudice barely existed in James's novel. The tone and manner of the novel was dull and hard to understand (I am an avid reader). It was disheartening to say the least! No wonder Austen didn't want anyone using her novels in any way for use after her passing.
MayaMA More than 1 year ago
This was a terrific sequal and tells us what James thinks happened next. Add a mystery and you have a winner! I'm read most of James and all of Austen. In fact, have reread much of both. James captured the spirit of Austen with a Jamesian plot. One of the few books I have read cover to cover is almost one sitting.
simple344 More than 1 year ago
I've read many British mystery books by Phillis.James, so naturally had to get the next book. It did not disappoint!
2PointySticks More than 1 year ago
It is a truth universally acknowledged that the writer of a sequel should carefully read the original. From the first paragraphs through the entire work, James gets her references to the events and especially the timeline of "Pride and Prejudice" wrong as often as right. She even managed to work a glaring error into a reference to "Emma"! It's disappointing that an author of James' caliber and stature would so carelessly and disrespectfully mangle another author's work. Without the constant irritation of these easily avoided errors, this mystery would have been a fairly amusing, if shallow, confection. As it stands, I can't recommend it to anyone who knows and loves their Austen.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I've always known that no one could replicate the beauty and wit of Jane Austen's work and I have avoided all modern-day reworking or additions to her novels. But after hearing an interview with P.D. James and a review of the book on NPR I decided to give it a chance. I should have known better. I do believe that any true Austen fan will be greatly disappointed. James' portrayals of the characters we love and loathe from 'Pride and Prejudice' bear little similarity to the ones that Jane created in the original. And the attempt to tie-in the Knightly's from 'Emma' and the Eliot's from 'Persuasion' was just too outrageous. This is the only book I have read by P.D. James and she may well be brilliant at telling other stories but she should have never taken on Austen.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Being a huge fan of Pride and Prejudice I was not expecting this to be as good as it was. It was a little predictable, but still entertaining. I only cringed once or twice when I felt like the author had misinterpreted the original.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It took me over a month to have the motivation to even finish this book. I love Austen's characters, however, they are completely unrecognizable in this novel. No wit whatsoever and entirely joyless.
MattMarak More than 1 year ago
I really wanted to like this book, but found it quite boring. It's difficult to build on Jane Austen's classic and I was disappointed that I ended not caring much for many of the characters. The only upside was that it was a pretty quick read. Very cool idea but the actual story was weak.
lynnelondon More than 1 year ago
But by the time the trial began, I was ready to close the book. I did not care who did it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
James accomplished a great imitation of Austen's writing style, but missed an oppurtunity to allow a strong female character to shine. Elizabeth seemed pushed aside and dependent on the men folk to sort out the sordid mess. I felt that there was a juicy story, but the novel was so uncomfortable with the situation it did not want to bother any one with the morbid details and wanted to quickly find a solution that did not besmirch the name of any one important.
SharingJane More than 1 year ago
I expected more from P D James. She captured the mystery part but not the characters. The pert Elizabeth was too domesticated and Darcy was just efficiently dull.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was disappointed until i got to the last third of the book or so. The story line is much more interesting in the end (which i suppose is often the case with a good mystery, but this still seemed lacking). I also missed Jane's humor.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was extremely disappointing. 3/4 of this book is an overview of Pride and Prejudice without any substance of its own. It is a complete waste of good reading time!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The language pulled me in during the sample read, so I decided to give this a try. But dear Jane, I'm so sorry I betrayed you! I lost my pride as well as my prejudice! Whatever made me think anyone else could succeed your original work? Death came to Pemberly painfully and much too slowly. It needed to be put out of its misery about two hundred pages sooner. If you are looking to be truly reminded of Austen's genius, reread her books. If you are looking for an absorbing murder mystery full of intrigue, you won't find that here either.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Cinderella should never have grandchildren or arthritis. A story well told ends when it ends. PD did literature a grave injustice.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I didn't quite enjoy this book. It dragged on way too long and frankly was told in the same manner as a newspaper article rather than a novel. I love P&P and this book is an insult to the characters , Elizabeth has no voice at all, and the quintesiential Darcy comes across as a self-involved ass. Wickham is portrayed as a charming, wronged man and there were way too many other unimportant people and worst of all the author managed to take the romance out of one of the most romantic couples ever created! BOO!
nellibly More than 1 year ago
I found this book so boring, I confess I couldn't finish it. While the author does a good job of capturing the vernacular of the time, the writing lacks any of the wit and social satire for which Jane Austen was so rightly praised. Still worse, the plot lacked any semblance of suspense for me. I simply didn't care whodunit. Reading P.D. James Author's note on this site, I can only say she should have heeded her own advice.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Unlike a fair amount of the other readers I had no issues with the way the author took P&P and worked with it to create somewhat of a sequel. However, I did have two issues: 1) The overview that I read before purchasing the book made it seem that Wickham was the one that was murdered, not Captain Denny...and let's be honest, who cares about Denny?, and 2) There seriously was no mystery over who killed him. I had my suspicions the entire time and was gravely disappointed that the murderer was someone you never even met in the book and was only alluded to a few times. To me most of the fun of a mystery is trying to guess who did it and this book wasn't fair to the reader, there's no way you could have guessed. Seriously, the author could have picked a way better murderer. I wasn't impressed.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Not well thought out. Way too much personal(character) thoughts and too much passed brought up. Conversations between charactets was limited and the story between darcy and elizabeth was poor.
DeborahDB More than 1 year ago
Mildly enjoyable but the storyline felt labored - also not enough Elizabeth and too much Mr. Darcy.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Too much rehashing of what we already know about the characters. Doesn't seem possible, but the DArcys were actually dull. This was certainly not we have come to expect from P. D. James.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I did not enjoy the simplistic style of the author's writing. The events are plainly stated with little detail and basically no dialog. It doesn't do Jane Austen justice.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love Jane Austen's Pride and Prejudice and looked forward to reading this continuing story. It was long, and at times I found it hard to stay focused in my reading. What should have taken just a couple days to read took weeks. Boring, drawn out, and a let down.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
STUPID
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
"This was extremely disappointing. The author spends way too much time recapping the original novel and it continues throughout, even in the epilogue. The plot is uninteresting and slow without any compelling mystery. Not worth a read." I agree with the above previous post. I am an Austen fan and as such should not be bombarded with the recapping of Pride and Prejudice. If you have not read the original then why even consider reading the "follow-up".