×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Death of a Village (Hamish Macbeth Series #18)
     

Death of a Village (Hamish Macbeth Series #18)

4.2 17
by M. C. Beaton
 

See All Formats & Editions

From the author of the Agatha Raisin television series...
DEATH OF A VILLAGE: A Hamish Macbeth Mystery
Trouble is afoot in a Scottish fishing village as Constable Macbeth finds the pub empty, the church full, and the air permeated with fear. With the help of a journalist, Macbeth begins to ferret out the truth.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Death of a Village (Hamish Macbeth Series #19) 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 16 reviews.
ZoeyTheCat More than 1 year ago
This is my first book by M. C. Beaton, with her charming Hamish MacBeth. Add me to the list of fans of this quirky Constable and his life of solving even more quirky crimes. Hamish is a success in spite of himself. He doesn't want to move up and out of Lochdubh, so he and his friend Jimmy have to constantly take action to keep him from getting a promotion. It's a difficult feat because he's really good. This time he works to solve the mystery of the villagers in Stoyre. They've all suddently clammed up and won't speak to anyone including Hamish. He knows something is wrong and finally solves the mystery. Actually, Hamish works on multiple crimes. All the characters are developed well in this book and it gives the reader a feel of Scottish village life. I'm hooked and I'll be buying more Hamish MacBeth.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Our reluctant hero Hamish MacBeth, keeper of the law in a remote Highland village, is back once again. This time he investigates a nearby village whose inhabitants are acting mysterious - they are reluctant to talk, yet seem both hopeful and fearful at the same time. With the help of an unlikely assortment of characters, including faithful dog Lugs, Hamish sets out to solve this mystery as well as a series of other crimes. While I love the author's Agatha Raisin series, I always feel her best efforts are saved for the books about dear, unambitious, flame-haired Hamish. Fun to read, as always!
Book-in-hand More than 1 year ago
Constable Hamish Macbeth wins the heart of the readers, no matter the story line. This Highlander mystery examples the superstitions and subsequent response of the inhabitants of a neighboring village to weird but somewhat explainable happenings. The book has the obligatory romance references and the continued struggles with his superiors, but the story lines are what the readers of M.C. Beaton expect and love. I found the tale a tad too tall and predictable and not one of my favorite in this series. However, any book by Beaton takes one back to a simpler life, where the pace calms the reader and makes one wish to brave the North Scotland climate to participate, no matter how weird.
harstan More than 1 year ago
Police constable Hamish Macbeth loves living in the small Scottish Highland village of Lochdubh because he knows and likes most of the residents who in turn trusts him. He¿s regarded as a maverick at headquarters and his superiors would like to get him transferred to a bigger place where his talents could be better utilized. Hamish is very comfortable being a constable and does not want to rise in the ranks. When he cracks an insurance fraud scheme, he becomes a media darling and the brass has every attention of transferring him whether he wants to go or not. He uses a bit of subterfuge to stay in Lochdubh but he soon breaks open another case involving a nursing home killing their patients for profit. Before he can talk to headquarters again, he is knee deep in an investigation in the hamlet of Stoyre where the villagers are acting very peculiar and nobody is willing to talk to him. Hamish is determined to find out what is going on there even if it means endangering his life. This is the eighteenth Hamish Macbeth mystery and it is as refreshing and enjoyable as the previous seventeen books in this long running and delightful series. M.C. Beaton has created a hero it is impossible to dislike, as he is an honest non-ambitious man who is very happy with his place in the universe. If Hamish shows as much brilliance in future books, he is going to be hard pressed to refuse a promotion. Harriet Klausner
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was the best, by far, of the ones I have read lately. It has so many different characters and events, and moves along real fast - even laughing at some of the incidents and delightful characters.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Being an avid fan of the Hamish Macbeth series, I expected to enjoy a good read. I did not expect to find myself tensing with suspense at the climax. An exceptional read and thoroughly enjoyable. Yes, if only there were a real place like Lochdugh and a real person like Constable Macbeth, I may not move there but I sure would visit as often as I could. Here's hoping there are many more in this series.
jay-dee More than 1 year ago
Always charming, M.C. Beaton's Hamish McBeth captivates and delights. Easy reading, lots of fun.