×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Death Warmed Over
     

Death Warmed Over

3.7 64
by Kevin J. Anderson, Phil Gigante (Read by)
 

See All Formats & Editions

"A dead detective, a wimpy vampire, and other interesting characters from the supernatural side of the street make DEATH WARMED OVER an unpredictable walk on the weird side. Prepare to be entertained." -- Charlaine Harris

DEATH WARMED OVER is a laugh-out-loud horror novel about a zombie private investigator and a bleeding-heart human lawyer tackling an unnatural

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Death Warmed Over 3.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 64 reviews.
Skuldren More than 1 year ago
There are a lot of different types of stories out there, but Death Warmed Over is hard to top. Kevin J. Anderson takes the classic detective noir story and populates it with zombies, vampires, werewolves, mummies and every other sort of ghoul and goblin. The end result is a fun story full of surprises. Heading into this book, I wasn’t exactly sure what to expect. I knew it starred a zombie PI in a world filled with monsters including werewolf hitmen. However the cover struck me as a little cartoonish and comical, so it was a bit of a surprise when I came across some of the adult oriented content in the novel. Amid comical characters like vampire interior decorators and a pair of witch sisters, one of which who was accidentally turned into a sow, you almost get the feeling that this could be a kid’s story. However there are some more mature elements like vampire porn, ZILF, zombie cougars, and BBV (big breasted vampires) that certainly let the reader know that this is not a kid’s book. There’s also some violence as people are sometimes torn limb from limb due to unfortunate encounters with the book’s monsters. In fact, at one point a troll nearly deep fried a kid as a tasty snack. It’s an odd combination but Kevin J. Anderson makes it work. By taking light hearted material and blending it with some darker stuff, he creates a believable mix that imitates the real world. The bizarre setting for the story is based on an event called The Big Uneasy. About ten years ago an event occurred that caused the dead to rise, spirits to linger, and vampires, werewolves and the like to pop up. The book doesn’t dwell very long on the details but instead focuses on the characters. Dan Chambeaux aka Dan Shamble is the main character. He’s a zombie private investigator and a partner in Chambeaux and Deyer Investigations. Since his death, he’s accumulated a healthy pile of unsolved cases. Through the story, readers will get to dive into that pile as they’re introduced to a wide variety of monsters and their peculiar circumstances. From persecuted undead clients to messy divorces where the spouse claims the person they married no longer exists now that they’re a werewolf. There’s a bit of mystery as the reader is left to wonder who killed Dan and how it might be related to his other cases. Plus each case also has it’s own questions which layers on an additional mystery factor. Yet the ultimate driving factor is the characters themselves. As much as I wanted to know who killed Dan, what I really wanted to know was what was going to happen to him? Was he going to survive? Was he going to catch his murderer(s)? And most importantly, would his friends survive as well? All in all it’s a colorful combination of entertaining elements. Part Chinatown, part horror comedy, Death Warmed Over is entirely fun. The characters are enjoyable. The story is well paced and decently balanced between humor, drama, and action. Yet at the heart, it’s a detective story so most of it is centered on dialog and plot progression as cases are solved, created, and linked together. I enjoyed it enough to give it a solid four out of five metal bikinis and recommend it to anyone who wants to shake up their normal reading diet with something a bit different.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A great twist to the age old hard boiled dective novel.
asherkat More than 1 year ago
Very entertaining. So glad there are more books in this series. If you like P.I. books or zombie books you will love this book. If you like both it is quite a treat.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved this type of storyline.Very amusing and loved the characters.
Caffinefree23 More than 1 year ago
Adorable story, it has a fun detective plot with a lot of unique characters that make it a very enjoyable read. I hope he continues this series as I would love to read more.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Not your average detective story, not your average vampire story. Author adds a humorous twist to a good hard-boiled P.I. tale. I have avoided zombie/vampire books but this was a free book so I thought it was worth a try. Glad I did, have bought books 2 & 3 so far and have enjoyed them all. Dan Chambeaux really rocks... or should I say shambles?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was a great story with plenty of adventure and humor. I really enjoyed it.
Cromag More than 1 year ago
I'm not a big fan of Zombie Apocalypse stories, but this isn't a Zombie Apocalypse story. It's a fun, light-hearted combination of mysteries and paranormal fiction. The hero is a zombie, his girlfriend is a ghost, they encounter vampires and werewolves ... and solve several mysteries along the way. The story is internally consistent -- magic is present, but the mysteries aren't "magically" resolved. The characters have personalities, problems related to their "conditions" ... etc. Anyway, I enjoyed this book. I'll be reading the others in the series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was looking for something "different" yet still a light and entertaining read. "Death Warmed Over" nailed it! Laugh out loud funny at times with a twist plot......great read. I am actually glad this is a series because I'll be hungry for more Dan Chambeaux after this one.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great concept funny and strange. If Family Guy made The Walking Dead this might be it, yet this book is even better. Going to purchase the rest of the series, but you should really read this book its great!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved every word. This story is really well written. I have tried to read other stories like this one, but they came off as immature and stupid. This story? Amazing and humerous. Well worth it!!!
Anonymous 10 months ago
Cute book lots of twists and turns. Well writen. The bad guy was obvious early on but that in no way took away from the story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is the first book I have read by Dan. What a treat ! The plot is humorous, with minimal gore. The good characters are likeable, the bad characters get what they deserve. All in all, a fun read. I am looking forward to reading the next book. - AndrewO, in San Jose, Calif.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
No surprises but entertaining all the same
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Caroles_Random_Life More than 1 year ago
4 Stars! I did not expect to enjoy this book nearly as much as I did in the end. This book is incredibly original with enough humor that I found myself chucking every once in a while. I have a slightly weird sense of humor and something about this book just clicked for me. I tend to listen to audiobooks just a little bit at a time and I found that worked well with this book. I think that oftentimes books with any paranormal element take themselves too seriously. Not this book. This book jumps in and doesn't really take anything seriously. The main character Dan Chambeaux's name is even open for jokes - Did you notice that this is the Dan Shamble, Zombie PI series? I love just thinking about a world where if you come back as a zombie or ghost, you simply brush yourself off and go back to your life. In this case, Dan goes back to work as a Private Investigator and works to solve not only his own murder but that of his ghostly girlfriend. I did solve the big mystery before the big reveal but I had a lot of fun during the journey. This book actually had several different smaller mysteries as Dan worked on his caseload. Each of these cases brought new and colorful characters into the mix. In this book, the author was able to create a completely likeable zombie. That shouldn't even be possible but I really liked Dan. The other characters in the book were really just as much fun. The narrator did a remarkable job with this story. In fact, I don't think that this story would have be quite as enjoyable without his narration. I am amazed at how well he did various voices and I never had any difficulty in keeping all of the characters straight in my head. I really think that this is a case where a narrator was able to take a good story and make it great. This is the first audiobook with Phil Gigante as the narrator that I have listened to but I will definitely look for him in the future. I would recommend this book to anyone who likes a dose of laughs with their light paranormal reads. This story is quick, easy, and a whole lot of fun. I would highly recommend the audiobook version of this story if at all possible because I really think that is the best way to experience this story. I hope to listen to the next one in the series in the near future.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago